We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun venue, but a little stressed!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Alvaro

Casa Alvaro
C.L. Vicario Pastor, 17, 07100 Soller, Majorca, Spain
+34 871 70 93 15
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 113 Restaurants in Soller
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: alvaro house is a place where you can enjoy a relaxing atmosphere and a variety of tapas and rice wine
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fun venue, but a little stressed!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This is a fun, casual place to eat. We were "drop-in" diners but were warmly greeted. It's quite an informal restaurant with high tables and high stools. The decor is minimal and the lighting very subdued. Most of the menu is written across one whole wall but unless you are on one side of the restaurant you cannot read it! However normal menus are also provided. The food was good but when my wife photographed the label of our wine (because we liked it and wanted to remember it) our waiter came down and advised us that the owner was very unhappy that we took the photograph and this was not allowed - he did go on about it more than necessary! Otherwise worth the visit.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    47
    13
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Upham
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous evening.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We originally had a light tapas lunch and were so impressed we came back for dinner on Sunday 15 September.We were not disappointed.Again the tapas were briliant and the rabbit dish is superb.However for dinner we had a number of tapas all of which were great and the suckling lamb one of the house specialities was fabulous.The restaurant is tucked away down a side street from the main square but should not be missed.

The staff are very attentive and the owner is so enthusiastic it is infectious.

The white wine we enjoyed tremendously.

All in all a really enjoyable evening and very good value for money.

We would recommend a visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“great place for lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

we went there on 3 occasions as the food was so good and reasonably priced.
Havel was a great chef and his staff were very attentive.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic and a great chef”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This little place is fully deserving of its rise up the Soller rankings. Had a wonder Arroz con Calamares at lunch. The chef is a great guy who loves and cares for his food. The staff are equally caring. Es Faro in the port could and should go there for lessons. A real treat at a good price.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guildford
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“delicious food, friendly staff, a little slow to serve”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We visited with our two children aged 9 and 11. We sat outside on bar stools and enjoyed the atmosphere and delicious food. Avoid the anchovies - we were rather suprised they were from a tin but all the other dishes were a special treat.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Alvaro also viewed

 
 

Been to Casa Alvaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Alvaro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.