We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic refuge with perfect service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Roque

Save Saved
You added Hotel San Roque to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel San Roque
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Esteban de Ponte, 32 | Esteban de Ponte, 32, 38450 Garachico, Tenerife, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Garachico
Basel
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Idyllic refuge with perfect service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed at the San Roque for 4 nights, around Easter, and it was one of the best experiences we have ever had in a hotel (and there have been many:) Beautiful building, very tasteful furnishings, super-friendly and helpful staff, the best food in Tenerife (seriously), very nice atmosphere and relaxing surroundings - everything was just marvelous. The downstairs rooms are a bit dark (well... it used to be a convent I think) so be sure to book a room on the 1st floor; we had a junior suite and it was just perfect. It's not cheap but the San Roque is well worth it!

Room Tip: Book the suite or a room on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    80
    35
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
85
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oldham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We have just returned to snowbound UK from a week at San Roque, Garachico. The hotel surpassed our expectations......beautiful setting, large comfortable duplex room with all mod cons. The staff are very helpful without being obtrusive. We travelled by car to and from the resort....and because the weather was good, we did not venture far...and will definitely return to this part of the island. The north west of Tenerife is definitely cooler and cloudier than the south, but if you are happy to accept this, you will be rewarded with great scenery and a resort which feels much more rural and real than the complexes of the south. Lots of good restaurants and the hotel restaurant is excellent.
Only improvements we would recommend - improved access to whirlpool bath/ shower;pool towels - you have to ask for replacement- which we realised after a couple of days.
We will definitely be back to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We had such a lovely, tranquil time. The staff were unfailingly polite and pleasant and we didn't want to leave! The food was superb, and the chef Danny Nielsen an absolute genius serving meal after meal of fantastic cuisine. The only downside were the slightly miserable British couples sitting around in the lobby etc...they surely had nothing to be miserable about at The San Roque!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Couldn't fault it! We stayed a week here for total R&R and that is exactly what we got. Having never been to the Canaries before because of the image of Playa Las Americas our travel agent suggested this - and boy was it worth it. The rooms are beautifully designed and I think all unique. All access the most lovely balconied courtyard which is sheltered on cool days and shaded on the sunny ones. The food, staff and general ambience were perfect. The only comment is that whilst we didnt want a boom, boom holiday there is pretty much nothing to do apart from walking in Garachico. The free Wifi was a bit flaky but useable and who wants to be pestered all day with emails!

Thanks for a lovely relaxing week in the warm and sun!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband and I spent a delightful 4 nights at this small but impressive hotel and found it to be exactly what we needed for a relaxing short break. Our room was spacious and comfortable with interesting features and the staff were attentive and friendly. The wifi was free and efficient, the pool clean with plenty of sunbeds and the breakfast varied and tasty with a chef who knows how to cook eggs (believe me, quite an accomplishment that appears to elude those in many 5* hotels!). My only comments would be that the beds were a little too firm and the lighting in the room could be brighter but I would not hesitate to return or recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

My husband and I spent a week staying here in a suite. The room was really lovely, large with lots of wardrobe space, a jacuzzi bath in the bedroom, large enough for two, a shower in the bathroom and a very high ceilinged airy room. We had originally booked a duplex room, but moved after one night. Be aware that the duplex rooms have the bed - in our case a regular double - on the mezzanine level. This area is very low ceilinged, if you are tall you would not be able to stand up in this space properly, and it is a small area; so we moved, had to pay more but well worth it. The bed was a king sized bed in the suite too. The bathroom is perfectly good, but quite outdated now. Everything worked well though, with good shower pressure and a great jacuzzi bath too.
The hotel has a lovely atmosphere, with lots of wood throughout, really good room service, the reception staff were really helpful and friendly, the location is excellent and the roof deck was a good place to sit when the sun came out.
The restaurant has an excellent Danish chef who is very fussy about where he sources his food as well as changing the excellent set menu daily. It was the best food we ate during our stay, and we ate in lots of other places too. It is a bit more expensive, but worth it for a special meal.

Room Tip: There are only 2 suites, but they definitely have the edge over the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed here in February 2012 and had a suite overlooking the swimming pool. The room was very large, had a Jacuzzi bath in the bed room and separate bathroom with a shower. The bath room could be up dated. The problem with the rooms facing the dining room and pool is they can be noisy. The first and last night of our stay we were kept awake by noisy dinners both times till well after midnight. On the first occasion they apologised and said it would not happen again, but it did to our annoyance. The duplex rooms are not very good in my opinion not enough windows for the size of rooms. Also all the beds in the duplex rooms are quite small. Only suits have king size beds we were told.
The hotel is very clean service from the front desk is very good and helpful. The breakfasts were very good fresh fruit salad cooked eggs etc to order. We ate in the restaurant twice; the food is excellent worth the extra cost compared to eating outside the hotel. I think the food deserves a Michelin Star. We also eat at the restaurant opposite the hotel which we found the best after the hotel food. Also in the same road as the hotel same side is a very good fish restaurant extremely good. We would have liked to meet the owners who are talked about in other reports but never saw them. On our last night we asked for a wakeup call as we had to leave early next morning but it never happened,
To sum up we enjoyed our stay and would come back if we could have one of the suites (only two in the hotel.) The hotel is a true boutique hotel similar to riads in Morocco.

Room Tip: The rooms duplex have disadvantages bad air circulation open bathrooms, the bed rooms on mezanin flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel San Roque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Roque

Also Known As:
San Roque Hotel
San Roque Garachico
Hotel San Roque Tenerife/Garachico
Address: Esteban de Ponte, 32 | Esteban de Ponte, 32, 38450 Garachico, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Garachico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Garachico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Roque 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of a region called Isla Baja, in the North-west of Tenerife, Hotel San Roque is to be found among the pebbled streets of Garachico, only a few meters from the blue waters of the Atlantic and in the shade of the emblematic Teide. A lordly 18th century manor house with just the right atmosphere to enjoy your holidays. It is a charming hotel where time can be forgotten and where to feel as comfortable as at home. The hotel has 20 double rooms, 8 duplexes with living rooms, 2 junior suites and 2 suites. La Torre (the tower) enjoys an amazing view of the town and the coastline. Each room enjoys a unique layout, colour and personality, but is identical in terms of comfort and service with air conditioning a Jacuzzi, audio visual equipment, designer furniture and contemporary art on their walls. That is twenty rooms in all offering ours guests a completely different experience of relaxation and comfort. All rooms are equipped with: Jacuzzi bathtub in the bathroom ( in Junior Suites is integrated in the room area ), Satellite TV, Flat Screen, DvD, Hi-fi, minibar, A/C, WiFi, safe box, Bath amenities.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Splendia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Escapio and Venere so you can book your Hotel San Roque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel San Roque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.