We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only 4 Stars?!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Esplendido Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Esplendido Hotel to your Saves list
Esplendido Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Es Traves 5, 07108 Soller, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Soller
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Only 4 Stars?!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I'm not the most experienced traveller at this end of the market but have absolutely no idea how this isn't classed as 5*! We'd stayed in Palma for four nights in a very nice hotel but everything was simply a level above when we came here. The attentiveness when we checked in created a great first impression and this was only enhanced throughout our stay. Usually I can find a hotel 'good' but there is always some area I'd think they could improve yet here I couldn't actually think of anything. If I'm being hyper-critical, it would have been nice to have some information about the local area in the lobby but then again, the reception were more than willing to talk us through any questions we had regarding excursions etc. Also, if you had mobility problems it might be difficult to get to the pool areas.

That aside (and the fact Port de Soller itself is very quiet so don't come looking for lively nights out), this is simply a fantastic place to stay.

One last point - it's worth staying here if only for the three-door lift. It felt like something out of Willy Wonka's factory.

Room Tip: We had a sea view room which would have been perfect for the sunset had we been in there at the time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    78
    16
    2
    1
See reviews for
124
238
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen Denmark
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
199 helpful votes 199 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Just spent our 7th summer at Esplendido Hotel. It is by far our favorite summer holiday destination.
This time was a bit different for us - we came as part of group of 11 people, ages ranging from 6 to 72. Everybody loved it. This hotel truly caters for every taste and age. Good food, lovely rooms, pool for kids, quiet pool for adults, excellent spa (did not try the treatments so cannot comment on quality of those, but the free-of-charge spa facilities are great - pool, steam bath, shower circle etc). Okay, the main pool is small and gets crowded, but we did not use it much - the sea is so lovely to swim in. No better start to the day than a morning swim in the bay before the impressive breakfast buffet, and nothing better to cool you down in the afternoon heat.
Staff is brilliant, but the best about this hotel is that everywhere you look it is just beautiful. The view of the bay is stunning. I can't wait to go again next year. I already miss falling asleep to the sound of the sea.

Room Tip: Sea view balcony or terrace, you will not regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Just came back after spending 10 nights at Esplendido. The hotel it just perfect; perfect location in charming Port de Soller, excellent food and service, great rooms with lovely interior. I just loved it. Its an excellent choice if you are traveling both as a couple or with children. In fact its one of the best hotel I ever stayed in.. You feel like you are staying in a 5 star hotel but you the price is like a 4 star hotel. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I wrote a review of the Esplendido last year, which has apparently been read by 700 of you. That explains in part why when I returned this year for our third year in a row, the hotel enjoyed full occupancy. Nothing has changed. The place is perfectly situated on the beach with great sea view rooms, the spa is perfect and relaxing, the treatments are refreshing, the food is very good (with room costs including a very well appointed breakfast) and its a family friendly hotel. The best part of the hotel is the staff who are friendly, caring and genuinely interested in making sure you have a great time. So should I be sharing this great find with you on TripAdvisor and risk that the place becomes too successful? Well, why not. It deserves your custom and you will not regret it, although I might regret it come next year when you want the same room as me. (Not telling the room number here). Enjoy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The staff are so friendly, rooms clean and comfortable and include a dvd player which was a bonus. No music festival blaring this time and our stay was perfect. The restaurant food was very good and the service much improved this year. Would really recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiltshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at this hotel, having spent the first night in Palma (late flight, so just wanted a hotel to flop in). We caught the train from Palma to Soller town. Lovely way to arrive. And took the old tram down to the beach. Again all part of the pleasure. The stop to get off at is the first stop on the promenade, not the second. Useful tip even though the walk is not far if you get it wrong. The location of the hotel is very good. The promenade is lovely to walk down, so you really are at the heart of things. We stayed in both standard garden terrace and standard sea view terrace rooms. Late booking meant we had to change rooms midway. The change was very well managed so don't worry if you have to do this too. Both rooms were lovely. At this time of year we actually preferred the garden one. Because it's gets boiling in the afternoon, and the sea view terrace was too hot to sit out on even with the shade down. Whereas the garden terrace was shady in the afternoon which was a delight. The view is obviously fabulous from the sea view room, but the price differential is steep. If you are on a budget don't hesitate to book garden rooms. There are plenty of public places to sit and admire the sea view. The rooms were very well appointed. You get same amenities whether you are in the garden room or the sea view room so again, go with your budget. The bath products were lovely and regularly replenished. First time I would be tempted not to take my own conditioner! You get free flipflops for the beach (which is stony). The beach is fine, but if you miss pure sand, turn left as you come out of the hotel. Walk 5 minutes and you reach public beach which is full on sand and clear water. We did both. Service was great in the hotel. Friendly, quick. All good. The bar is lovely, as is the restaurant. We ate there one night and had a great meal. It's not cheap, but no more expensive than the other non tapas restaurants we saw/ate at. If you want a cheaper meal, try the bars at the port end of the promenade. We had a very good meal at Cavas. Which was lighter on the wallet. The breakfast is outstanding. Really fabelous spread. Something for everyone. You can squeeze your own oranges if you want, for juice. The pools are great. We didn't use the family one because at this time of year it's pandemonium. But those with young kids seemed very happy with it. We headed for the pool at the top of the terracing (there are quite a few steps....). And it was calmer up there. The view is breathtaking over the side of the pool. We borrowed DVD's. There's a big choice and the TV system is very good. Internet connection was patchy whilst we were there but I haven't seen others complain about it so I think that it was down to a specific problem over the weekend. Clientele is elegant, loads of smart young families. Lots of different nationalities whilst we were there. We (being a couple in our early fifties) were impressed at how the hotel managed to cater for such a lot of families and yet keep the communal areas (other of course than the family pool) very cool and inviting for those of us who didn't have kids in tow. It was all very jolly, cool and romantic (not that easy to pull off that combo). We're already planning a return trip later in the year. As a complete aside, if you go up to the old town (which you must do because it's gorgeous) do visit the museum of contemporary art. It's tucked away in a beautiful old mansion. Their collection is very good. I think I liked as many pieces there as I would on an average visit to the Tate!

Room Tip: The amenities are the same in all rooms. So go with your budget. We preferred our garden terrace to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

It is in a prime position on the front of Porto Soller but the signposting is awful and the car park is 70 steps up from the 5th floor and impossible to find from the outside. Apart from that the rooms are clean white scandinavian in feel ( Swedish owners) with good air conditioning and the staff are a pleasant European mixture. The view across the harbour from the front rooms, many with balconies is memorable.

The famous Soller trams pass the front door and thankfully their amusing but clanging progress stops mid evening.

Two outside pools, the larger of which gets noisy. The higher smaller one is better but it is a hefty climb for older people like me. Good service for snacks and drinks.

Buffet breakfast is superb but the restaurant cooking for dinner is not of the same standard. So we went out to the restaurant Nuno close by which was excellent.

Room Tip: Go for the front with the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Esplendido Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplendido Hotel

Address: Es Traves 5, 07108 Soller, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Soller
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Soller
#5 Romantic Hotel in Soller
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Esplendido Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Esplendido Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplendido Hotel Soller, Majorca
Hotel Esplendido

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Esplendido Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.