We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average food but expensive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante El Balear

Restaurante El Balear
C/ Santa Catalina 14 | 07108 Port De Soller, Soller, Majorca, Spain
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 113 Restaurants in Soller
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Telephone +34 971 63 15 24. Closed Wednesdays.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Very average food but expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This restaurant is one of three or four sitting on top of a little road overlooking the harbour. They are enjoying one of the best positions in the town and maybe therefore do not need to try too hard on the food. It's was all very average and I would not rush to come back. Also a very unpleasant smell of urine coming from the front of the harbour. This is obviously not the restaurant's fault but nevertheless not very nice

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    11
    4
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent fish in a lovely setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

In particular the squid - chiperones - were top class. Good service, unobtrusive, friendly and efficient. Steak well cooked.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good food but sour taste”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We ate here at the end of our holiday in Puerto Soller just before going to catch our flight. The outside tables are situated over the small road and overlooking the harbour. Lovely spot. The waitress serving us was very helpful and selected excellent wine for us to have with our meal. Unfortunately, she left before we had finished and we were served by an efficient but not as cheerful waiter.

The food was very good and reasonably priced. Much better than other tapas we had had just meters from this restaurant.

However, when we left we left the money on the table and also our mobile phone by mistake. The waiter watched us go and went to collect the money. We did not notice the phone was missing until we had reached the plane by then too late to go back. We eventually got in touch with the waitress the next day who was very sorry to hear of the problem but said no one had seen the phone. Whilst i am not saying anyone at the restaurant was to blame i was surprised to hear that it had not been spotted when we left.

I would recommend the food but make sure you keep an eye on your phone, camera etc when on the seats outside.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsingborg
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“OK lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We had small squid and grilled fish for lunch. Very simple presentation on the plates. Taste good (the taste of fresh fish, nothing else), not overwhelming. A bit too expensive for so simple food. Service good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
369 reviews 369 reviews
285 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 167 cities Reviews in 167 cities
497 helpful votes 497 helpful votes
“Good Family Run Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

We ate here on 04/07/2011. Starters of Padron Peppers and choco.s (small fried squids) were spot on. I had hake a la plancha for a main course, and my wife had fried hake. The hake a la plancha was marginally better than the fried. With a modest wine, we paid about €50. Portions were generous, service was friendly and we had an enjoyable meal overlooking the port.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante El Balear also viewed

 

Been to Restaurante El Balear? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante El Balear, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.