We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“took us in short notice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hundalee House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hundalee House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Hundalee House Bed and Breakfast
| Roxburyshire, Jedburgh TD8 6PA, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 18 Jedburgh B&B and Inns
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“took us in short notice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

sheila and her hubby were very nice ,its a lovely house with spacious rooms lovely dining area and home-made jams and honey made it very special also my two year old was entertained by the sheep dogs bringing in the sheep to their shed for the night ,overall great value and good quality in one will stay again when i am in the borders .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    19
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
48
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

My idea of an old Scottish Manse, appropriately furnished and decorated set in spacious attractive gardens. The rooms are large, clean and comfortable, and the breakfast is very good. The owners are welcoming and friendly. The whole place represents excellent value for money.
One thing, if you are approaching from the South, the left turn off the A68 towards the property is extremely sharp.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is a traditional B&B in that you are entering the owners' home, which is also the base of operations for a sheep farming business. The old house is charming and the fixtures and fittings suit the place down to the ground. The setting is ideal if the quiet of the hillside away from the trunk road is what you are after. A gentle thirty minute stroll will get you into Jedburgh, so on a fine evening you don't have to take the car in search of dinner. Breakfast is a communal affair, which may not be to everyone's taste, but don't let that put you off because this thoughtful B&B is not only a privileged glimpse into someone's beautiful home, it is also brilliant value. Will definitely return when passing this way again...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed here to break up our journey from Norfolk to Strathallan Castle. We had a very comfortable and peaceful stay. Sheila was very friendly and helpful and we liked sharing our breakfast table with other guests. (there is a separate table for those who want to be on their own) I liked going off to sleep with the windows wide open listening to the nearby sheep!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

This is absolutely amazing place to stay! This is defenetly more than just BB ) it is small abbey located in wonderfull place surrounded by forest and farm fields) it has lovely garden with summer tables and small pond. Rooms are perfectly decorated and contain everything you need. Interiors are so impressive and you feel like you are duke ) strongly recommend to stay here!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Lovely atmospheric old house set in it's own gardens a good 30 mins walk away from Jedburgh centre. Not the easiest place to find if you come into Jedburgh from the other side but well worth the effort.

We stayed in one of the four poster rooms (my only moan is that the bed was too soft which didn't give either my wife or I a good nights sleep) which overlooked a field of sheep and had plenty of character and a large bathroom.

Breakfast was very nice and is taken around a big table with all the guests sat together. It was then that we realised that the owner used to live around the corner from us in Oldham and that one of the other guests lived a mile away as well.

If passing through again we'd stay here next time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

In some ways this is quite an old fashioned place, with its decor and atmosphere comfortably of the past. In this lies its delight, along with its old fashioned levels of commitment to making sure
residents feel at home.

Our room was a little cluttered for our taste, but the bed warm and comfortable. In our (far end) of the house, the shower room was fascinating, appearing, is it may have been in the past, to be on the way upstairs.

Sheila is a worker and a good host who, if necessary, would put herself out on your behalf. Her breakfast is excellent, and her local knowledge useful.

She and her husband discovered this delightful house and garden as they made regular business trips to Edinburgh from the south. They stayed. So should you, for longer than you might be planning, to discover and savour the south of Scotland.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hundalee House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hundalee House Bed and Breakfast

Address: | Roxburyshire, Jedburgh TD8 6PA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Jedburgh
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Jedburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hundalee House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hundalee House Bed And Breakfast Jedburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hundalee House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.