We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont go for afternoon tea. . Awful lot” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Orangery

The Orangery
Ullswater | Inn on the Lake, Glenridding CA11 0PE, England
017684 82444
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 10 Restaurants in Glenridding
Price range: $2 - $19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: With astounding panoramic views of Ullswater and the surrounding fells, the Orangery at the Inn on the Lake welcomes residents and non-residents to relax and enjoy the scenery whilst enjoying a light snack, lunch, afternoon tea, evening meal or cocktail. Come inside the Orangery where you can enjoy the bright and airy space of this architectural delight, whilst admiring the simple and dramatic statements made by the contemporary yet warmly inviting furnishings; the unique glass and driftwood table, a dazzling Italian Crystal Globe chandelier, and not forgetting the commissioned artwork above the quirky and very original fireplace. Open every day from 10am.
Cumbria, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dont go for afternoon tea. . Awful lot”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

A hotel that size ... didn't have rye bread.. didnt have houmous. .gave us hard scones... no jam no butter had to ask for them..
Also more butter on the bread than filling...spoilt a lovely day away

Told the receptionist....nothing done..ive rang the manager this morni g... snd he ssid i shd have asked for him....ohh and if we go back.. only one of us cld have a complimentary tea. .. not good customer service either...
Armathwaite and Swiss ladore better

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manageriotl, General Manager at The Orangery, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Sheena

We pride ourselves on good customer service and I am so disappointed that you didn't enjoyed your Afternoon tea. We try our utmost to ensure all afternoon teas are made and presented to a very high standard in what is now a very competitive market. We have investigated the matter with the kitchen team and had no other complaints on that particular busy afternoon but this is not to say your was to the standard you expect.. However, I am sorry you feel the gesture of goodwill of a free full afternoon tea was not good customer service. Once again I apologise and hope to welcome you again to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    5
    6
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warkworth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Nice views, food fine”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

No complaints really. Didn't have to worry about there not being space, even in August. Food was nice, filled everyone up which was the main thing!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Forest
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Very, very good for many reasons......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Quiet Sunday night just wandered by looking for somewhere to eat - the side Bar of Inn on the Lake had evening entertainment of wedding in full swing, we peered towards Orangery and the Hotel door porter very politely welcomed us to take a look (not pushy) we wandered in looked at menu and thought why not, looks lovely.
The Orangery is a new addition 2012 ? to the Inn on the Lake and is a beautiful circular room with very good, comfortable furnishings and you spend the first few minutes just taking in what's around you, the building, the furnishings, the roof, the garden outside, the lake etc etc - stunning.
Then there is the food - we had really nice meal, plenty of choice, all hot, well prepared perfectly served. Kelly and a waiter were always about and paced a perfect meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Afternoon Tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

My Daughter treated to me to afternoon tea in the orangery today for my Birthday. It was wonderful, beautiful room, great atmosphere and views, lovely little sandwiches, homemade scones with cream and jam, biscuits and lemon tart followed by mini trifles, eclairs and cake, as much tea or coffee you can drink, great staff and good value for money!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Great service; food not so great!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I'd like to compliment Christine, our waitress, who simply could not possibly have been more helpful. Excellent service, without fault! Also, the view is stunning from the Orangery.

Unfortunately the food did not live up to the same standards! The best part first: our shared antipasto starter was very good and it was a very generous portion with delicious home-made bread. The main courses, however, were poor: both the chicken and the salmon were over-cooked, dry and tasteless. The vegetables were bland and tasteless also, apart from the mange tout, which was very nicely cooked.

All in all we wouldn't go back there as the main meal was quite poor and therefore poor value for money (45pounds for a shared starter, 2 main courses, a glass of wine and a beer).

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manageriotl, General Manager at The Orangery, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Ukbadiubranca
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent meal at the Orangery. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our beautiful views and we have passed your lovely comments on to Christine regarding the service.
I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your main courses, we appreciate everybody’s tastes are different and we would have been happy to have replaced your meal with something more to your liking if only you spoke to Christine with your disappointment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Orangery also viewed

Glenridding, Lake District
 
Glenridding, Lake District
Glenridding, Lake District
 

Been to The Orangery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Orangery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.