We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely 2 night stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn on the Lake

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Inn on the Lake to your Saves list
Inn on the Lake
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ullswater, Glenridding CA11 0PE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Glenridding
manchester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“lovely 2 night stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

just arrived back from a delightful stay at the inn on the lake- the hotel had a wonderful warm atmosphere- staff excellent, food lovely, service tip top and we will be returning soon. the hotel lounge so relaxing and sitting there with my mulled wine looking out to the lake was very nice

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    666
    208
    74
    24
    10
See reviews for
159
575
23
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, Scotland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The first thing you notice about this place is the beautiful view over the lake.

We attended my girlfriend's cousin's wedding in August, the weather stayed beautiful and the happy couple were married outside in the sun.

The wedding, venue and food made it an enjoyable day for all.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
276 reviews 276 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Lovely hotel, we paid a little extra for a room with a view of the lake and it was well worth it. Right from the reception staff, throughout the hotel, the staff were friendly and helpful. Even the lady cleaning reception didn't mind you walking through in muddy boots! The room was spotlessly clean, and the grounds magnificent. It was very cold and I found the hotel was a little too warm.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Wales
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I was staying over for one night only, having booked into a local trail race held on the two days of the weekend on the 3rd and 4th November. Firstly, how refreshing it was that I could book for just the Saturday night, as nearly all other places I've tried in the Lakes allow only a minimum of two nights over a weekend. However, the main reason for leaving this review is to say how welcome I was made to feel, muddy legs and all. Each and every member of the staff I met were so pleasant, from the front desk at check-in to the bar people in the adjoining pub. I'm afraid I can only remember the name of one staff member, James, a terrific South African guy. Nothing was too much trouble for him; he represents the hotel in a very professional, efficient and cheery manner, as do all his colleagues. The hotel offers a great balance of relaxing casualness, as befits those who pursue Lakeland activities, to those who wish to dress up for a formal evening. The hotel itself is in a lovely setting, with ample parking, impressive gardens and the greatest of views. Inside, the lounges and bar areas are extremely comfortable and relaxing; the food was terrific, my room, although a single, was very homely and clean. I would love to visit the hotel again, as I can safely say that having stayed in many hotels up and down the country, this would rate as one of the best. To the management and staff; thank you for an enjoyable stay, and thank you for making me feel most welcome.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montserrat
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were married at the Inn on the Lake on Sat 27 October. From the first contact with the hotel in early January to checking out on 29 October, the staff were absolutely first class. We planned and organised our wedding from overseas. The staff responded quickly and patiently to our numerous queries (what size is x room, how many chairs in Ramblers etc etc).

Throughout the wedding weekend, Gary, Jonathan, Beverley, Holly and the team were just perfect. They were always there when needed, gave us helpful steers when needed, dealt with the varying members of our party and their numerous idiosyncracies. So many other members of staff were good humoured, professional, courteous.

Jonathan was a great toastmaster and really orchestrated the day. We have had so many guests who have thanked us since for picking such a fab hotel and have specifically commented on the quality of the hotel staff. The location is stunning; the staff are attentive and considerate; and the hotel is professional and personal. The Inn on the Lake helped create our perfect day, everything that we could have wished for. Thank you so much for everything, and we look forward to our next visit to this special place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel was booked for my daughters wedding. From the moment we arrived the day before the wedding we were extremely well looked after and every detail was covered as the proceedings the following day. We had booked a lake view room and it was absolutely wonderful. We had a balcony together with an absolute stunning view of Lake Ullswater. The furnishings in the room were of a high quality and the bed linen equally as nice. The bathroom was spotless and the toileteries supplied were an added luxury. The food throughout the weekend was superb and guests were very complimentary about the hotel in general. The wedding itself was absolutely wonderful and the management of everything was first rate. The only thing they could not control was the weather but that did not spoil a single minute of the weekend. The photographs look wonderful both inside the superbly appointed hotel to the immaculate gardens. When I look at the wedding photographs I want to return back to Inn on the Lake immediately! Will definitely be going back and I know a lot of the guests will be returning. The staff were especially considerate in every aspects and they went beyond their call of duty on many occasion. Could not fault this hotel whatsoever and look forward to our return.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and have a lake view because it is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Excellent two nights stay. We were in room 61 which was small very little room around the bed with lots of furniture in the room. Rooms downstairs were excellent with such amazing views. The evening meal was ok on the 1st night but much better on the 2nd night. Staff and customer service on the whole was excellent although one of the waiters was off, when we asked what Bom Bom was on the menu he got very flustered and did not know (was on the menu 3 times) on the 2nd day he almost threw our coffee and tea on the table I think that was because he had to hoover the other side of the lounge! Shame as all other staff were excellent

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Lake

Address: Ullswater, Glenridding CA11 0PE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Glenridding
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Glenridding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn on the Lake 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on the Lake Hotel ia a 4 star hotel that enjoys one of the most spectacular settings in the Lake District in 15 acres of grounds with lawns sweeping to the shores of Lake Ullswater. The Inn on the Lake is only 12 miles from the M6 motorway and the drive is very dramatic with the road curving around the Lake and the backdrop scenery of the fells. There are 47 en-suite bedrooms, all thoughtfully designed with most rooms having breathtaking views, some looking towards the magnificent Helvellyn mountain range, while the majority look over the ever changing Ullswater. Each room is fully equipped with everything you come to expect in this quality 4 star hotel. For that special occasion upgrade to a superior room or one of the very popular, stunning four-poster bedrooms. From the moment you walk into reception you will find an interior that compliments this fabulous setting. This leads through to the popular Lounge Bar where a warm welcome awaits with large bay windows overlooking the well landscaped gardens, which lead to the hotels jetties on Ullswater. Enjoy a drink any time of the day, a light lunch or afternoon tea in the Lounge or on our Lakeside terrace. The award-winning 2 AA Rosette Lake View Restaurant provides something for all tastes, or for less formal dining The Ramblers Bar, situated within the hotel’s grounds, offers the option to enjoy a pint of real ale. The hotel also has its own outdoor activities including pitch & putt, croquet and children's outdoor play area. Gary and his team at The Inn on the Lake Hotel look forward to welcoming you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Inn on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Lake Hotel Glenridding
Inn On The Lake Ullswater
Inn On The Lake Glenridding, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn on the Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.