We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jolly Japes in Jedburgh” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Larkhall Burn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jedburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Larkhall Burn
Save
You added Larkhall Burn to your Saves list
Burn Wynd, Jedburgh TD8 6BY, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Gateshead, England
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Jolly Japes in Jedburgh”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We stayed at Larkhall Burn over the Easter break for two nights. Thankfully the weather was fab , sunny and warm which made the weekend just perfect.
We arrived around 2pm on good friday, 6 of us in a two bedroomed cottage. Two of us had to sleep in the lounge. Never done that before when we have been away before and probably wouldn't do it again but it didn't spoil the weekend
Ample free parking and we were in number one cottage. Very spacious and very clean. The sofa bed was more than comfortable and because the kitchen and bathroom are one floor up and then the two bedrooms another floor up there is no real need for you to be disturbed when the others get up.
The front balcony gets the sun for the majority of the day and has a lovely view over Jedburgh.The kitchen has ample crockery / cooking utensils etc and a dishwasher. The bathroom is spacious with a great powerful shower and the towels were clean. The bedrooms are clean and have good views however wardrobe space is limited. The full mirror in the twin room is a bonus.
We used the place purely as a base as we travelled to Kelso on saturday (9 miles away ) and Floors Castle on Sunday (10 miles away ). But it was lovely to return from Kelso and have the balcony to sit on with enough wooden chairs for all of us. There is a pagoda to the side of the property but there wasn'y much sun under there so didn't really use it however it will probably be a lovely haven in the summer.
The heating seemed to work fine and we were warm enough. The cottages are a four minute walk into town with pubs / restaurants all really handy. It is a bit steep however having over 75's with us didn't mean any problems, the height affords the fab views. The t.v has a built in dvd player and there is a music system
There is not a load to do in jedburgh but it you want to use Larkhall for a base its great. We had a great time and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it. We probably wouldn't return as a group of six as one bathroom between 6 and living out of a weekend bag when you sleep in the lounge is not really our thing. However did the job for the weekend.
Wouldn't really recommend Petes taxis that is advertised in the welcome pack. Cost us £30 for what was basically an 8 seater taxi that took us about two miles to the Caddyman restaurant and two miles back. Not good, however no fault of Larkhall Burn , unless they are related!!!
Haven't downloaded my photos yet but once i have be sure there will be pics of the view from the balcony.....

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    2
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

This is at least our third time here, so that speaks for itself,yes this is self catering at its best, but if you dont feel like cooking in the very well equipped kitchen then a walk into town is very short. And of course its just 10 miles from the border which suits us for a family catch up. You have to climb up a stony path to get to a number of well spaced out cottages accessed by steps as well, so once you have done that you are amply rewarded by a magnificent view over Jedsburgh. Heating is great,and the usual mod cons are all here, we never have to bring anything and there is often a bit of a welcome surprise in the fridge.
Super place, very tidy and clean

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

great hosts
well run - upgraded to a large cottage on arrival - took our 2 dogs an they were made very welcome too.

cottages have all you could need for a self catering holiday. great location 2 minutes walk from the town

website photos don't show how pleasant the location is.

excellent stay. very helpful hosts and very friendly hens!

would have no hestiation in booking a return visit

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Spent 2 nights over new year at Larkhall Burn staying in cabin 4.
The cottages are on a bit of a hill but the effort climbing is well worth it. You have a lovely view over Jedburgh seeing both the abbey and the castle. The living room / dining room is very comfortable along with a lovely very well appointed kitchen. There is a double bedroom and a twin bedroom with great beds, (slept all night -bliss) The Bathroom had an over the bath shower with plenty of towels for us to use. The cottage was spotless and so warm.
We had a lovely so relaxing time, nice not hearing any cars as you are well away from any streets. Nice having the chickens roam around the grounds. Our daughter asked "how do you get eggs out of a hen ? do you squeeze them ?" You can take the girl out the city but not the city out of the girl. she is only 26 hahaha.
A credit to the owners and I would recommend Larkhall Burn to anyone looking for a relaxing break and ideal for exploring what the borders has to offer.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

My boyfriend and me booked this cottage last minute for a long weekend. We're only about an hours drive away from Jedburgh so it was perfect for a last minute booking.

