We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flexible and friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Helvellyn Country Kitchen

Helvellyn Country Kitchen
Glenridding, Glenridding CA1 10PA, England
+44 17684 82598
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 11 Restaurants in Glenridding
Price range: $6 - $20
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Tring, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Flexible and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Great sandwiches and panini to take hiking. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Brunch looked good but we did have time to sample!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    7
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chamonix
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“One of those gems.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

I like to believe that in every village there is a little gem with lovely food and friendly service. Too often let down, but not at the Helvellyn Country Kitchen. Freshly made everything! Fabulous homemade bread with the sandwiches, great cakes, good coffee, smiley staff. I was only in Glenridding for a couple of days but ended up having breakfast, lunch and dinner at this place. Excellent all round.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing food (gluten free cupcakes too!), generous portions and great atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We visited on an off chance after walking up aira force, it was busy but still a young man served us with a smile on his face, no sign of stress. At first glance the soup may seem quite pricey at £4.90 but it is definitely worth it, you get a lot for your money and a good selection of breads. All the portions are very generous. As a waitress myself I understand how difficult it can be to cope when people are asking for extra things and there are large tables in but he was brilliant. We also took away some brownies and gluten free cupcakes which were extremely yummy! The ice cream is also especially good! We even came back a couple of days later to grab an ice cream and some more treats. I would recommend this cafe to anybody and it is definitely somewhere we will be visiting again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Found this absolute gem by chance. Went back the next day for lunch, gutted that it is closed all day on a Monday! Excellent service, seriously good quality, beautifully presented food. They could easily charge double the prices. Its like eating at a friends house, a friend who is a passionate, unpretentious, excellent cook! Will definitely be back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Good food and drink, not so good prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

The scones we were served were of a great quality as were the hot chocolate although the prices were expensive. Still worth a visit after a sail at Glenridding

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Helvellyn Country Kitchen also viewed

Glenridding, Lake District
 
Glenridding, Lake District
Glenridding, Lake District
 

Been to Helvellyn Country Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Helvellyn Country Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.