We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A week of walking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Marina to your Saves list
Hotel Marina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo la Playa s/n | Puerto de Soller, 07108 Soller, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 34 Hotels in Soller
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A week of walking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The hotel is perfectly situated as there are many walks starting within 15 minutes of the front door. Majorca, this area is perfect for walking in the Spring and the majority of this hotel's business is from walkers, several large groups of German guests were present during our week's stay. Most of the Brits seemed to book independently of large groups. The hotel pool was in a great position but was too cold to access in March. Our room was clean and the beds comfortable and the view from the shower room over the mountains spectacular. There is a basic sauna and jacuzzi and ice cold shower on the 6th floor and you can book this for free. All staff were friendly and approachable, the reception staff were at times seemingly preoccupied but polite when they realised you had a query. Food was good and well cooked although the puddings limited and the choice for non fish eating vegetarians was limited. Hiring a car to get from the airport to the hotel could be an expensive option and a bus into Palma and an hourly bus to Port de Soller might be a better option for avid walkers.For the money we have no grumbles and lots of lovely memories

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    146
    60
    15
    5
See reviews for
56
198
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Allerod, Denmark
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This hotel is located in a quiet place - the Road in front is with no cars, and right down to the beach. The food is fairly good, especially if you have to eat in the hotel every day. The pool is a small one with wievs to the mountains, but the Beach is very nice and the water clean.

Try to get a room to the beach with a balcony.

There are many beautiful hiking trails nearby, but remember hiking shooes ;)

Will be back any time!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taastrup, Denmark
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

It always feels like coming home when returning to Hotel Maina.

The atmosphere is wonderful and the staff is friendly and always ready to help.

I have been coming since 1981, since I was 8 years old, and I will be hopefully be coming until I am at least 81.

The place is magical. The people you meet, other guests quickly become your friends for life and I will always treasure this little bit of heaven.

See you in June and August/September 2013 :-)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liphook
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I stayed here with a group and whilst I thought the main hotel was pleasant and well positioned, I did not like the annexe building (situated up an alleyway) at all. The room was very basic but kept spotlessly clean. There was a tv and fridge and comfortable bed. However, there was hardly any hot water and the shower did not work at all. The hot water trickled out of the tap and it took 30 minutes for the bath to fill to a level for me to get a wash. The air con didn't work either and the fan rattled on the ceiling and seemed to be hanging by a thread. So I decided not to use it. The staff at the restaurant were always very polite but there seemed to be too few of them and so service at times was a little slow. The spa was beautiful as was the rooftop terrace on the sixth floor. I had a massage there which was excellent. I can highly recommend. Breakfast was good and plentiful and I was very happy with it. I know other people who had problems with the hot water and fan etc and they seemed to be on the 1st floor. Those on the ground floor of the annexe appeared to have a much better experience. Puerto de Soller is a lovely place and the hotel is beautifully located. I would not want to stay in the annexe building again and I suggest visitors use the main hotel block when staying.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms in the annexe. They vary in quality. I was there with a large group and we had mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We recently cycled the island of Majorca in Spain and of the several hotels we stayed at, this was our favourite. The staff was friendly and the room views were outstanding. The room itself was the basic European / Spain type but very comfortable. This is not a luxury hotel but quite quaint and with an amazing location. It also had a nice dining room facing the sea, a patio facing the sea and little tables on the paved walkway in front of the hotel. The beach in front of the hotel was lovely and the little town was absolutely delightful. We would love to come back one day.

Room Tip: Ask the for 5th floor corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne,Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Stumbled on this hotel while looking for a 3 day break with adult children. It was perfect.It is in the best position in Port Soller walking straight out onto the beach. The rooms are small but nicely furnished in Mallorcan traditional fabric and the bathrooms have been renovated very recently I would think. The view is to die for. Breakfast was included in the room rate which was less than $100. It was a good continental breakfast with fairly average hot dishes included.It was certainly plentiful and included coffee and fresh juice.There were beach towels provided and umbrellas on the beach for free......with lots of sand....a relief to us Aussies!!There are plenty of day trips to take but a delightful old town just up the road so why bother?

Room Tip: Higher sea view rooms would be best I think.There was no noise when we were there
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Booked through Thomson holidays - the hotel has a stunning location - on a beautifully paved traffic free promenade, just yards from a gorgeous sandy beach. We knew we were allocated rooms in the annexe, which wasn't a problem, our rooms were clean and functional - the small fridge and air conditioning were most welcome. The areas we found disappointing were:
A) breakfast - the same food was served up for breakfast for the whole week we were there : scrambled eggs; fried sausages in garlic; hard boiled eggs; cheese slices and cooked meats; bread. Restaurant staff were very slow to clear tables -iat the evening meal, they seemed to concentrate more on waiting on the non residents who came to the restaurant for meals.
B) The cafe/bar staff were also extremely slow - it was not unusual to wait 30 mins for a waiter just to come to take your order in the afternoons and evenings.
The reception staff were quite curt - my husband went up to reception to ask a question and was brusquely told by the receptionist to "wait a minute!" Overall, I would not recommend the Hotel Marina to anyone.

Room Tip: Rooms in the annexe were fine - no complaints. I suspect that all the Thomson bookings were in the a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marina

Address: Paseo la Playa s/n | Puerto de Soller, 07108 Soller, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Soller
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Soller
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Soller
#14 Family Hotel in Soller
#17 Romantic Hotel in Soller
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marina Hotel has more than 75 years of experience as a family business. We pride ourselves on our friendly and personal service. Throughout several generations, our willingness to please has been rewarded by the loyalty of our guests.Our Hotel enjoys a unique and privileged position just in front of the sea and the beach separated only by a pedestrianised Promenade. Our splendid and quiet terrace makes an ideal setting for a lovely relaxed breakfast with magnificient views of the Bay. At night also, surrounded by candlelight this terrace provides the perfect location for a night at soft music and a chat. The completely renovated hotel has tree lifts, internet corner and hiking corner, reception, bar, one lounge with satellite television and video. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Hotel Soller
Hotel Marina Soller, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.