We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grisedale Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glenridding
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grisedale Lodge
Save
You added Grisedale Lodge to your Saves list
Grisedale Bridge | Patterdale, Glenridding CA11 0PJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Glenridding B&B and Inns
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012 via mobile

I stayed in the B & B here with my husband for one night. The hosts were really friendly and looked after us well. Our room was nice and clean and our breakfast was lovely! They helped us with information such as where to eat and where to hire a boat etc! I truly couldn't fault our stay and in fact I'm already looking to stay here again with my friends!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    11
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
24
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

Night 4 on the C2C walk. It had been a long hard day, we were wet and tired and had turned up early to find no-one was at home. OK, that's fine, everyone has a life, so off we went to find a late lunch.

When we got back we rang the bell and John opened the door. Instead of a "hello, I'm John, welcome..." we got "we have a no shoe rule in this house, please take your boots off". I'm well house trained and would have done that anyway, and while I suppose some people do get careless in other people's houses, there have to be more hospitable ways of welcoming a new guest.

OK, we got past that, took off our boots and were shown upstairs to a nice, comfortable twin room with double glazed windows on two sides, so plenty of light, and a handbasin. The ensuite is tiny, literally a cupboard sized room with a small shower cubicle and toilet. It works, but my mate is 6 feet 4 inches, and it was a challenge for him! No real hanging space.

Luckily we next met Christine. She is naturally hospitable and soon had our wet gear drying in a hidden drying room. The next morning it was Christine who served breakfast, and this was excellent. We were off the full english breakfast by now and she was able to offer plenty of choices with fruits, cereals and yoghurt. She also provided us with slightly expensive but great big lunches, including some home made slice, as we left.

So, our first impression of Grisedale Lodge was spoiled by our rather unengaging welcome. It is a comfortable B&B with some very nice touches. Christine's hospitality tops it off. Pity she didn't open the door when we first arrived!

Room Tip: ask for the room that doesn't have the ensuite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

This was our 2nd stay in the cottage and it did not disappoint. The cottage is very large with a lovely garden and conservatory. We are a family of 4 adults and 2 children and we had everything we could need.The cottage is very well appointed with lots of thoughtful extras and Christine and John are very welcoming and helpful. The location is great with many delightful walks for all abilities from the front door. Just perfect coming back to the cottage after a day walking to a log fire and a glass of wine.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

This is an excellent B&B in every way: a comfortable bedroom with a view of the fells, a delicious breakfast including fresh fruit and a relaxing lounge. The hosts are welcoming, friendly and knowledgeable offerning everything from advice on a route to drying your clothes. They offer a packed lunch service with lots of choice of sandwich fillings.
This B&B is well placed for the Coast to Coast, and is midway between the villages of Patterdale and Glenridding, giving a good choice of pubs and shops and convenient for Hellvellyn and other walks.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

Lovely place to stop over after a hard days walking. The double room we were given was a little small and did not have an ensuite although the bathroom for our exclusive use down the stairs was very large and included for both a shower and bath. Breakfast was to a very high standard in the guest dining/lounge room.

The lady of the house was very warm, welcoming and helpful.
The man of the house was equally helpful but could be a little warmer and soften the military style of guest communication.
A TV and/or radio in the rooms would have been nice.

The packed lunch was to a high standard and included for some complimentary home made cake which was a lovely touch.

Overall a very pleasant overnight stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed here on the coast to coast walk and would definitely return. Great welcome with home-made cake and tea. Good breakfast and packed lunch. Great value.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

Execellent B&B, Christine & John could not be friendlier, great breakfast, dried our wet clothes & shoes overnight, room & en suite shower could be bigger and we prefer to have a TV in our room. Highly recommended for coast to coasters

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grisedale Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grisedale Lodge

Address: Grisedale Bridge | Patterdale, Glenridding CA11 0PJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Glenridding
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Glenridding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Grisedale Lodge Glenridding, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grisedale Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.