We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location for a wedding” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn on the Lake

Save Saved
You added Inn on the Lake to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inn on the Lake
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ullswater, Glenridding CA11 0PE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Glenridding
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Beautiful location for a wedding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed two nights when attending a wedding. Had an incredible four poster room with a view of the lake. Spacious room, decor in keeping with the grand nature of the hotel as a whole. Although there had been some downfalls with service prior to arriving (useless person taking the booking and payment) once we were there we had no real complaints. Tim in particular was very good. There was a jobs worth who refused to play the final dance for the bride and groom because it was 3 minutes past the license time (I mean really?? Hope that stays on his conscience for a long time). Breakfast was pretty standard and not very attentive staff. But essentially you are going to this location for the view which worked out great for the wedding, especially as the weather held out so the wedding could take place outside. I think it is pretty pricy and not the kind of hotel I would normally go for but for an English wedding it was great.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manageriotl, General Manager at Inn on the Lake, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Reviewer
Thank for your kind words about the grandeur of the hotel. We do take great pride in the hotel and how it looks and the constant investment that keeps it looking so.
As regards to your very hurtful and unkind comments about the receptionist and duty manager I do feel that a response is needed.
The booking was taken at our central reservations but I have passed on your comments to the head of that particular department.
I have looked back on our security system to ascertain the time the music was stopped as we have a very strict 12 o’clock licence, it was past 12.15 and although this doesn't mean an end to the evening festivities as there is a 24 hr bar the dance music has to finish or we are in breach of the law.
The wedding were delighted when they left and I would like to thank the guests for there very kind gratuities.
Wishing you well in your future travels
G Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    559
    175
    60
    21
    10
See reviews for
132
487
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Firstly I must apologise to Jonathon, Debbie, Bev and Gary and the rest of the staff for the delay in writing this review. We married here on Sunday 16th September 2012. It truly was a stay to remember, the weather wasn't in our side which meant we couldn't marry at the picturesque pagoda but we married in the intimate Glenridding room with the doors open and the rain trickling, was just amazing. Jonathon looked after us on our wedding day and did a brilliant job. The food was out of this world. We stayed an a balcony room, I would definitely recommend, they are spacious, clean and modern. The restaurant is a little pricey but well worth it. Our reception was held in the ramblers bar with the marque for our evening Buffett, there was a reception the night before our wedding which my room was near too, it did keep me awake but I think it was mixed with pre-wedding excited nerves. All in all I can't think of any negatives, we will be making regular visits back to the Inn on the lake for the rest of our lives. Well done team, keep up the good work. :)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a fabulous 4 night break from this hotel. We got upgraded on arrival to a lake view room which was amazing. The beautiful room would however be worth paying extra for, especially for a special occasion. The staff are great and provide a service to be proud of, whoever runs this place does a fab job. The food is also amazing. I often find something to moan about but.... I can't think of anything!! The sun was out for 2 whole days so we were very lucky. Would definatley recommend this hotel to anyone off to the Lakes for a break.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed here for one night following three nights in Keswick. We were not disappointed and luckily for us the sun came out to shine on the last half of the day and the day we were leaving! The difference between a cloudy sky and a sunny Lake are remarkable. Inn on the Lake is of course excellently situated - you can "touch" the Lake from Lake View rooms. The staff very kindly upgraded us when we arrived to Lake View from Fell View.

The staff are very friendly, happy, helpful - such a joy to behold in a "high end" establishment. Dinner in the restaurant was excellent. I particularly enjoyed the informality of the place. The manager of this hotel must take great credit for achieving this. But we would like to thank every single member of staff for making our stay so pleasant and going over and above what was expected of them.

We look forward to staying here again if we revisit Ullswater.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are beautifully appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed here last year in a lake view balcony room (see my review sept 2012 "luxury on the lake") For my birthday this year my husband brought me back again and we booked one of the luxury four poster suites with a stunning lake view.

The room had very recently undergone a massive refurbishment with new bathroom and completely modern but luxurious décor. If you love space then this room is for you. These are the rooms used as bridal suites but we though we deserved the luxury just for us! There are four rooms of this type although the hotel will be adding more as there are a lot of new things happening here! There is a beautiful new orangery which will be open in the next week or so and a further 32 bedrooms are planned.

