We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tapas at its best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Alvaro

Casa Alvaro
C.L. Vicario Pastor, 17, 07100 Soller, Majorca, Spain
+34 871 70 93 15
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 113 Restaurants in Soller
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: alvaro house is a place where you can enjoy a relaxing atmosphere and a variety of tapas and rice wine
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Tapas at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

What a hidden gem! We wandered off the square one night to see what options we might find for dinner. We liked the look of Casa Alvaro and booked an al fresco table, but when we returned there had been a double booking. No trouble as the wonderful chef, manager & owner (Alvaro?) set about resolving the issue and brought out another table especially for us. (Tip: very limited out door seating, so do book ahead if that's your preference)

The tapas menu is extensive and every dish we sampled was absolutely delicious (a number of vegetarian options too, which are not abundant in the area). The waitress suggested a very reasonably priced wine to us and was quick to say if we didn’t like it she would change it, no problem. There was no need; it was every bit as delicious as the food.

The waiter and waitress both offered exemplary service which added to our dining experience. Alvaro himself is clearly passionate in both his work and his establishment; he took time to engage with us and personally delivered some of the dishes to our table. My absolute favourite restaurant in the area and reasonably priced (50euro for two inc wine). I implore you to visit – it is truly fantastic. The only downside was that we didn’t discover it until the last night of our holiday… but now we have another great reason to return to Soller one day!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    47
    13
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Soller's star!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Just back from a break in Soller and there is no doubt this is the finest food in both Soller and the Port. The seafood tapas is magnificent and very reasonably priced. I've never seen navajas for €5! There is no comparison between casa alvara and other tapas spots in Soller. The service is also very good; friendly and enthusiastic, conveying a real passion for food. Like others who fear this place becoming too popular I was reluctant to post a review, but Casa Alvara really deserves it! Enjoy.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenrothes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“best tapas ever!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

this was a great find when wandering the side streets of Soller. the food was freshly cooked to order and was presented to the table by the chef. the chef also recommended very good wines to compliment the food. the desserts were delicious and very well presented.i would certainly return to Casa Alvaro when in Soller and would highly recommend this tapas restaurant to all visitors to Soller.
sheila & martin o'donnell

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice Tapas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We visited this restaurant on 2 occasions during our stay in Soller. The tapas was very good but I found the paella to be a little disappointing.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pontypridd
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Excellent Tapas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We hunted out this restaurant after searching for local Tapas Restaurants on trip advisor and we were not disappointed. The restaurant is away from the main square of Soller and has quite a relaxed feel about it. It is next door to Ca'n Pintxo and originally we thought it was all part of the same restaurant. Casa Alvaro however has high chairs and tables and the menus are written on the table stand. On arrival the owner took our drinks orders and recommended a wine for me based on what I liked to drink and got it completely spot on. We had a few different tapas over the course of the evening with a few drinks and thoroughly enjoyed our meal especially the steak flanks with humus which was fantastic. The service was attentive without being too much.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Alvaro also viewed

 
 

Been to Casa Alvaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Alvaro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.