We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ullswater Diesels” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ullswater Steamers

Ullswater Steamers
Glenridding Pier House | Ullswater, The Lake District, Glenridding CA11 0US, England
+44 17684 82229
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
$20*
and up
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The lake runs a serpentine course in three reaches with Helvellyn crowning the plateau at the head of the lake; at 3117 ft it is England’s third highest mountain. Ullswater ‘Steamers’ create the perfect opportunity to combine a cruise with some of the most famous and spectacular walks in the Lake District. With miles of bridleways linked by ‘Steamer’ routes there are so many opportunities for exploring the area. Free commentary app download for apple and android users.
Merseyside England
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Ullswater Diesels”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We were really looking forward to our trip on a Steamer as it was aborted last year due to bad weather.
Waiting on the pier a small cabin cruiser came in which to our dismay became our mode of transport. Not the way we expected to cruise the lake for two hours especially as we were still paying full price !! If the Steamers are laid up over winter then it should be made clear on the web site.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    152
    26
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“An ideal way to get about the area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We used the winter service as enjoyable way to get to the starting points of walks on the fells round Ullswater. A very friendly and helpful crew and staff.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Stunning Views. A Relaxing Sail.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We took the steamer from Pooley Bridge to Glenridding and back in October last year, stopping off for a cup of tea at the Inn on the Lake hotel while we waited for the steamer back. We were very lucky as the weather as it was fabulous, warm and sunny!! The staff were very friendly and knowledgeable. We have taken up walking since coming back from the lakes, so next time we visit, we will be equipped to enjoy a nice stroll, and we will definitely use the steamers again. Thank you.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrington
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great 2 hour cruise to Pooley Bridge and back.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Pleasant return cruise on Lake Ullswater from Glenridding to Pooley Bridge. Nice boat ,pleasant crew.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“History and panoramic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Nothing to dislike, a fantastic way to get to a start point for a walk or stay on-board for a relaxing 2 hrs.
The captain was full of interesting stories and the purser couldn't have been more helpful, serving drinks giving out information.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ullswater Steamers also viewed

Lake District, Cumbria
 
Penrith, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Ullswater Steamers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ullswater Steamers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.