We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If the Wall could talk: "Stay here"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Walltown Lodge

Walltown Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Greenhead
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Walltown Lodge
Greenhead CA8 7JD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Greenhead B&B and Inns
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“If the Wall could talk: "Stay here"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This was the most convenient, and the overall best accommodation we had on our recent hike along Hadrian's Wall. The room was bright and cheerful, with an en-suite shower and toilet. Breakfast was great, served up to order. No need to lift backpacks or suitcases up stairs -- this place is on one level. There's a nice residents' lounge with pamphlets and information about the area. For dinner, we walked into Greenhead, about 1/2 a mile on a sidewalk. The barman called the B&B owner when we were finished,and she picked us up within 10 minutes. There's a place outside to clean boots. At breakfast, we watched a variety of birds attack a feeder. Best thing, however, is that this B&B is right across the street from the Roman Army Museum, a great presentation. And the Hadrian's Wall Country Bus stops near the front door of this B&B. Only issue was that the in-room TV was a bit difficult to operate. Will definitely return to this place.

Room Tip: Why not stay here two nights if you're walking Hadrian's Wall, and use the Country Bus to pi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
11
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Westbrook, Maine
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

A lovely place, rooms were light and clean. The hostess prepared a fabulous meal the evening we arrived, a great breakfast in the morning. We watched a woodpecker and assorted other birds at her feeders outside the breakfast room while we ate in the morning. She even supplied us with ointments and bandages for our sore, tired feet. The brown bag lunch she prepared for us was delicious and included more food than one could eat in a sitting. (Shaw party 8.15.12)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

This was our second stop on our Hadrian's Wall walking route, and after hiking up the hill from Greenhead, Diane made us feel incredibly welcome with cups of tea, her friendliness and helpfulness. The bedrooms and shared areas are immaculate, the food was great, and the owners couldn't have been more helpful. If you're about to go on the most testing section of the wall route - or if you're just finishing - this is an excellent B&B to stay at, as it's extremely close to Walltown Crags on the route, and just opposite the Roman Army Museum. Many thanks!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We have had maybe the most perfect stay in Walltown Lodge. Very quiet location, almost right onto the Adrian's wall itself (walltown quarry) and just opposite the Roman Army Museum (clearly another "must see" ).

Very large room (even with an additional cott) with a great bathroom. Very clean. Excellent breakfast: "plenty of everyting and everything very tasteful", one could simply say. Very efficient service as well (everything goes swiftly).

Fantastic dinner (though being a bit too French, I personnaly could have done with a glass of red wine, but B&B are unfortunately not allowed to). I must insist here: the kind of 3 course dinner you would only get in the best restaurants, if that.

And finally just a few words about the owner: very very very nice lady. Very attentionate,in particular for our 3 years old son (she lent us some childrenbooks for instance). Very professional, yet very warm and last but not least: very humble.

A place to recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

We had a lovely stay : really comfy room,
great bathroom, and fantastic three course meal and delicious breakfast.
Thoughtful and warm host, who went out of her way to make us and our little boy comfortable, and even remembered to stock plenty of his favourite yoghurt.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

This is a really good B&B in a great position on the wall, I was made very welcome by Brian and Diane and I couldn't fault the property which was immaculate. Brian gave me a lift to the pub for an evening meal which was also very good. The Roman Army museum is just across the road and worth a visit, you can also buy a ticket that gives you entry to Vindolanda at a discount if you plan to do both. Brian cooked an excellent breakfast and supplied a packed lunch which was very convenient. Altogether an excellent stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leerdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Very pleasant, spacious en-suite room. Good facilities. Good service. Very recommendable for an overnight stay while hiking the Pennine Way or Hadrian's Wall. It is almost dead on trail. Landlady offered to bring me to and collect me from the local pub in Greenhead by car. An offer I kindly accepted after a weary 20 m. days of walking. And an early breakfast (07.00) was no problem at all. Whished there were more B&B ‘s and hotels serving long distance walkers who do this.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Walltown Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walltown Lodge

Address: Greenhead CA8 7JD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Greenhead
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Greenhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Walltown Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Walltown Lodge to your Saves list