We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“memorable experience at Villa Gonatouki” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Gonatouki

Save Saved
You added Villa Gonatouki to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa Gonatouki
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Km 8 Route d'Agadir | El Ghazoua, 44000, Ghazoua, Essaouira, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Ghazoua
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“memorable experience at Villa Gonatouki”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

good day. I have been away for 30 years from morocco. I missed Essaouira and decided to stay at Villa Gonatouki.
After exchanging emails with bruno the owner who helped to make the arrival smooth by providing all necessary information and directions. from first minutes it was obvious that the place is special. Bruno has put his knowledge and appreciation of moroccan architecture in this beautiful villa. close enough to the city (8 kms) and allows to feel far from the crowd. the host and his team are great, discreet, professional and Bruno is a very interesting human being. before making the decision to go to this place, we have read reviews that most of them reflect the reality except one very negative one that is unrealistic and totally unreasonable. for those who have not integrated the concept I suggest for them to go to hotels where it is impersonal. thanks to bruno, samira et latifa.
we will definitely go back for longer stay.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruno E, Propriétaire at Villa Gonatouki, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
That's was great to meet you 2. You stay in Morocco now Nourdine so, I'm sure, you'll come here often. And it will be great again, you don't have to wait the next festival.
Yes the villa is special and full of energy! And we are happy to share it with you and everybody who appreciate.
You are friend with us now on Facebook, so you will see what's happen at Gonatouki. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    265
    12
    4
    5
    1
See reviews for
66
111
5
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

My husband have been many times in Essaouira over the course of more than 30 years since the end seventies. This town has become more and more popular and still has managed to maintain its unique charm, being a town with a somehow very Mediterranean feel (maybe due to the pure coloring in white and blue) with distinctive Arab/Moroccan elements. This was the first time we didn't stay in the town but decided to take the villa Gonatouki, which is about 12 km from the town border, easily reachable by car.
The villa is simply lovely, very well dimensioned and will never make you feel that you're in a hotel but rather in a very big country villa with plenty of space - whether you're looking for places to eat or to simply hang out (indoors and outside), whether it's in your own area (ok, we had a suite, which comprised 3 big rooms and a bathroom including two terraces for our own utilization).
And than there's the owner - Bruno. A very gentle and attentive host, who will do anything to make you feel at home right from the beginning until the minute we've left. We felt very much at home and enjoyed his advice and recommendations, which were always great. Bruno is a guy who doesn't only understand what hospitality means but he lives it, you feel it's part of his self understanding and he enjoys it.

Room Tip: Any room! All nice in different style!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruno E, Propriétaire at Villa Gonatouki, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
What a very nice review! And coming from China! Thank you very much Lynn. It was very pleasant to speak with you, Thomas and Hans Peter. I come to Asia tomorrow with my wife. We are happy because we kept a very good remember of our last travel. It won't be in China but it will be the next time.
I have to tell you that we had a lot of fun last week. Bouchra tried to make the same design as it is on your nails. But the result was different. She will try again... and probably again. When it will be better, we'll sent you a photo.
I'm sure we'll meet us again. I wish you all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This was without a shadow of a doubt one of the best holidays I've ever had. The hotel owner Bruno was an exceptional host and couldn't do enough for us. A truly remarkable place. The minute you arrive you can feel the energy of the building and yet has such a relaxing feel. There are many rooms to relax and chill in and staff are always on hand to feed and water you. Nothing is ever to much hassle. I couldn't recommend this hotel more.
It is located on the side of a dirt track and although at first you think this is a down point you soon realise that it gives you the secluded rest you need and prevents cars from rushing past. This also means that there is a strong local community in the village. Essaouira is a 10 min drive and Bruno is always on hand to take you for a small fee. 10 out of 10

