We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good... but” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn on the Lake

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Inn on the Lake to your Saves list
Inn on the Lake
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ullswater, Glenridding CA11 0PE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Glenridding
Stocksfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“good... but”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We spent 2 nights this week on a Travelzoo deal which included 3 course dinner. We paid extra for a lake view room. We're glad we did because the view to the lake and gardens was wonderful. The setting for the hotel is what makes this hotel however we felt the overall location, though peaceful, was a bit isolated from the other lakes. The staff were all so polite and nothing was too much trouble. Our criticism is about the food served in the restaurant. On our first evening we both ordered lamb for our main course and mine was so undercooked that blood was pouring from it and my husband's was very pink. I tried to eat some of it but couldn't so we returned it to be cooked further. This was dealt with very well by replacing both meals and new vegetables. On the second evening my husband's steak, although he asked for medium, came back as rare. We appreciate that chefs believe meat should be "cooked" like this but they she respect the guests requests. For these reasons we would not return to this hotel which is a shame because we did love the view, room and staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manageriotl, General Manager at Inn on the Lake, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Pauline

Thank you for your review and I’m so pleased you enjoyed the hotel and the service you received. Glenridding is a small village in Ullswater but is set in the most beautiful Lakeland scenery, people tend to love the tranquillity but I certainly understand if it was a little quite for you. .
I'm sorry our food in the restaurant wasn't to your liking, we serve all our prime cuts of lamb and beef pink as is stated on the menu unless the guest orders it otherwise but was very pleased to hear that the waiter took both plates away and replaced them with freshly prepared well done meals. Everyone has different tastes and we are only too happy to oblige if guests want something different.
Once again Pauline thank you for taking time to place your comments and we wish you well in the future.
Kind regards
G Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    610
    187
    67
    24
    10
See reviews for
145
526
17
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Stayed here with a large group to celebrate a ruby wedding. The service was excellent. The rooms were lovely with very comfortable beds. The cleanliness is of a very high standard. Views of the lake were wonderful. Definitely will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We booked this hotel and payed for in January , for our visit in July . When we arrived with our friends we had travelled overnight and drove from London that day . We arrived at the inn at 6 pm to be told that we had the last 2 rooms , and the receptionist was very cool towards us . When we got to our rooms they were very small and the window was blocked you couldn't see out . The description of the rooms did not match what we got , when we complained we were told the hotel was fully booked and maybe we could be moved tomorrow . The rooms we were moved the next day but really not much better . When booking this hotel make sure you read the description well . When we went down to eat we were told that they were full and couldn't find us a spot to eat even though we where staying there , adventually found us a table . We stayed in this hotel 5 nights the breakfast and some service was good but certainly not a good start to a 3 week hoilday in Britain . The location of hotel was wonderful but the hotel is more interested in weddings than individual visitors . The hotel was expensive and I felt we didn't get value for the money we spent !

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manageriotl, Manager at Inn on the Lake, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Moira B
Thank you for posting your review.
If you don’t mind I would like to try and balance out your points which are slightly missed cons crewed. You as you say arrived and told us about the journey and asked if the hotel was busy to which the receptionist replied that you were the last two rooms to check in and not as you imply (you got the last 2 rooms). You booked the standard rooms of which we have 4 and they are described as no view, hence they are the least expensive in the house. You did complain and the receptionist very kindly gave you a free upgrade.
You were asked about dinner reservation on check in but you wanted to get to your room. When you approached the dining room without having made a booking unfortunately at that particular time of the evening the restaurant was busy , we have to pace the service to ensure quality which I'm sure you understand, this is the case in any restaurant anywhere. You were taken to lounge bar given menus and seated 15 minutes later.
Your comment about the weddings couldn't be more untrue and is quite unfair. We are experiencing a very hot summer and like everywhere in the Lakes have been so busy but the comment cards we read every day have been so positive and complementary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

