We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing pizza!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ratchers Tavern Bar

Ratchers Tavern Bar
BEST WESTERN Glenridding Hotel, Glenridding CA11 0PB, England
01768-48-22-28
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 10 Restaurants in Glenridding
Cuisines: Bar, Pub
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Coventry, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“amazing pizza!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

being on holiday in glenridding i was very pleased to find ratchers bar with good food and helpful staff the bonus was they allowed dogs which i was very happy about it gave us a choice of pubs in such a small village, the food was good and the pizzas were great, there was a very relaxed atmosphere and would visit again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    11
    12
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely food, great staff and friendly atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We ate here recently having struggled to find somewhere of decent quality in the Patterdale area. Although Ratchers is a bit of a sports bar (there is a huge plasma screen on the wall with the sports channel playing even when there is no game on) it still manages to have a nice atmosphere. Mostly walkers filled the place when we were there, being at the foot of Helvellyn this is hardly surprising. It is very family friendly and the staff were very welcoming and polite. We had the lamb shank and the scampi, both of which were lovely, and very reasonably priced. The pizzas (they have an extensive menu at very good prices) looked fantastic! We would happily return for another meal in the future.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Overpriced food from the bad old days”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

As Fell Bites was closed (and had been a liitle off-form) the wife decided we would try Ratchers for dinner. We decided to just have burgers, one chicken, one regular - prices seemed a little high but then maybe we were to get something special! Our expectations fell a little as a table opposite with a large group started making adverse comments about the 'home made' pizzas (which did not look at all appetising) so we sipped our drinks and waited for our food to (eventually) arrive. The portions sizes were OK but the presentation was the first let down - burger and mess of chips - no salad/coleslaw - this is 2012 guys! Both burgers had a stale bun, so at least it should have been toasted but no, just a crumbly bland piece of bread. The vurgers were bland and accompanied by a solitary limp piece of lettuce and a few other bita and pieces - the chicken was overcooked and dry and the beefburger was similarly overcooked and totally lacjed taste. The chips were pretty disappointing and although plentiful did nothing to redeem the meal. Fuel it was and nothing else - by and away the worst burger meal I had in the area this yaer (out of 5) and by far the most expensive. I'm not sure what it is about BW and bar food but this is not the first debacle I've had at this chain.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“We go back everytime!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We didnt like the hotel, as it was a bit outdated for us. But the food there was incredible. We recently moved from London to Windermere, and we drive to the hotels restaurant every so often.

The chicken burger, lasagnia, and the pizzas are really good, good portions, and great value for money.

The restaurant itself is clean, and the staff are very friendly.

Overall Recommend the restaurant, although the wine is a bit pricey, but can be bought by the glass.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“"Ratchers Bar" - Glenridding Hotel (Best Western) - Glenridding, Ullswater”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We were in Glenridding for a week and ended up eating here 3 times over the week, between a top class dinner at the "Inn on the Lake" and a Wedding there.
Food was good and reasonable value for money.
Glenridding is an expensive village for B&B's, Guest Houses and eating out, must be captive market. This place was the most reasonable to eat out and the food was good. Prices on a par with Edinburgh, but had a large menu and the portions were medium to large and well cooked and presented.
Service was friendly and efficient.

Hamburger (@ £10.00 - £12.00) was homemade and very tasty.
Lasagne (@ £11.00) was one of the best my wife had tasted in a pub ever.
Scampi (@ £10.00) for large portion for a pub.
Pizza (@ £7.00 - £11.00) depending on size(10" or 12")
and toppings (@ 15 different options on menu).
Wine Starts at @£16.00 a bottle, so no cheaper options, though available by glass as well.

Food served until @21:00 - 21:30

Recommended for good pub grub.
Proper dining options available in the hotel, but as did not try, so cannot comment.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ratchers Tavern Bar also viewed

Glenridding, Lake District
Glenridding, Lake District
 
Glenridding, Lake District
 

Been to Ratchers Tavern Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ratchers Tavern Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.