We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic find in Soller!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kopitiam - CLOSED

Kopitiam
Carrer de sa Lluna, 81, 07100 Soller, Majorca, Spain
+34 971 633669
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $18 - $37
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, Malaysian, Nonya
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Kopitiam specializes in traditional Malaysian artisan cuisine made with the best market produce, served in a relaxed and pleasant atmosphere, and all at an affordable price.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
212 helpful votes 212 helpful votes
“A fantastic find in Soller!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

This place is superb. If you are keen to have a change from traditional Mallorcan fare or tapas this place ticks all the boxes. The food is fresh and extremely tasty with a small but varied menu. They also do a great value lunch offer.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    14
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Refreshing change”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We have intended to visit this restaurant before but never got around to it with so many other good places to re-visit and eat, but this trip was long enough to find us fancying a bit of a change. The food was perfect. Our visit was a little late so most of the starters we might have chosen had gone - this turned out to be a stroke of luck because instead the 3 of us decided to share a range of main courses - ribs, beef rendang, wontons and green chicken curry - with some plain rice and noodles. The flavours of each dish were fresh, distinct and very tasty - as were the chocolate chilli and passionfruit icecream. Some interesting and reasonable mallorcan wines too, but also Cobra beer.The courtyard was a surprisingly nice setting - you would not guess it was even there looking in from the street. The owner makes no secret that the restaurant can only cope with smallish numbers, as he runs it with his wife, but the answer is probably to go a little early in anticipation of a bit of a wait and just chill - it's not a buzzy place, but calm and relaxing. Yes, we could hear next door's TV - but this is Soller, which has a life of it;s own going on all around you, not an artificial tourist resort. It made us smile that food and service of this quality can be delivered in what is basically someone's back yard! We will definitely be going back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Delightful ambience and delicious food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We visited recently and glad we made the effort to find this restaurant away from the hustle and bustle of the main square. As others have said, it is good to have something different and we were not disappointed.
The green Thai chicken curry was fabulous and tasted so fresh, it is making my mouth water just to think of it!
All the dishes were of a high standard and it is evident that a lot of care goes into the food.
I would certainly recommend this to anyone staying in the area.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A welcome change from tapas!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I love tapas but was craving something a little different. We came across this place by chance and had the most delicious thai curries I have tasted. The owner was attentive and welcoming and the courtyard was welcoming and cosy. I really enjoyed the meal and thought it was great value for money.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A tough call”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

The location is great and the food was lovely but... It feels mean to say this as a lot of effort goes into running any restaurant - probably more than is manageable by two people alone. There were only 4 tables in the little courtyard and the host seemed to struggle to keep up with the orders. The atmosphere/external decor was a bit too unembellished for my tastes and I found the upstairs neighbours' TV choices a bit intrusive! There were quite a few tables inside but, given the apparent anxiety caused by the arrival of a 5th party, I'm not sure how they could have been serviced without a third person on the staff. The food was very tasty and beautifully presented but, with a small selection of Asian goods available to buy, including noodles, how could the kitchen have run out of them?

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kopitiam, Propietario at Kopitiam, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
We are glad that you enjoyed our food.

We would like to clarify one point; the TV noise that you complain about came from our neighbours (the next-door house, not upstairs as you state). It is unfortunately beyond our control.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kopitiam also viewed

 
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kopitiam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.