We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, welcoming B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cherry Holme

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Cherry Holme to your Saves list
Cherry Holme
Glenridding | Ullswater, Glenridding CA11 0PF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Glenridding B&B and Inns
Louth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely, welcoming B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

We stayed at Cherry Holme for four days beg August as the location next to Ullswater is a good base for some excellent walks in the area.
Michael and Kathleen are friendly and welcoming and our room had a lovely view of the lake and fells beyond. The room was comfortable, nicely decorated with huge four poster bed, large flat screen TV, silent running fridge and a good size en-suite shower room with complimentary toiletries.
Breakfast choice and service was excellent and really sets you up for the day!
Glenridding has a few small shops, couple of large hotels with rather expensive restaurants and the usual bar food available.
We would certainly recommend Cherry Holme and hope to stay there again soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 3 which has gorgeous view of Ullswater.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    14
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
70
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

My partner and I stayed here for two nights at the end of July for a friends wedding at a neighbouring hotel. This place was exactly what we needed with welcoming and friendly staff. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

We stayed here to attend a wedding across the road at The Lake on the Inn and it was brilliant for location, lovely views across the lake from our bedroom. The furniture was lovely, had a bit of a modern tudor feel and I love having tea and coffee on hand! The small touches made the stay, for example the lovely furnishings, the toiletries and also that Mike was so very welcoming. We took our 4 month old boy and they were very accommodating in sterilising our bottles for us, the breakfasts were delicious and came quickly too. I would definitely go back and would recommend to stay there too.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

Stayed at Cherry Holme for a wedding at The Inn on the Lake. What a fantastic B&B. Rooms were really nice and the bed was very comfortable. The view in the morning was amazing, and the breakfast was superb. Would recomend this B&B very highly

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011 via mobile

Stayed at the cherry Holme guest house for a long weekend, as we were attending a wedding locally! The rooms were amazing fully equipped with everything you could possibly want! The owners were very helpful and couldn't do enough for you, excellent service! The location is fab with views looking out on to ullswater! I would recommend and would like to return in the near future :-) shows the true beauty England has to offer!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

Me and my partner both stayed at Cherry Holme as we had a wedding to attend which was taking place in the lakes. We were made to feel extremely welcome and nothing seemed to be too much trouble. The rooms were immaculate and the hospitality was spot on.
All amenities were walking distance.
The breakfast was superb and highly recommended.

Will almost certainly stay there again Excellent A***

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

We arrived just after 2pm, a warm and friendly greeting and were shown straight to our room. which was nice, i presumed we would only be able to check in from 4pm. The room, along with the guesthouse in general was lovely, erally nicely decorated and had some lovely views. it was a short stroll from the inn on the lake, where we were attending a wedding. The breakfast was very nice- full english, toast and choice on cereals. The thing that let us down was the bed- we found it really uncomfortable and therfore had a bad nights sleep on both nights. you could also hear people in the room above when they walked or used any water. this was a shame as the rest of the stay was great, but went home tired after not much sleep.
Apart from this we could not fault it and the service was great!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cherry Holme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherry Holme

Address: Glenridding | Ullswater, Glenridding CA11 0PF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Glenridding
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Glenridding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cherry Holme Bed & Breakfast The perfect choice for luxury accommodation on UllswaterEngland ’s most beautiful lake.Cherry Holme Bed & Breakfast is in the village of Glenridding, which lies at the southern tip of Lake Ullswater in the Lake District. Renowned for it's stunning scenery, it quite simply is the archetypical lakeland get away.Cherry Holme, named after the second largest island on the Lake, lies to the North of the village, just one minute from the Lake shore. Built on an elevated position, Cherry Holme offers it's guests magnificent views of Lake Ullswater and the surrounding fells. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Cherry Holme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherry Holme Glenridding, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cherry Holme, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.