We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Limited menu” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Es Canyis

Restaurant Es Canyis
Passeig Platja d'en Repic 32, 07108 Soller, Majorca, Spain
971 63 14 06
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 113 Restaurants in Soller
Price range: $23 - $51
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Scotland
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
“Limited menu”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We had tried here last year only to be beaten by the weather, just as our food was served a massive downpour came on, instead of rushing us inside (where there were plenty of tables), they put up umbrellas which caused rain to drip on us and our food to go cold.
This year, having a warm dry night, we thought we would try again.....if you love fish you'll have no problem with this menu.....for us meat eaters (who don't fancy veal) the choice is limited.
To start I had snails, expecting 8-10 served as in France, well I got about 30, hot shells and with only tooth picks to eat with, definitely a no-no.
For the mains 2 of us had chicken in almond sauce, it was only ok, lukewarm, nothing special, one had duck and asked them to hold the rasperry sauce, this was not done, the 4 th person had the special fish, was only ok.
To sum up, if you love fish, go here.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    30
    16
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire, England
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“Excellent Paella, great views.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We have eaten at Es Canyis before and thoroughly enjoyed the grilled mixed fish. This time, we chose the fish and seafood paella. It was definitely the best paella that we have had in Mallorca. We washed it down with a good bottle of Muga Crianza. The best tables are those with the sea views. We would recommend!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very nice food, do try dessert!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We visited twice in our week in Soller, and the restaurant served wellcooked fresh fish both times. Service was fine, situation by the beach perfect. Best of all was the dessert, I have posted a pic, truly beautiful and smooth tasting. Well recommended, but you pay for the quality.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Very good Mallorcan food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Es Canyis is a long standing restaurant in the Port at the side of Repic beach. It is quite a traditional restaurant, producing high quality typical food. Service is good, and the food is always of a good standard, particularly the fish and suckling pig.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Mallorcin seafood in a new style”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

The restaurant is situated next to the beach front in Puerto de Soller, but not as informal as the others in that area. You will find here tables with thick cloths, old fashioned waiters, a very varied wine list and Mallorca dishes some of them with a modern twist.
We have been there on several occasions – last we enjoyed the famous Soller shrimps, which they serve in large portions.
My wife had a salad with bacon and nuts – she found that somewhat to heavy to really enjoy.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Es Canyis also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant Es Canyis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Es Canyis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.