We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a beautiful place with a wonderful host!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Gonatouki

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Gonatouki to your Saves list
Villa Gonatouki
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Km 8 Route d'Agadir | El Ghazoua, 44000, Ghazoua, Essaouira, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ghazoua
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Such a beautiful place with a wonderful host!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I stayed here for two nights with my boyfriend and parents just before Christmas and had such a wonderful stay - my only regret is that we couldn't stay for longer. It's definitely one of those places where you want a day just to relax around the villa. The place itself and the grounds it's on are just beautiful and there is so much attention to detail. Bruno did so much to make to make our stay as happy as possible - from helping to arrange the taxi to bring us from Marrakesh to driving us around to taking us to a local market. I would recommend having dinner there during your stay - the food was delicious. I would love to come back here another time - perhaps when it is warmer so that we can make use of the pool and relaxing outside. Thank you Bruno for such a wonderful stay-it was such a joy to meet you!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruno E, Propriétaire at Villa Gonatouki, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you very much for your nice review Lianne. It was a pleasure to accommodate you with your family. I hope to see you again, especially that there will be a new airline between London and Essaouira. Give a kiss from me to your mother, next time you'll phone her and a good shake hand to the men. And a lot of kisses for you too, of course!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    13
    5
    5
    1
See reviews for
74
131
7
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This is the most beautiful B&B house we've ever stayed in. Bruno and his architect did a superb job in creating a sense of luxury using traditional Moroccan architecture with a modern, airy, touch. Our room was large and very comfortable. Bruno was warm, helpful and inviting, and we enjoyed listening to his stories. His passion for the place, the house and for meeting and hosting people clearly come through and enrich the experience of the visit. Unlike hosts in many of the other B&Bs in Morocco, he speaks excellent English.
It is difficult to find the place on your own (requiring navigation through unmarked dirt roads), so call Bruno in advance to get help getting there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruno E, Propriétaire at Villa Gonatouki, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. It was very nice to meet you even it was too short. The evening we spent together was very interesting. That's exactly why I like to accommodate guests. I hope your travel back was good. Anyway I have an excellent adress in Toronto now and I am sure we'll see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rijen
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We rented the villa for the weekend to celebrate our wedding. It was truly one of the best experiences in our lives. All of our friends and family in one beautiful villa. Brigitte is a very nice and generous hostess, the staff at the villa were fun and friendly. The food they cooked awesome. On our wedding day Brigitte arranged a camel ride on the beach which was a great experience. In the afternoon we had the ceremony at the terrace with the sunset in the background. Some nibbles and drinks followed by another great dinner with traditional mechoui. Brigitte put some rose peddles and hart-shaped candles on beautifully decorated table. It was perfect. The villa is so beautiful, we got some great wedding shots as well!

All our guests loved their stay at Gonatouki. We had a few babies and small children and the hotel catered for them really well. It is the perfect place for an intimate party or celebration. Plenty of space to get together and socialise and still very private too due to the many private terraces. The rooms and bathrooms looked the part. Again, I would strongly recommend the villa to everyone and look forward to going back some day (soon).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swindon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We spent 4 wonderful nights here over Christmas, the house is very peaceful and relaxing. Bruno is an excellant host and his staff are amazing. The food is excellant, the best we had in Morocco. We would certainly recommend Villa Gonatouki, stay here to recharge your batteries!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruno E, Propriétaire at Villa Gonatouki, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Yes it's quiet and we are happy you enjoyed your stay. That's nice in winter to stay under the sun, looking at the sea and hearing some animals. And do you know what? It will take only a few hours from London because in March we will have a new flight London Essaouira. I had the information today. I'm happy for English people who will discover this magical place. I hope the end of your stay in Morocco was nice too and that the therapy was effective!
Kind regards
Bruno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

This palace of a place exceeded our expectations in all ways. The owner Bruno is so kind and loves to share his part of the world. All the staff are also wonderful. I had an excellent massage on site. Food delicious.....we're glad we chose to stay here for so many reasons...one of which is that being outside of the city we had a chance to experience a more local feeling vista wise. The sky at night is filled with stars and the sounds are only those of a braying donkey or rooster. Bruno took us to the Sunday local meat and veg market. Not something you would see most places. There's something very special here!!!! Loved it all!!! Thank you Bruno for your kind heart! A la prochaine!

Room Tip: We stayed in suite but all rooms are marvelous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruno E, Propriétaire at Villa Gonatouki, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
The team and I hope that "la prochaine" will be soon. It was so nice to accomodate you and your family. You're right there is something special here and every guest let us something of his heart. I'll remember of our conversation in the patio. When i'll go with Brigitte in California, sure i'll phone you before.
All the best and kisses
Bruno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Our travels in Morocco have taken us to 3 hotels, 2 riads and now this villa. Not so much a villa, more a mini palace. This is the place to die for, really. We have just spent Xmas there. Loved every moment of it. Bruno, his family and staff are all so welcoming and helpful. My wife enjoyed her massage, particularly as it was half the London price!

