We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat as a Pin” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grisedale Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glenridding
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grisedale Lodge
Save
You added Grisedale Lodge to your Saves list
Grisedale Bridge | Patterdale, Glenridding CA11 0PJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Glenridding B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Neat as a Pin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Christine is lovely, warm , hospitable, informative. The lodge is extremely clean and tastefully done. The room was small with a tiny ensure. Good bed, quiet countryside sleep. Breakfast was excellent. Cut sandwich generous. They have been the only people to carry the bags to and from the rooms!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    11
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
24
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

A very nice host who made us tea and biscuits when we arrived. The room was a bit small but had fantastic views and was very clean. We were looking forward to a great stay.

Unfortunately the walls in the room were very thin and we were kept awake by the person next door snoring all night. When he woke up he did something else which we really did not want to hear just before breakfast.

Our host was also very generous with the pack lunch.

If we had been next to someone who did not snore and make a lot of noise and/or the walls had proper soundproofing it would have been a very different review.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Myself, my girlfriend and my parents stayed in the cottage at grisedale lodge as part of my final wainwright walk.

On arrival, Christine came straight out to greet us and explained a little about the area and the cottage, although this was the only time we saw Christine, obviously this was perfect for us as we wanted to relax. She was available in the b&b though if you needed her.

The cottage itself is beautiful. Extremely well appointed, it had every utensil imaginable in the kitchen, along with everything you needed to cook anything really!! The rooms were big and very nicely decorated and it was clean!!! (A big bug bare of the girlfriends). We used the sauna whilst there too which was lovely.

The location is perfect, very very quiet, yet close to the pubs in patterdale and glenridding which we frequented.

All in all I can't fault this place at all and we're already looking at when we can revisit.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
573 reviews 573 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 159 cities Reviews in 159 cities
458 helpful votes 458 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This proved to be a great place to stay, part way through an 80-mile 6-day walk around the Lake District. Yes the room and shower were rather small as others have commented (but there was a great lounge for our use), but it was sparkling clean and very warm. Our welcome from Christine was just as warm - and she dried our boots overnight without being asked. Breakfast was first class!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Just come back from a two night stay at Grisedale Lodge in Patterdale, Ulswater. Arrived after a 3 hour journey so was more than happy to accept John’s offer of a drink and a piece of homemade cake (a great way to start a little break). Our room was very clean with a lovely view. The room was a tad small but we had the full use of a lounge so nothing to complain about, Very little room for your clothes but I suspect that most people are only staying one or two nights. We asked for a room with a private bathroom, which was huge and looked as though it had been recently done. One word of warning, the bathroom is one level down from our room. Not a problem for us but this may be a little off putting for some. They do provide bathrobe and slippers for use too and from the bathroom. I think that the other rooms are en-suit so there is a choice. The breakfast was very good indeed and will be enough to fill anyone ready for a day in the hills. Have to mention the homeade bread and fantastic homemade marmalade, yummy. Both John and Christine are the perfect hosts with good local knowledge (thanks for the tip regarding the car park). All in all a very nice place to stay that offers excellent value for money

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Lovely place to stay with beautiful views. Room was quite small and had a wash basin and ensuite toilet. The main bathroom was down the stairs but contained a bath which was very welcome after walking over from Grasmere in hurricane force wind and rain. The B&B is located down a small lane next to the river. It is only 5 minutes walk to the pubs in the village.

Guests have the use of a very homely lounge area on the first floor. Again with great views. This is also where breakfast is served. Breakfast was delicious and so was the pack lunch.

I have read some of the reviews about boots not being dry, ours were pretty good considering how wet they were. This is possibly due to being later in the year and the heating being on.

Christine has good local knowledge of the walking routes. In view of the weather, especially the howling winds, we took a suggested route via Uslwater and the Cockpit stone circle. All in all a good place to stay

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Owners very knowledgeable about surrounding area. Room OK but no heated towell rail and heating not on so could not dry anything.
No shoes allowed in house which is fine but no drying facilities provided either.
Breakfast good and packed lunch was excellent. Top marks for the flap jack, even beter than mine!
Walls paper thin to next room with snoring occupant!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grisedale Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grisedale Lodge

Address: Grisedale Bridge | Patterdale, Glenridding CA11 0PJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Glenridding
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Glenridding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Grisedale Lodge Glenridding, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grisedale Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.