We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Garachico bliss” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Roque

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel San Roque to your Saves list
Hotel San Roque
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Esteban de Ponte, 32 | Esteban de Ponte, 32, 38450 Garachico, Tenerife, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Garachico
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Garachico bliss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stayed here last week and don't have a bad word to say! Despite others' comments our room on the first floor was spacious and very comfortable; service impeccable (3 visits a day to tidy bed and towels!) restaurant better than any we tried in the whole island and location fabulous - small coastal town with blissful lava rock pools to stroll around at any stage of the tide - plenty of local fresh fish restaurants to try including some we'll go back to. Best boutique hotel in all of Spain in my opinion!

Room Tip: Choose first floor facing into courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    43
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
14
123
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Charming, historic hotel. Welcoming staff. Exellent little restaurant - we ate there nearly every night. Room was clean. Only neagtive was that the pool was cold - the information in our room said it was heated, but hardly anyone wanted to get into it and we had goose bumps after swimming up and down for ages! Town is pretty. Worth seeing.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I usually never explain why I give four out of five as a rating, as one never should have to explain something “very good”. I will however make an exception this time, since I really wanted to give this place a full score. The reason why I can’t, however, lies with the rooms on the ground floor. My parents stayed in one, and it was small, dark and completely without any privacy; the bathroom facing the restaurant and breakfast room, and the bedroom towards the courtyard, where people (naturally) sit. However, this drawback is easily avoidable if you ask for a room on a higher level. My brother and I stayed in one of those and found it perfectly fine in every way. Lighter, more spacious, and a lot more privacy.

The hotel, an official four stars, is truly fantastic and delivers at every other turn. The hotel itself is gorgeous being an old canary villa with a courtyard, and beautiful wooden floors, beams and balconies. There is also a stunning rooftop terrace overlooking the mountains, sea and the town itself. The service is very warm, friendly, and attentive with a personal touch. The ambiance here really is incredible and gives you a hotel experience out of the ordinary. The food they serve is also excellent. A good breakfast with a freshly prepared cold buffet, with a offer of eggs (scrambled or boiled – no bacon). Their Danish chef who prepared the dinner cooks so well that we actually ate there both evenings (and we normally never only eat at our hotel).

Would I recommend this hotel? Definitely! Would I stay there again? I certainly would and will! Just book the right room, and you will love it!

Room Tip: Either upgrade or choose a standard room on the first floor or higher
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed at the San Roque for 4 nights, around Easter, and it was one of the best experiences we have ever had in a hotel (and there have been many:) Beautiful building, very tasteful furnishings, super-friendly and helpful staff, the best food in Tenerife (seriously), very nice atmosphere and relaxing surroundings - everything was just marvelous. The downstairs rooms are a bit dark (well... it used to be a convent I think) so be sure to book a room on the 1st floor; we had a junior suite and it was just perfect. It's not cheap but the San Roque is well worth it!

Room Tip: Book the suite or a room on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We have just returned to snowbound UK from a week at San Roque, Garachico. The hotel surpassed our expectations......beautiful setting, large comfortable duplex room with all mod cons. The staff are very helpful without being obtrusive. We travelled by car to and from the resort....and because the weather was good, we did not venture far...and will definitely return to this part of the island. The north west of Tenerife is definitely cooler and cloudier than the south, but if you are happy to accept this, you will be rewarded with great scenery and a resort which feels much more rural and real than the complexes of the south. Lots of good restaurants and the hotel restaurant is excellent.
Only improvements we would recommend - improved access to whirlpool bath/ shower;pool towels - you have to ask for replacement- which we realised after a couple of days.
We will definitely be back to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We had such a lovely, tranquil time. The staff were unfailingly polite and pleasant and we didn't want to leave! The food was superb, and the chef Danny Nielsen an absolute genius serving meal after meal of fantastic cuisine. The only downside were the slightly miserable British couples sitting around in the lobby etc...they surely had nothing to be miserable about at The San Roque!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Couldn't fault it! We stayed a week here for total R&R and that is exactly what we got. Having never been to the Canaries before because of the image of Playa Las Americas our travel agent suggested this - and boy was it worth it. The rooms are beautifully designed and I think all unique. All access the most lovely balconied courtyard which is sheltered on cool days and shaded on the sunny ones. The food, staff and general ambience were perfect. The only comment is that whilst we didnt want a boom, boom holiday there is pretty much nothing to do apart from walking in Garachico. The free Wifi was a bit flaky but useable and who wants to be pestered all day with emails!

Thanks for a lovely relaxing week in the warm and sun!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel San Roque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Roque

Address: Esteban de Ponte, 32 | Esteban de Ponte, 32, 38450 Garachico, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Garachico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Garachico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Roque 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of a region called Isla Baja, in the North-west of Tenerife, Hotel San Roque is to be found among the pebbled streets of Garachico, only a few meters from the blue waters of the Atlantic and in the shade of the emblematic Teide. A lordly 18th century manor house with just the right atmosphere to enjoy your holidays. It is a charming hotel where time can be forgotten and where to feel as comfortable as at home. The hotel has 20 double rooms, 8 duplexes with living rooms, 2 junior suites and 2 suites. La Torre (the tower) enjoys an amazing view of the town and the coastline. Each room enjoys a unique layout, colour and personality, but is identical in terms of comfort and service with air conditioning a Jacuzzi, audio visual equipment, designer furniture and contemporary art on their walls. That is twenty rooms in all offering ours guests a completely different experience of relaxation and comfort. All rooms are equipped with: Jacuzzi bathtub in the bathroom ( in Junior Suites is integrated in the room area ), Satellite TV, Flat Screen, DvD, Hi-fi, minibar, A/C, WiFi, safe box, Bath amenities.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Escapio, Splendia, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel San Roque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Roque Hotel
San Roque Garachico
Hotel San Roque Tenerife/Garachico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel San Roque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.