The hotel has a great position overlooking the lake and our initial impression was great. The girl on reception was very friendly. We booked a fell view room and although quite small , it was very tastefully decorated with a double window aspect. The menu was reasonably priced although all the fillets of beef on our table were overcooked. We asked for more bread which we received and then we were offered some more which we agreed to as we were hungry and then a waiter appeared and said he was sorry but it had gone!!! And promptly left! The main problem is that the staff were very young and inexperienced. There were also not enough staff on duty. This meant we had to queue at a non staffed bar to wait for the bartender to show up! We didn't sleep very well because of the adjoining pub. It was noisy till 2am and then we could still here voices and dogs barking!! Breakfast was not good. There were 6 of us in our party and initially we were told we would have to be seated separately on 3 tables for 2 dotted about the dining room. As we entered we all walked upon a table for 6 which the waiter then decided we could have .It was set for 5 so we needed another place setting which took for ever to arrive. It was very busy to give them their due, however more staff should have been employed. Waiting for toast and more butter took ages. There were no bowls on the self service buffet and we had to ask and wait again. The cooked breakfast took ages to arrive. Food was good but the timings and service let it down. We decided to go and sit in the lovely orangerie and read the papers but we weren't allowed as there was a wedding expected. I think it is the place to stay in the quiet season when service levels would be better and the pub next door quieter. I didn't formally complain as we had booked on a special offer although we heard other one other person complaining. There is absolutely no way I would pay their normal tariff. I would probably return on another special offer sometime out of season.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

My new wife and I stumbled across this hotel 6 weeks ago, when we were looking for a one night break in the lakes. We then saw that they did weddings, so decided to go and take a look. The pictures looked nice, but we were not prepared for the stunning location, views, hotel, friendly staff and welcoming manager, which we found when we got there. We've stayed in a number of hotels in the Lakes and most are very nice, but there's always something that looked a bit tired or needs refurbishing. NOT in the Inn on the Lake. Superb, Superb, Superb !!! And as I've read on here before, the gardens are the gardens God would have, so beautiful ... After a chat with Gary (the hotel manager) we booked our wedding (at 5 weeks notice!). The hotel helped, advised, offered ideas, they were just brilliant. On our wedding weekend, we were welcomed by reception, made to feel that our wedding was the most important thing for the staff, which made us feel very special. In particular, Paul, in the restaurant, was amazing. he chatted, joked, welcomed, looked after us all, young and old, he is a real character. He should get a raise!! And made our stay that much more in so many ways. In fact the service was fantastic in the bar, the restaurant, reception, the manager, Tim the wedding organiser.
Take the opportunity to use the Golf course (more than a pitch and putt), the kayaks on the lake, the steamer round the lake, lots of walks to do.
To end this review I would just like to offer our heart felt thanks to Gary, Paul, Tim and the whole Team for making our wedding on 15th July 2013, absolutely memorable, emotional, comical, VERY SPECIAL! THANK YOU ... :-)) We can't wait to come back and stay again, we loved it ...

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the the 4 Poster Rooms, as we were getting married, but also had family in other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I have just had the fortune of visiting this hotel for a family wedding.
This hotel is located in the most fantastic location boasting amazing views over lake Ulswater.The grounds are georgeous and a perfect setting in the gazebo for a fairytale wedding.The whole day from start to finish was superb.Food was great during the day and the evening reception 'Hog roast' was very tasty.Perfect end to the evening with fireworks over the lake - amazing.We stayed overnight in room 17 - I couldnt believe how lucky we were with a balcony overlooking the lake , great decor throughout this hotel.
Amazing - I will be back.

Room Tip: Room 17 is a second fllor room with a balcony overlooking the gardens and the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I booked this hotel as a surprise for my partner as we were not going to have a summer holiday this year and so opted for a 'staycation'. I did not know a huge amount about the Lake District but thought it would be nice to go off the beaten track (i.e. away from Windermere). I thoroughly researched all the hotels in relevant areas and ultimately settled on The Inn on the Lake.

I was not disappointed! In fact, quite the opposite. I was blown away by the hotel and as was my partner. I had seen the photos and read the reviews so I knew somewhat what to expect, but the Hotel exceeded my expectations in every way!

We had booked for 2 nights but decided to extend our stay by one night by coming up a day earlier than planned. We sadly could not get the same room for this extra night as it was short notice and so booked a 'fell view' room instead and then we would move to the Lake View room previously booked. The Fell View room is by no means a sub standard room. It was tastefully decorated and clean throughout. The view across the car park and towards Helvellyn was nice enough, as was the side view towards the fells. The downside of this room was that you are quite close to the kitchens and a fire escape. This is not a major issue, but did mean that at around 7:30-8am there was a lot of running up and down the fire escape and noise from the kitchens. It was by no means that bad but just to bare in mind if you book this room and want a long lie-in! Also, the WiFi did not seem to reach to this room, but again, hardly an issue to be that concerned with as WiFi worked fine in public areas most of the time.