We were staying for three nights this time. The breakfasts were lovely as always and the staff are very highly trained so everything seems to run like clockwork which makes for a relaxing time.

The dinner menus were varied and there was a choice for us of a la carte or table d'hote and we could mix and match as desired. During our stay we were able to hire a motor boat to cruise on Ullswater which is at the bottom of the grounds. The weather was excellent for two days and the garden and grounds were just so pretty to walk around and we sat on the seats by the waters edge and soaked up the tranquillity.

This is a four star hotel but should be higher in my opinion. All the staff are polite, friendly and helpful not to mention very efficient! It is a very relaxing place because of the décor, quiet music and plush furnishings. The lounges and bar area are spotless with views stretching to the place mountain opposite and over the lake.

We were fortunate when we stayed that there was not a function or wedding so it was nice and quiet. this is an extremely popular wedding venue so it may be policy to ring and check what is happening on the week you want to stay! Dogs are welcome here too.

The housekeeping staff do a wonderful job and the rooms are spotlessly clean and so are the public areas and the grounds are kept to a very high standard also. It is expensive but oh so worth it! well behaved children are welcome as well. Check with the hotel about ages and if you have any dietary needs you can discuss with reception. We have already booked a return visit for later this year. The only slight gripe was that there is no where near enough wardrobe space for two people in the four poster suite and I gather this is the case in most rooms. However, everything else is simply wonderful. we did not want to leave.

Room Tip: Four poster suite for luxury! balcony suite is small but good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London england
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Just back from 3 nights at the Inn on the Lake. Met by very friendly South African porter and check in was very smooth. Had a lovely lake view room, although the floor did slope quite a lot!! All the staff were very helpful and friendly in all areas of the hotel. Food in the restaurant was delicious. Only complaint would be that wedding guests do tend to take over the lounge area during receptions, although I'm sure that with the opening of the orangery this will help. A definite gem of a hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Sankey, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Just arrived back from the inn on the lake,what can I say SPECTACULAR!!!.The hotel reception,bar,and restaurant staff can't do enough to help you,always service with smile.The food is tremendous a la carte menu,served piping hot! Felt like royalty and made to feel like royalty with the service.They have just built an orangey which is due to open next week and it looks superb!sorry we missed the opening:( but we will definitely be going back so maybe next time.The views from the hotel room 44 left us open mouthed is was that spectacular! And we had our own balcony to sit on and admire the views.If anyone has sons or daughters getting married in the future go to the inn on the lake it is the ideal place PARADISE!! The manager must be so proud of his hotel .

Room Tip: Room44 full lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Lake

Address: Ullswater, Glenridding CA11 0PE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Glenridding
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Glenridding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn on the Lake 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on the Lake Hotel ia a 4 star hotel that enjoys one of the most spectacular settings in the Lake District in 15 acres of grounds with lawns sweeping to the shores of Lake Ullswater. The Inn on the Lake is only 12 miles from the M6 motorway and the drive is very dramatic with the road curving around the Lake and the backdrop scenery of the fells. There are 47 en-suite bedrooms, all thoughtfully designed with most rooms having breathtaking views, some looking towards the magnificent Helvellyn mountain range, while the majority look over the ever changing Ullswater. Each room is fully equipped with everything you come to expect in this quality 4 star hotel. For that special occasion upgrade to a superior room or one of the very popular, stunning four-poster bedrooms. From the moment you walk into reception you will find an interior that compliments this fabulous setting. This leads through to the popular Lounge Bar where a warm welcome awaits with large bay windows overlooking the well landscaped gardens, which lead to the hotels jetties on Ullswater. Enjoy a drink any time of the day, a light lunch or afternoon tea in the Lounge or on our Lakeside terrace. The award-winning 2 AA Rosette Lake View Restaurant provides something for all tastes, or for less formal dining The Ramblers Bar, situated within the hotel’s grounds, offers the option to enjoy a pint of real ale. The hotel also has its own outdoor activities including pitch & putt, croquet and children's outdoor play area. Gary and his team at The Inn on the Lake Hotel look forward to welcoming you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Inn on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Lake Hotel Glenridding
Inn On The Lake Ullswater
Inn On The Lake Glenridding, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn on the Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.