We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cracking Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parador de Vilalba

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Parador de Vilalba to your Saves list
Parador de Vilalba
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Valeriano Valdesuso, s/n, 27800 Vilalba, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Vilalba
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Cracking Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I stayed here with my wife and 4 year old son ,we thought being a Parador it would be to expensive but we were pleasantly surprised. At 60 euros for the 3 of us a bargin breakfast was extra although we did not try it we did eat in the restaurant in the evening. The meal was very good although pricey, we liked the hotel so much we stayed an extra night. The room was huge and well appointed with a very nice en suite, the staff very helpful and could not do enough to help us. We would definitely recommend this to anyone staying in the area

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    40
    12
    5
    4
See reviews for
29
51
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The room was all that we expected it to be, but we made the mistake of having our evening meal here. Although there were only 2 other diners when we went in, the waitress preferred to spend her time chatting to various other people who wandered in and out. The result was that our meal (which cost almost as much as the room) and would have been rather unappetising when hot, was cold.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Well what can I say but it is an amazing hotel, we arrived and was shown to the car park that is under the hotel.
Check in was efficient and we was taken to the room and the cases was carried for us.
We was taken into the tower wing of the hotel and he explained a little about the history of the hotel. The room was on the second floor and we entered the room to be met by a extremely large room that contained a king size bed, TV, sofa, arm chair, writing desk and chair. By the window was another bench seat to sit and look out.
The bathroom was amazing it had two sinks, large bath, seperate shower cubicle and a seperate toilet.
The whole room and bathroom was really clean and comfortable.
We went down for breakfast at 11.00am to be welcomed by a member of staff who showed us to a table explained what there was and offered us coffee or tea and also whether we wanted any hot food items which we ordered.
There was a large selection from fruit, yoghurt, cereals, juices, different types of bread/rolls, chorros, pastries and even a selection of gluten free products.
Our breakfast arrived and it was hot and fresh looking and very tasty.
The whole stay was a night to remember after a fabulous wedding reception that day.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money and stay in the tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberwell, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

I stayed here in May for 2 nights and found the Parador Vilalba far exceeded my expectations. The rooms were beautifully furnished and ours faced onto the garden and tower. And an absolute bargain at 70 euro per night. And a special thanks to Laura on reception. My spanish is poor and she helped me by booking further accommodation for me. Thanks, Laura. I gave St. James a big hug for you in Santiago!

Vilalba is the perfect place to relax. Take a delightful stroll along the boardwalk and enjoy the sculptures and frogs. Or enjoy a delicious meal at "Eat, drink, something" which has the best charcuterie plate ever! Even a glass a bubbles in the glass atrium in the hotel is a perfect way to enjoy the afternoon sunshine.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

Very comfortable well appointed rooms in a modern accommodation block but the small town of Vilalba has nothing to see or do in it so only worth staying in if you want a base for touring.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Top Contributor
299 reviews 299 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

This Parador (****) is built around an ancient tower, in which there are only a few rooms. The rest is in a newish building, connected with a glass corridor to the tower. The tower rooms are about EUR 30 more expensive, but I did not see them, so am not sure what that gives you.

Vilalba is only a small town and the hotel is smack in the middle of it. Like in ALL Paradors, the staff hardly speaks English, is always in a hurry, the food is "just OK" and the breakfast buffet is good.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2008

suggestions only in the old tower

  • Liked — location in the tower
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Parador de Vilalba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Vilalba

Address: C/ Valeriano Valdesuso, s/n, 27800 Vilalba, Spain
Location: Spain > Galicia > Lugo Province > Vilalba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Vilalba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Vilalba 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Parador de Vilalba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Vilalba Spain - Lugo Province

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parador de Vilalba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.