The food is also delightful. We had non traditional Xmas meal ( no turkey - yippee), which started with pate de fois gras - the French don't have the hang-up that is now prevalent in the UK press - sardines with lentils, followed by two tagines, one meat and one vegetable, gratin dauphinoise, and then finished of with apple clafoutis. Beats turkey and sprouts any time.

Room Tip: Ours was a brilliant suite with tasteful Moroccan decoration, and two others that we saw looked equa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruno E, Propriétaire at Villa Gonatouki, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you very much for your friendly review, Mike. I was very happy to meet Ruth and you. I like your humour and you give us a lot of smiles. Samira was very proud when I red the review about the food.
You told me that you'll come again in 3 years. That's too long but better than never. We'll wait for you and we'll stay in touch!
Kind regards
Bruno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

My daughter and I spent 10 happy blissful days in Villa Gonatouki. The owner Brigitte (Bruno’s wife) arranged a taxi for us from Marrakech and after a short flight by Easyjet and three hour journey by taxi we finally arrived to our first destination in Morocco - Ghazoua village where the villa is situated. It is about 10-15 minutes car drive from Essaouira; the road leading to the villa is a rough 3 km track, which you get to know and like pretty quickly, it certainly adds a feeling that you are abroad. Judging by the photos of the guest house we were for a visual feast, but as many guests commented the pictures don’t do any justice to the place. It is simply huge and clearly built and decorated with love and passion for Moroccan tradition of woodwork and stone carving. There are over 100 Moroccan lamps hung throughout the house (castle, really) and after awhile you notice that all corners are curved. The ceilings in three main salons and patio also made of local wood, supported by stone columns, and some walls of the villa covered in tadelakt (gorgeous traditional Moroccan plastering technique), the floors tiled in different patterns. We stayed in one of the prestige rooms (green room) with a massive terrace and views over nearby ruins, Atlantic ocean and the main pool. Our bathroom windows deserve a special mentioning as they frame outside surroundings in delightful pictures.The house gradually grows on you and by the end of our staying it did feel like home. Most of the time we stayed in for lunches and dinners and the food was simply delicious. I even learned how to prepare briouates (Moroccan version of samosas made of fine layers of almost transparent pasty called “warka” and filled with goat cheese, parsley and grated nutmeg) as you have an easy access to the kitchen (in the morning you simply walk in and ask either Samira, Hafida or Khaoula that you are ready for breakfast and where in the house you wish to have it). Our favourite spot was lovely patio where we spent many tranquil hours reading or having breakfast or mint tea, and from where you can walk into any parts of the villa’s ground floor. Apart from our own terrace we sunbathed by the main pool (there are two) or a terrace next to one of the salons equipped with comfortable sofas, coffee tables and big TV screen. Dinners and lunches were prepared and served by Samira and Bouchra in either a salon overlooking soothing landscapes or a dining room next to the kitchen. We want to say huge thank you for all the girls who fed us and greeted us every day with beaming smiles, hugs and kisses! After dinner we usually had shisha in one of the salons with low metal coffee tables and leather bean bags. The villa gardens are well maintained by a quite man Mustafa who also looked after the swimming pools. A new feature of the guest house, which is not mentioned in the description, is the villa’s spacious hammam and massages, you must try them both as you will learn a lot about traditional Moroccan beauty regimes - argan oil, hennah, ghazoul (purifying mud), beldi (Moroccan soap) and kassa (scrubbing mitten). The hammam will wipe out any stress left in you and argan oil will do wonders to your tired skin. Few words about Brigitte, our host - a kind and warm French lady, who made us feel at home and made us laugh, who took us to Essaouira frequently and showed us around the medina. She also drove me to the medina on our second day to see Mohammed, a specialist in traditional herbal medicine (London hay fever and summer cold nearly suffocated me when I arrived), for that I am forever grateful as I got better after three days. We made a trip together to Fromage and Chateaneuf-du-Pape vineyard of Essaouira and also had a lunch with Brigitte’s daughter Stephanie and her husband Gregory in Le Jardin des Douars. Our stay in Gonatouki was the most charming, warm and blissful time where borders of host-guest blurred and merged into a strong sense of belonging and being at home. We miss it terribly and have to go back!

Room Tip: rent a car if you can with minimum light pollution at night the sky view from the villa's roof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Gonatouki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Gonatouki

Address: Km 8 Route d'Agadir | El Ghazoua, 44000, Ghazoua, Essaouira, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira > Ghazoua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ghazoua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Gonatouki 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A wonderful and peaceful place with a sea view, Gonatouki is located at roughly 10km from the beach.With its 10 bedrooms and suites you will be enchanted by the villa, its architecture and its 2 swimming pools (one with a kids' pool).A place you will never forget!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Villa Gonatouki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Gonatouki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.