We ate in the Ramblers Bar the first night which is a great Pub! Food was Pub Grub, but was well cooked, fast service and just what we needed after a long days drive! The local ale served was also a great addition!

The second and third night we had booked Dinner, Bed and Breakfast and moved to a ;Lake View Feature Bedroom'. This was quite simply stunning! The decor was beautiful and everything from style and furniture was top notch! Then there was the view. To die for! Overlooking the lake and grounds was a delight to wake up to, as well as sit in the seating area in the bay window watching the sun go down. We enjoyed also watching the House Martins and Swifts from this seating area as they darted across the hotel grounds! The rest of the room could also not be faulted. Clean and modern bathroom with Bath and Walk-In Shower and a little kitchen area with Tea and Coffee Facilities and Free Water.

Dinner was in the main restaurant. As we had booked Dinner inclusive with the room we had the '5 Course' A la Carte menu. This is essentially 3 courses and then a Velouté appetiser and a Sorbet course. The food was beautifully presented and was mouthwatering just from reading the description and then went on to live up to the expectation. The restaurant has 2 rosettes for the food, and I can understand why! The service was also perfect, especially from Paul who was somewhat a character, but knew us by name from the second day (as did all the key staff) which was a wonderful personalized detail that makes you feel very welcome in the hotel. I should also mention Glen? The head Barman who went out of his way to create virgin cocktails for my partner all of which were fabulous!

There was a wedding each day that we were there but these did not interfere with our stay in any way, and was actually fun to watch the ceremonies and people watch from the bar / Orangery terrace.

The only, ever so minor negative, of the stay was the Phone reception (The Hotel can't do anything about this) and the WiFi. The WiFi was fairly fast for hotel speeds when it worked but at times it did seem to drop out occasionally. My basic IT knowledge managed to make it work by manually inputting an IP address as opposed to relying on automatic allocation, but others may not know how to do this. On the whole though the WiFi worked 95% of the time and when it did not, it did not ruin our stay and simply meant that my partner and I would have to talk to each other and enjoy the stunning surroundings as opposed to update our Facebook to make our friends jealous!

To Summarise: Great Value for Money, Perfect Service, Stunning Location (we even got to swim in the Lake from the Hotels own little beach!), Great Food and Amazing room! We arrived saying 'we might be back sometime', but left saying 'We Will be Back Soon!'.

We cannot wait for our next stay!

Room Tip: If you can afford the upgrade, book a Lake View Room - Room 46 was ours and it was fabulous! I under...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Lake

Address: Ullswater, Glenridding CA11 0PE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Glenridding
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Glenridding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn on the Lake 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on the Lake Hotel ia a 4 star hotel that enjoys one of the most spectacular settings in the Lake District in 15 acres of grounds with lawns sweeping to the shores of Lake Ullswater. The Inn on the Lake is only 12 miles from the M6 motorway and the drive is very dramatic with the road curving around the Lake and the backdrop scenery of the fells. There are 47 en-suite bedrooms, all thoughtfully designed with most rooms having breathtaking views, some looking towards the magnificent Helvellyn mountain range, while the majority look over the ever changing Ullswater. Each room is fully equipped with everything you come to expect in this quality 4 star hotel. For that special occasion upgrade to a superior room or one of the very popular, stunning four-poster bedrooms. From the moment you walk into reception you will find an interior that compliments this fabulous setting. This leads through to the popular Lounge Bar where a warm welcome awaits with large bay windows overlooking the well landscaped gardens, which lead to the hotels jetties on Ullswater. Enjoy a drink any time of the day, a light lunch or afternoon tea in the Lounge or on our Lakeside terrace. The award-winning 2 AA Rosette Lake View Restaurant provides something for all tastes, or for less formal dining The Ramblers Bar, situated within the hotel’s grounds, offers the option to enjoy a pint of real ale. The hotel also has its own outdoor activities including pitch & putt, croquet and children's outdoor play area. Gary and his team at The Inn on the Lake Hotel look forward to welcoming you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Inn on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Lake Hotel Glenridding
Inn On The Lake Ullswater
Inn On The Lake Glenridding, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn on the Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.