The pictures looked ok for the price but it's so much better in reality! You walk up around 100 stairs to the four 3 storey cottages (reminded me of Dirty Dancing settings!) Each cottage has it's only balcony which has lovely views across the small town of Jedburgh. You can also hear the church bells, it's just so lovely.

The livingroom, dining area, kitchen, bathroom and bedroom were all extremely clean and well equipped. The kitchen over-looked a little orchard.

We had such an amazing two days, so romantic and peaceful. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

We booked this accommodation for a sports trip to jedburgh, staying a thursday night and friday night.
Accommodation was perfect for our purpose - although the steps to the accommodation are an issue as we had lots of equipment/baggage with us to carry up the hill.
We couldnt make the thursday night.
Our credit card was charged as soon as the booking was made - even though I was told it was only for confirmation - I think this is despicably unprofessional - especially as it was our intention to pay cash.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2010

We stayed in cabin No1 even though we booked No 4 on-line. First impressions were very good but on closer inspection not so. The cabin is tastefully furnished in Ikea furniture, like many self catering places, but most of it was getting very tired from use. It is a very keen price point the accommodation is pitched at, it’s not the worst we have stayed in, but it’s far from the best.

The positive points
• Good location right in the centre of town but feels like you are in the country.
• Good value for money compared to the cost of two rooms in a hotel or a family room in the area.

The negative points, in no particular order.
• The outdoor table and chairs had clearly been left out all year and would need a thorough cleaning and varnishing before anyone would venture to sit out on them.
• The shower ran scalding hot then freezing cold alternately in 15 second bursts until you left in for 5 mins to stabilize.
• Black mould on the silicone tile sealant around the bath. A pet hate of mine as it is so easily sorted out.
• The Beds, I know this is an emotive subject with bed preference hard soft etc but these beds must be the hardest since the ones in the debtor’s prison (in Jedburgh - a good visit and it’s free).
• The corner sofa in the living /dinning room was well past it and it couldn’t sit any of our party of 4 comfortably, due to flat cushions and sagging frame.
• There is no way 4 adults could sit around the dinning room table where it was put between the wall and the stairs.
• There is only on entrance and exit in this 3 storey wooden structure. Not saying it’s a fire hazard, but two would be better. Note cabins 2, 3 and 4 have a second exit.
• Only superficially clean, but again subjective and depends on you.

Notes for Jedburgh
• Do visit the Abbey and take the audio guide - it’s very good.
• Visit the Jedburgh Castle Jail. Its free and a good insight into the Victorian penal system. Some of the cells are quite spooky.
• Visit Mary Queen of Scots House - a well preserved 16th century town house with a very informative exhibition. It’s free also.
• If you want to eat in a local restaurant make sure you book or go VERY early. Two of the three we went to stopped serving at 19:30 on a Saturday night in May!
• There is free WiFi in the centre of town near the Abbey
• Within easy reach of a day trip to Edinburgh
• Two Coop stores in town
• Good Chinese takeaway

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Larkhall Burn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Larkhall Burn

Address: Burn Wynd, Jedburgh TD8 6BY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Jedburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Jedburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Larkhall Burn is a cluster of purpose built luxury cottages situated on a hillside overlooking the historic conservation border town of Jedburgh. Each cottage offers living/dining room, fully fitted kitchen and bathrooms and twin and double bedrooms. On-site parking and a minute walk to all the facilities of the town which include shops, supermarket, pubs and eating places as well as a 25m swimming pool and fitness centre. A great place to base your holiday. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Larkhall Burn Jedburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Larkhall Burn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.