Room Tip: All room are lovely with a real Moroccan feel. Smaller rooms are basic but near the pool, nether the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruno E, Propriétaire at Villa Gonatouki, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Thank you very much Bradley. We had a lot of pleasure to accommodate you with Katy. And it will be always a big souvenir for you and for us. Even Gonatouki is a romantic place, there is not often a proposal of marriage on the roof under the stars. I'm sure you'll be happy. And you have to come back for your honey moon or just after.
As you are a professional, if you have made good photos of Gonatouki, you can send us.
I wish you all the best...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed at the Villa for the last five days of our trip to Morocco and I can tell you now it was a really good decision on our part, admittedly a little difficult to find at first but once we had made a trip to the Medina the following day, we found it was simple (ask any taxi to go 8 kilometre on the Agadir road turn right and 3 kilometres on the BAD road and voile its that simple :).
Bruno is always on hand for whatever you may need to know, and it is obvious he loves Gonatouki and its guests as he floats around from table to table making sure everyone is fine as can be!
What wonderful food, Samira is such a talented cook although I do love Tagine and Couscous it was nice to have something a little different now an then, such as the lemon chicken with noodles (to die for) Breakfast was always ample with fresh jams, bread, pancakes and fruit to fill up on, if you didn't fancy lunch just have a late breakfast which we did was no problem to have at 11am or later I suppose and you could last till dinner.

We had some nice time spent by the pool area or down in the hammocks with our DD 3.5, she loved how much space she had to run around and the staff payed her so much attention she was thoroughly spoiled so much so they would make sure that at breakfast the pulp would be removed from her OJ and that she had ample supply of hot chocolate!

Sanaa (I hope I have spelt correctly) a wonderful young lady, made sure we never went hungry or thirsty and was on hand for all our needs, and Emilienne (again not sure of spelling) the manager was always charming, extremely efficient and always happy!

Anything that might of made stay easier, maybe a small table and chairs on the huge balconies, we did have sunlongers, and perhaps a notice board where you could check what time dinner was being held in the evenings?

I had a wonderful experience while at the villa had some wonderful evenings spent chatting with other guests and left feeling relaxed and stress free a perfect ending to a fantastic trip, keep on keeping on Bruno and all the staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruno E, Propriétaire at Villa Gonatouki, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Thank you so much Georgina! We were waiting to have a nice review from Irish people and it's done. First the whole team and I thank you for the different things you left for the kids. They ask me to give you a kiss next time I'll write you.
It was nice to accommodate you 3 (give also a kiss from to your little and so cute Julia, I love her eyes!) l and we were happy that you met others people. As every host is always friendly it's always nice on the spot.
We stay in touch for the soap because you are a professional for that. You know that we are ecological every time we can (we use solar energy, we have an ecological septic tank and now we have natural soap). Once I'll invite everybody who help us to improve. There are many and you are in the first places!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed at the villa for 3 nights and really enjoyed our stay. The host is very welcoming and makes it clear that you are welcome anywhere in the house (it's their family home and they love it and are very proud of it, which gives it a unique atmosphere) and can ask the ladies in the kitchen if you need anything. We had a lovely room with a massive balcony (amazing sea view) and really enjoyed lounging by the pool. Great dinners and breakfasts too! Ask the host where the name Gonatouki comes from - it's a sweet story.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruno E, Propriétaire at Villa Gonatouki, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Thank you for your review. It's right, that's interesting to know where the name Gonatouki comes from. That's a surprise! The pools were nice and now it's better because one of them is heated. I hope you enjoyed your travel in Morocco and we'll be happy to accommodate you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Creek
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Villa Gonatouki was an amazing place to stay. We have enjoyed a number of extremely friendly hotels in Morocco, but Gonatouki exceeds all. Bruno, the owner and our host, is just an amazing guy. Friendly, accommodating, attentive and welcoming to all. We met a couple from France (Frank and Helene) and together the five of us had two amazing evening dinners, as well as some enjoyable conversations. There were other people at the hotel who seemed to prefer privacy, and although Bruno made sure they were looked after, they were able to enjoy their privacy undisturbed. In other words, you can make your stay as private or as convivial as you wish. Breakfast was served on one of the many balcony areas and comprised a nice assortment of cakes, breads, fruit, jam, honey, fresh orange juice and coffee. Omelettes or eggs were available if you wished. The dinners were exceptional and as close to home made food as you will find. I really enjoy fresh sardines, which are abundant in the area, and for dinner the second night there was a huge platter of "sardines farci" which was a special treat (thank you again, Bruno and Sanaa). Although we booked for one night, we could not resist staying another night just to enjoy the company and the atmosphere. Considering the quality of the meals, the large and inviting rooms, the great food and the many available areas for relaxing, Gonatouki is excellent value. Bruno and his team are really committed to ensuring that you enjoy your stay.

