We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on a British Lake” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Glenridding Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Glenridding Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Glenridding Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ullswater, Glenridding CA11 0PB, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Glenridding
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Heaven on a British Lake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Ullswater Lake, in the Lake District, UK is a rare treasure. Never seen in advertising, this small part of heavenly UK was a personal recommendation. So, we came here for our honeymoon. Hence the 18 foot (at least) by 18 foot room overlooking the sublime beauty of the Ullswater lake and surrounding fells. Massive bed, long sofa, good tv (saw Andy Murray win), beautiful bathroom with plenty of complimentary toiletries. Table and chairs in front of two of the four sash windows, which open out onto the view of the lake. The meadow which we walk through from the hotel grounds to the lake shore is cut once a year only, and it is full of beautiful grasses and meadow flowers. There is a pristine stream running alongside the hotel to the lake. We can hear this spring all the time, a wonderful back drop. Unusually in an up-market hotel, on the ground floor, alongside the stream is a decking area from the bar, which is a local hub of atmosphere, destination of choice for walkers, and also a selling great freshly cooked pub food and real ales, and a brilliant local gin. We are however eating in the garden room restaurant, where the food is cooked fresh to order, and is delicious with a fair emphasis on rich flavourings. We are in the pleasantly polite company of a team of genuinely caring hotel staff, headed by a quietly competent and authoritative head waiter and house keeper, who are both delightful. Oh and by the way, there is just the one shop opposite which is very handy indeed. The road is very quiet, with only a few cars coming through, as it is not a through route, and serves the lake shores only. There is in fact almost no traffic noise at all. The view of the lake is enhanced, in my view, by the wonderful atmosphere from the bar drifting up gently to our room. This is a great place for children, for couples, and for walkers. We feel absolutely delighted with every aspect of our excellent honeymoon location. Tony and Sue, Room 11.

Room Tip: Room 11 isn't cheap, but to find a room like this in an alternative hotel locally would cost up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    80
    33
    17
    15
See reviews for
38
146
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We booked this hotel based on the picture on the website, a hotel amongst the trees beside the lake. When we arrived we found it was in the middle of a group of shops and even paying the lake view upgrade we found we had a view of the beer garden and the car park. For the money we paid we were very disappointed. This hotel does not look like its pictures.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We spent 3 nights in this hotel on our later trip to beautiful Lake District. We chosen this hotel based on its location. We want remote area with less "touristy" sights. But we want a little bit of luxury as well.

Hotel is located on southern shores of Ullswater Lake and its got own semi-secured car park (CCTV only).
On arrival we were politely welcomed by reception desk staff. Reception area looks very nice, with plenty of sofas and little bar for hotel quest only (there is another pub downstairs).
After receiving our card keys we headed upstairs to our room. (free upgrade to lake view)
First impression - smelly. It smelled like a wet dog. Fortunately open window and some deodorant fixed the problem (view of the lake helped as well). Room smartly decorated. Unfortunately there was no fridge/minibar which we expected. Bathroom was nice though. Seamed recently redecorated with nice size bath.

There are four eat/drink places in the hotel:
- main hotel restaurant - we only used for a breakfast and this was OK.
- hotel bar - didn't use it but seamed nice.
- hotel cafe - used twice. Awful! Had steak pie that didn't even look like one, not to mention the taste. Also ordered green tea but got Earl Gray instead. On second occasion I've had piece of cake - dry, old and disgusting.
- hotel downstairs pub - local pub, used on first night and after having the worst onion rings in my life (fried in low temperature oil so soggy and dreadful) and terrible pizza we decided to eat out.
All those places seamed to have the same menu (and same awful cook) so would not recommend it to anyone. Hotel apparently has 3 AA stars. Surely it wasn't awarded for food.

Hotel has swimming pool which we used and its fine (small but we had it to ourselves). Sauna needs new heater as the existing one doesn't do a good job. But in the end we've enjoyed it.

Conclusion.
Hotel itself its fine and offers little more than your usual BB (pool, sauna, WiFi,).
Staff very friendly and professional (with exception of the chef ;-)
Food below standard.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Having been to this area many times over the years, this time I thought I would stay at the Glenridding Hotel. Having read the reviews, I didn't expect too much. However, I have to say, this is the nicest place we have stayed in. It is very clean, the rooms are spacious and we have a lovely view of the lake, the staff are friendly and helpful and the food and service are very good. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teesside
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Liked everything about this hotel, and dead central for lake and steamers. Lots of modern features to the hotel and rooms 43 and 44 very modern. Don't understand the person that complained that hotel was looking tired, not at all. Restaraunt very nice, food excellent and John so helpful, thanks. All staff pleasant. Pool and sauna very good too.

Can't put any negatives here.

Room Tip: Room 44 had good Queen size bed and all modern. 43 the same but with normal double bed. We were fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

We booked this at short notice and were more than satisfied in every aspect of this hotel. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. We had a lovely relaxing time. We ate in the Ratchers bar in the evening, great food and value for money. We did pay the extra for an upgrade for a lake view which, if you can afford it I would advice you to do.....lovely to wake up to in the morning...

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We chose this hotel as the base for a walking tour - "we" being 4 male friends in our 60's who were at grammar school together and who meet up once a year to see if we are still surviving. The occupancy level at the hotel during our visit was very low (after half term), which was to our advantage. The service level was personal and relaxed. We were greeted at reception by Sarah who melted our hearts with her wonderful smile and obvious enjoyment of her work. We immediatlely felt at home. The personal treatment continued with our swim in the hotel pool, which we more-or-less had to ourselves and which offered excellent changing facilities. The rooms were well above average, the service in the hotel dining room was definitely superior and the food was most commendable (both breakfast and dinner). We moved on to a different and more expensive hotel in Grasmere to complete our walking tour and felt a definite "come down" to "normal standards.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Glenridding Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Glenridding Hotel

Address: Ullswater, Glenridding CA11 0PB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Glenridding
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Glenridding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Glenridding Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Glenridding Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Penrith
Penrith Best Western
BEST WESTERN Glenridding Hotel England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Glenridding Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.