We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel - pool a little cold.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Roque

Save Saved
You added Hotel San Roque to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel San Roque
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Esteban de Ponte, 32 | Esteban de Ponte, 32, 38450 Garachico, Tenerife, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Garachico
UK
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great hotel - pool a little cold.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Charming, historic hotel. Welcoming staff. Exellent little restaurant - we ate there nearly every night. Room was clean. Only neagtive was that the pool was cold - the information in our room said it was heated, but hardly anyone wanted to get into it and we had goose bumps after swimming up and down for ages! Town is pretty. Worth seeing.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    83
    37
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
11
89
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I usually never explain why I give four out of five as a rating, as one never should have to explain something “very good”. I will however make an exception this time, since I really wanted to give this place a full score. The reason why I can’t, however, lies with the rooms on the ground floor. My parents stayed in one, and it was small, dark and completely without any privacy; the bathroom facing the restaurant and breakfast room, and the bedroom towards the courtyard, where people (naturally) sit. However, this drawback is easily avoidable if you ask for a room on a higher level. My brother and I stayed in one of those and found it perfectly fine in every way. Lighter, more spacious, and a lot more privacy.

The hotel, an official four stars, is truly fantastic and delivers at every other turn. The hotel itself is gorgeous being an old canary villa with a courtyard, and beautiful wooden floors, beams and balconies. There is also a stunning rooftop terrace overlooking the mountains, sea and the town itself. The service is very warm, friendly, and attentive with a personal touch. The ambiance here really is incredible and gives you a hotel experience out of the ordinary. The food they serve is also excellent. A good breakfast with a freshly prepared cold buffet, with a offer of eggs (scrambled or boiled – no bacon). Their Danish chef who prepared the dinner cooks so well that we actually ate there both evenings (and we normally never only eat at our hotel).

Would I recommend this hotel? Definitely! Would I stay there again? I certainly would and will! Just book the right room, and you will love it!

Room Tip: Either upgrade or choose a standard room on the first floor or higher
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed at the San Roque for 4 nights, around Easter, and it was one of the best experiences we have ever had in a hotel (and there have been many:) Beautiful building, very tasteful furnishings, super-friendly and helpful staff, the best food in Tenerife (seriously), very nice atmosphere and relaxing surroundings - everything was just marvelous. The downstairs rooms are a bit dark (well... it used to be a convent I think) so be sure to book a room on the 1st floor; we had a junior suite and it was just perfect. It's not cheap but the San Roque is well worth it!

Room Tip: Book the suite or a room on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We have just returned to snowbound UK from a week at San Roque, Garachico. The hotel surpassed our expectations......beautiful setting, large comfortable duplex room with all mod cons. The staff are very helpful without being obtrusive. We travelled by car to and from the resort....and because the weather was good, we did not venture far...and will definitely return to this part of the island. The north west of Tenerife is definitely cooler and cloudier than the south, but if you are happy to accept this, you will be rewarded with great scenery and a resort which feels much more rural and real than the complexes of the south. Lots of good restaurants and the hotel restaurant is excellent.
Only improvements we would recommend - improved access to whirlpool bath/ shower;pool towels - you have to ask for replacement- which we realised after a couple of days.
We will definitely be back to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We had such a lovely, tranquil time. The staff were unfailingly polite and pleasant and we didn't want to leave! The food was superb, and the chef Danny Nielsen an absolute genius serving meal after meal of fantastic cuisine. The only downside were the slightly miserable British couples sitting around in the lobby etc...they surely had nothing to be miserable about at The San Roque!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Couldn't fault it! We stayed a week here for total R&R and that is exactly what we got. Having never been to the Canaries before because of the image of Playa Las Americas our travel agent suggested this - and boy was it worth it. The rooms are beautifully designed and I think all unique. All access the most lovely balconied courtyard which is sheltered on cool days and shaded on the sunny ones. The food, staff and general ambience were perfect. The only comment is that whilst we didnt want a boom, boom holiday there is pretty much nothing to do apart from walking in Garachico. The free Wifi was a bit flaky but useable and who wants to be pestered all day with emails!

Thanks for a lovely relaxing week in the warm and sun!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband and I spent a delightful 4 nights at this small but impressive hotel and found it to be exactly what we needed for a relaxing short break. Our room was spacious and comfortable with interesting features and the staff were attentive and friendly. The wifi was free and efficient, the pool clean with plenty of sunbeds and the breakfast varied and tasty with a chef who knows how to cook eggs (believe me, quite an accomplishment that appears to elude those in many 5* hotels!). My only comments would be that the beds were a little too firm and the lighting in the room could be brighter but I would not hesitate to return or recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel San Roque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Roque

Address: Esteban de Ponte, 32 | Esteban de Ponte, 32, 38450 Garachico, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Garachico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Garachico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Roque 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of a region called Isla Baja, in the North-west of Tenerife, Hotel San Roque is to be found among the pebbled streets of Garachico, only a few meters from the blue waters of the Atlantic and in the shade of the emblematic Teide. A lordly 18th century manor house with just the right atmosphere to enjoy your holidays. It is a charming hotel where time can be forgotten and where to feel as comfortable as at home. The hotel has 20 double rooms, 8 duplexes with living rooms, 2 junior suites and 2 suites. La Torre (the tower) enjoys an amazing view of the town and the coastline. Each room enjoys a unique layout, colour and personality, but is identical in terms of comfort and service with air conditioning a Jacuzzi, audio visual equipment, designer furniture and contemporary art on their walls. That is twenty rooms in all offering ours guests a completely different experience of relaxation and comfort. All rooms are equipped with: Jacuzzi bathtub in the bathroom ( in Junior Suites is integrated in the room area ), Satellite TV, Flat Screen, DvD, Hi-fi, minibar, A/C, WiFi, safe box, Bath amenities.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Splendia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Escapio, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Expedia and Otel so you can book your Hotel San Roque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Roque Hotel
San Roque Garachico
Hotel San Roque Tenerife/Garachico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel San Roque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.