The villa itself is extensive with a number of different dining and relaxation areas, both inside and out. There are two pools, one for relaxation, and a lap pool (Helene claims this is her pool as she puts in many laps each day). Our room was enormous with a separate, large bathroom and double glass doors opening onto a huge balcony. It was also spotlessly clean. There are balconies on two levels and a large number of places to either visit with others, or find a solitary space if you wish. For a large family group, a small wedding or a gathering of friends, the entire villa would make an amazing place.

If you are driving yourself (as we were) you need to be persistent to find the villa. From the south (Agadir) you will arrive in the village of Ghazoua. Stay on the road towards Essaouira, and approximately 2 km past the Ecole Polytecnique, you will see a large red cow statute in front of a restaurant, which is on your right. Immediately on the other side across the road is a gravel road. You need to go about 2.5 km down this road past a number of other villas. You will see Les Deux Mondes and, in about another kilometre you will see the sign for Gonatouki on the right. There's a metal gate and about 300 m up the track you will see the villa. Stick with it, you'll be glad you did!

Room Tip: We had a room upstairs with a balcony on the southwest side. It is spacious and has a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruno E, Propriétaire at Villa Gonatouki, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you so much for this wonderful review. It was a pleasure to accommodate you during these two days. Yes the two dinners were very nice. That's why we love to accommodate people : just to be friendly, exchange experiences and keep a good souvenir. And you'r right : if people prefer to stay alone, it's ok for us because some people just need to be quiet and together.
Frank and Helene asked me to say hello. I suppose you'r back in Canada now. Sure, in the five next years, we'll go and see you. We stay in touch!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed here for a week, for the entirety of our holiday in Morocco, and we are so pleased we didn't stay anywhere else.

When you first get to the villa (we were kindly given a lift by Bruno the owner), you can appreciate its beauty, which is just as advertised on the website. We were given a tour around by the owner, and a glass of freshly squeezed orange juice!

As for food, this was the highlight. It is informal, with no menu or dining room. You simply choose at which of the tables (inside or outside!) through the villa you want to eat and let any of the staff know you will be eating! Not a problem for us, but they will accommodate to your dietary needs if you have any. Food is generous in amount, and very delicious and homely in style. Dinner is a 3 course affair (with some appetizers before the starter), usually with a tajine for main, which I can't stress enough how delicious they are. Breakfast is home baked breads with a mix of jams and fruits. Everything is made from fresh produce.

If you fancy it, you can join the staff for their weekly shop at the largest market between Essaouira and Marrakesh, which is totally worth the experience.

We slept extremely well as it is silent, and the rooms are pitch black with the curtains drawn and lights off!

Thank you so much to Bruno for giving us this amazing experience! I would thoroughly recommend staying here if you plan to visit Essaouira!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruno E, Propriétaire at Villa Gonatouki, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you very much, it's a so nice and long review. The whole team was happy to meet you. You are so friendly! You can come back when you want, we'll always find a place for you. I wish you all the best for the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Gonatouki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Gonatouki

Address: Km 8 Route d'Agadir | El Ghazoua, 44000, Ghazoua, Essaouira, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira > Ghazoua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Ghazoua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Gonatouki 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A wonderful and peaceful place with a sea view, Gonatouki is located at roughly 10km from the beach.With its 10 bedrooms and suites you will be enchanted by the villa, its architecture and its 2 swimming pools (one with a kids' pool).A place you will never forget!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Villa Gonatouki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Gonatouki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.