We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location nice pool but the mattress!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Soller Garden

Save Saved
You added Hotel Soller Garden to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Soller Garden
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Placa Reis de Mallorca 5, 07108 Soller, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Soller B&B and Inns
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good location nice pool but the mattress!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

The location is good - quiet but close enough to the centre - the pool is relaxing and not too busy. As others have said we thought we were booking a bungalow but got a 1 bet apartment - with tired but very adequate facilities including fridge and cooker. This was good because although we had booked breakfast this was average at best so we could make our own. (Don't bother with any meal deal here - food is much better in the town.)

The real problem was the the bedroom - the mattress seemed like cut up foam - really poor and the worst I have slept on for many years! Also the curtains were totally inadequate and freestanding fans struggled to keep the air moving.

Staff were mostly good - but woe betide you if you try to take your own drinking water to breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    35
    22
    12
    5
See reviews for
9
27
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Letterkenny, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Port de Soller is a beautiful peaceful resort. The Bungalows are situated in a very quiet area within walking distance of Port de Soller. Accomodation was basic, and as mentioned in previous reviews, you get what you pay for. The place was clean but the bathroom smelt a bit musty, mostly because the only ventilation for the bathroom was a very small window. The breakfast was very basic. Very nice pool area with bar.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maribor, Slovenia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

My boyfriend and I were in Hotel Soller Garden in Avgust 2012 for 10 days and were quite disappointed by the location, food and high prices, although the staff was nice.
First of all we booked a bungalow but they were all full (the lady at the reception said that this was probably cuz of our early reservation? Excuse me?) so we were put in a two room appartment, which was maybe even better cuz we had a kitchen (we are "morning coffe" people so we made us a cup of coffe and fresh squized orange juice before the breakfast:). To add at this point - you could buy a fresh juice in the bar, but it wasn't fresh at all.
The photos of this hotel are a misleading because the area isn't so beautifull as there is shown on the photos. Let say that plants were almost all dried near the bungallows.
The location is terrible cuz there isn't a suitable beach nearby to sunbathe or to swim in the sea - the water really stinks, probably because of the harbor; well, the beach is actually a harbour itself. Though there are nice beaches on the island but it takes a car, bus or expensive boat to take you there. So we rather stayed at the small pool in the hotel.
About the food: what can we say....we have never had the worst meals in our lives. The breakfasts were the same every day: toast, bagel, ham, cheese, boiled egs, cereals, butter, jam ect. and the dinner wasn't much. It seemed like that the cook was without any taste or talent for cooking and please, we are not picky at all. Once I even found a peace of meat with animal hair still on it (this was "the cherry on o top of a fuit cup" so I totaly lost it. I complained to the boss that I have enough of this "food madhouse". But he just replied that this is normal. Excuse me again???). Well, after that day, we didn't know whether they had changed the cook or what, cuz the food was "eatable" for the rest of our vacation.
One day we went canyoning - this was the best day ever. Our guide (I think Salvatore was his name) took us through one of the island's riverbeds few km long and told us some mits and facts about Mallorca. The complete group enjoyed the hike a lot. Allthough the trip wasn't cheap, we would pay much more for this, than the ride with catamaran wich was a total rip off.
So, this was the worst vacation ever, although the staff was very nice, we wouldn't return at any cost.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

2 weeks ago, my boyfriend and I have been one week long at Soller Garden. Nice place, unless the stinking room !!!
Actually, we booked for a bungalow, but since it was overbooked, the owner recommended us, for the same price, a 2- rooms apartement. At first sight, we thought "great, a lot of place for clothes and baggages", so we accepted the deal.

Well, never accept such a deal !
Because the next day and all the following days the room stinked of WC and sewer, especially on two days when it rained. We could'nt enter the toilet, it stinked too much ! We went to the toilet near the swimming pool.

