We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Gonatouki

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Gonatouki to your Saves list
Villa Gonatouki
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Km 8 Route d'Agadir | El Ghazoua, 44000, Ghazoua, Essaouira, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ghazoua
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Highly recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

Wow! What a place! We really enjoyed our relaxing stay here. The villa is stunning, with plenty of beautiful indoor and outdoor spaces for guests to use, whether eating, lounging or simply enjoying the sun (and wind!). Our room was lovely and spacious, with a huge private roof terrace offering views toward Essaouira and the coast. The pool and gardens were very lovely and maintained on a daily basis. A special mention for the food, which was delicious and good value. The young local chef cooked amazing tagines, cous cous and quite possibly the best chips /frites in North Africa! A huge thanks to Nanie, the manager, who made our stay so special by looking after us so well. Nothing is too much trouble for her, whether organising activities or offering a lift in Essaouira. We also loved the rural location and local wildlife and enjoyed spotting camels, goats, donkeys, dung beetles, lizards and birds of prey to name a few. There are even tortoises roaming wild but we were unable to find one due to the dry weather. Maybe next time!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    13
    5
    5
    1
See reviews for
87
156
8
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Neuilly s/Seine
Top Contributor
297 reviews 297 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
244 helpful votes 244 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

The only problem we had with Villa Gonatouki was...to find it as it started its B&B activity only a year ago and is not allowed to put signals to help trace it...Hence our advise to call Nanie the extremely hospitable hostess to get you understand how to get there.

Once you succeeded (took us 1.5 hour for 2km as our phones didn't work), the place is DEFINITELY worth it: beautifuly located with a view upon distant Essaouira (8km by car and probably as much by flight) and the far away beach. We had the superb-I insist really superb- 100 square meters master suite and enjoyed it for 2 nights.
The rooms are very well designed with a lot of taste and comfort; 2 nice swimming pools we swam it despite rather chilly temperature (19°?): one that is 22m long to swim with a stunning view on the atlantic sea and the other that is recreational.
Lunch and dinner are served in various beautiful rooms according to one's wishes and Nanie, the owner's daughter really makes all possible efforts to make your stay as enjoyable as possible, giving you wise advice on where to go, what to do etc (incl. horse back riding, local hammams, beaches, restaurants etc). As Nanie has lived for 5 years in Essaouira and speaks fluently arabic she really gives sound advise.

A magic address for people who want to hide from hectic city life and benefit from the nice garden, terraces, views and swimming pools as well as nanie's time she generously give to share her experiences in Morrocco & Benin.

Definitely a must!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

What a great place to have spent ,my vacation. Not only was the Villa superb, the food outstanding, the views breathtaking, but everything was done in order for us to spend the best possible time. The staff were delightful and extremely helpful when informing us of the best places to go and who to contact. I certainly plan on returning.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

We stayed here for 4 nights, as 2 families with teenagers, and wished we could have stayed longer. The photo's don't do it justice! Nanie and Greg were the perfect hosts, (who speak perfect English) and even catered for our very fussy-eating children, and 2 vegetarians! Our best meal in Morocco was here. The Villa is absolutely beautiful - designed by Nanie's father, Bruno, who was also there visiting from France, and who was an inspiration. The 2 pools were superb, and Bruno has designed the villa such that when it is windy (as it often is in Essaouira) there is always somewhere to sit in the shade. We loved Essaouira (about 10 15 mins by car) - much calmer and more chilled out than Marrakech. The temps there were far more bareable than inland. The only negative is the 2km bumpy track to the villa - apparently the council are planning to resurface soon. Definitely a good idea to rent a car - we rented from Marrakech which worked out well. The kids enjoyed using the Wii and DVD player when they weren't in the pool!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Gonatouki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Gonatouki

Address: Km 8 Route d'Agadir | El Ghazoua, 44000, Ghazoua, Essaouira, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira > Ghazoua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ghazoua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Gonatouki 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A wonderful and peaceful place with a sea view, Gonatouki is located at roughly 10km from the beach.With its 10 bedrooms and suites you will be enchanted by the villa, its architecture and its 2 swimming pools (one with a kids' pool).A place you will never forget!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Villa Gonatouki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Gonatouki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.