We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and wonderful value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Etto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Dar Etto to your Saves list
Riad Dar Etto
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ghazoua, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ghazoua
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful and wonderful value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

What a wonderful place to stay. We cannot recommend this place enough as the space was stunning and was incredible value for money. You do need to be prepared to pay for the distance out of town but we knew this beforehand and can certainly confirm that you should pay no more than 50 dirhams. The taxi is booked by the riad on the way into town so there is no confusion over price. Be firm on your return journey as we did have to barter down from 100 dirhams but did secure the 50 dirham rate in the end. We thought it was well worth the additional hassle of being out of town as the riad is so tranquil, quiet and secluded that it added hugely to our holiday experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    6
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

A beautiful place, the room was just fantastic! we got the one in front of the swimming pool!!! We were there in October and still I could enjoy the swimming pool and the amazing tent! The only problem is that it is a bit difficult to find but is part of the adventure! You'll have one more reason to remember it!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

The place is absolutely amazing. There is a little garden at the front with a swimming pool hugged by a big tree. The rooms are beautiful, the decoration is very pretty and relaxing. Breakfast was great with natural juices!... It's a bit far from the town but its away from all that fish smell that covers it. Sayid was extremely helpful and I will totally recommend anyone to stay there, he will help you with taxis to the town which cots 50dh. Thank you all!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agadir, Morocco
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

This is a lovely little riad tucked away from the main town, about a 10 minute taxi ride from the centre. There is a loittle swimming pool and the rooms are well decorated and air conditioned. The place is really peaceful and the people who run it are friendly and helpful. We went as a couple, but I think it would be more fun to go with a big group. The breakfast is lovely and there is plenty of space to sun bathe. The massage was lovely, but quite expensive. You can also get hammam there as well. If you want to go into Essaouira make sure to ask Saeed to book it for you as it is only 50 dhs.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

we had a very pleasant stay in this riad. it's a gorgeous riad with very relaxing & peaceful surrounding. the staff here were very helpful & kind. they picked us up at the bus station on our arrival & Biji himself drove us to the medina the following morning. on the last day, we booked for hammam & massage. what a wonderful way to finish off our trip! every1 should try it. would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

Although difficult to find, this riad is really beautiful. We were lucky to have the room next to the pond so we were sweetly awaken by running water and birds singing. The tea and delicious pastries were fantastic. We had a Hamman and a massage and it was very relaxing. Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2011

First, the staff at this riad are genuine, nice and warm people....which was a culture shock because its rare for me to have such service! I've just got back from Morocco and spent 3 nights at Dar Etto with 9 of my best friends. The incredibly warm and hard working nature of the staff is definitely the first highlight of this Riad. Khadija, Beii and Saeed(the man!) had to put up with my people, who love to party, and they seemed to be available 24hrs to facilitate.

The 3 bedrooms on the ground floor have been decorated beautifully, attached to unforgettable bathtubs. And the two bedrooms upstairs were also comfortable. There are two living rooms, one that was green (raised eyebrow) but the other on the ground floor became our chillout room, again really comfortable - especially with the fire lit. The weather wasnt great on our holiday but this villa kept us cosy and happy, but that did mean we didnt get to explore the garden, which is again special. The breakfast was delicious and the 'love' tagines for dinner were absolutely amazing (I'd recommend the cous cous).

If you like to explore and want dependable service but not to the point of being pampered, then I'd consider this riad. It is slight off the beaten path so transport is important, agai. The staff can always help arrange transportation into the mystical town of Essaouira.

As with everything in Morocco, negotiation is key! But overall I think I got great value and wonderful service for my possee.

Well done team Etto, and the Karimo agency for their service also!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar Etto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Etto

Address: Ghazoua, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira > Ghazoua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ghazoua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Dar Etto 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riad Dar Etto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Etto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.