Talking with 2 other guests, we discovered that the owner recommended them an apartement too, with the same problem ! He told them the same "unfortunately, the bungalows are overbooked, so I recommend you this apartement"

The women at the reception, the one at the dining-room and the woman who cleaned were instead very helpful, friendly and sympathic !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Five minute walk to the harbour /shops/beach,so is convenient .
Chalets are in need of attention,i.e external paint work, rendering,internally - ,um,have to kick the bathroom door open,toilet roll permenantly unravels ! mirror scruffy,and impossible to dry your hair (with your own hair dryer ) and look in a mirror at the same time ,unless you have brought an extension cable with you !
Mostly German,and Danish guests . Breakfast is cold meat, cheese, boiled egg,bread,coffee,and you could buy juice for 2 E. We didnt have dinner,so cant comment. The people who were running it ,were very helpful and pleasant. The site is just lovely,and we are aware that there is going to be a serious make over,however,this all costs serious money,and we wish them well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Having read comments of others, booked this hotel expecting 'normal' budget hotel limitations. The hotel is well located being a few minutes walk from the sea front, and the grounds could be pleasant with a bit more care & attention. Our disappointment was with the room - we were allocated a room in the appartments adjacent to the hotel site entrance. The room was dirty, shower cubicle was filthy and bed linen was very creased and did not look fresh. We complained to the hotel management and asked to be given another room to be told 'there is nothing we can do until Saturday (5 days later). They did send the cleaners back to the room, and we did get fresh bed linen, but even after cleaning we had to wipe out all drawers which had visible dust in them before putting clothes in, and had to wipe all coat hangers which were also visibly dirty. The whole place needs freshening up - newly painted walls would improve it no end. The twin beds were also old and uncomfortable. We had booked 7 nights, but moved out after 2 to a very nice hotel on the sea front which was only marginally more expensive than Soller Garden. We will return to Puerto Soller - it is lovely, but needless to say won't be booking Soller Garden.

Room Tip: Consider booking a different hotel in Puerto Soller - there are plenty!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011 via mobile

Arrived with another couple to be told we had to share a cabin for the first night as theyre had been an overbooking earlier that day. A little inconvenient but we were refunded 1 room cost for 1 night.
The rooms are extremely basic, with nothin more than a bed, wardrobe & bathroom. The shower in the first room was horrendous & would not stay still in holder so you had to chase it around to get wet but the beds were comfy. We we're then moved to our own room which was a family cabin also so had a spare bedroom for cases etc otherwise even with just 2 people it could have got cramped. Again the beds were comfy, but there was an odd drainage smell & the only mirror was in the bathroom & once a hairdryer was plugged in the lights went out until it was unplugged again. We also had to share the room with ants :-(
Apart from being woken by binmen early mornings & kept awake by barking dogs the rooms were adequate enough even with there quirks/faults.
Breakfast is indeed basic & my husband lived off ham rolls & I simply toast. There is no fruit on offer. The evening meal again was basic although the salad selection was tasty it was the same every night with a choice of a meat of fish with some sort of potato. One evening the meat choice was a beef burger?!?! But it was all edible. It cost an extra €10 per person for dinner which is along the same price as other higher rated hotels & you could get a main meal alone on the front for a similar cost & probably enjoy it more. It's never a 3 course meal as unless you get in at 7pm sharp puddings are gone & I guess you would class the salad as a starter? I would have preferred to have gone room only & eaten out as good food makes a holiday.
The staff however were lovely and always pleasant often remembering your specific drink choices etc so they can not be faulted.
All in all this was a back up plan choice as we had originally booked elsewhere but tour guides had double booked us two couples. It certainly wasn't our first choice but we saved £150 by downgrading to soller gardens so there were plus points
The area itself id lovely and we hired a car to see more of the island and I would recommend it for a cheapish holiday but any longer than a week would be too much.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Soller Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Soller Garden

Address: Placa Reis de Mallorca 5, 07108 Soller, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Soller
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Soller
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Soller Garden 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Soller Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Hotel Soller
Soller Garden Hotel
Hotel Soller Garden Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Soller Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.