We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ab Fab” 5 of 5 stars
Review of GR221

GR221
Plaza Major, 9, 07460 Pollenca, Majorca, Spain
+34-971533258
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 57 Restaurants in Pollenca
Price range: $12 - $35
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish, Contemporary, International
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
algra
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Ab Fab”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Wenthere based on TA reviews and they are not wrong !
Travelled up from the Port mid afternoon to have a look around ,as a result we ate early the square is beautiful with a lot of good competition. No starters apart from the bread and olives
Mains were the Tuna and a huge burger! Both very tasty.
With a bottle of Mallocan wine , coffee and water the bill was 60 euro.
However it was the service that set this place apart. I was with my elderly mother and although she is pretty fit she has terrible eyesight. The head waiter could see we would struggle getting her to the toilets. On both occasions he gave us his key for the lift and generally helped make sure she was safe ,he was rushed of his feet at the time and his help and manner were greatly appreciated

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    22
    8
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant, great food reasonably priced and a brilliant Romanian head waiter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012 via mobile

We had a great meal. The restaurant tables were all occupied but the head waiter reserved one for us when it became free. Reasonably priced. Great atmosphere made even better by the Romanian head waiter who had a great sense of humour. Would eat here again any day.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“No complaints here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

27 June. We arrived at a busy time without a reservation. We were a party of 8.and when I asked the head waiter if it would be possible to have a table he could not have been more helpful. His Emglish was excellent and he explained the menu to us as well as recommending some excellent inexpensive Majorcan wine. The food was beautifully presented and obviously freshly prepared and cooked which explains why some other customers thought the service was slow. Both the head waiter and the waitress as well as being extremely efficient and professional were very friendly and made a fuss of the children. This was a perfect evening and we will certainly return.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“God save the shoulder of lamb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

The best shoulder of lamb I've ever eaten. Tasty and perfectly cooked. The sea bass for my wife was also very good. The waiter recommended Pannacotta Mint for dessert, which wasn't on the menu, and we were not disappointed. The wine list is short, but the house wine is more than enough (Mallorcan wine!). Good service and perfect location in the main square

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antrim
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“The rudest and most arrogant head waiter I have ever encountered!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We arrived here as two couples and a four yr old boy for an evening drink. As soon as we took our seats, the head waiter without a word to us swiftly removed the table cover. (Everyone else had their cover on the table). When we gave our drinks order he didnt smile or say a word. The service of the drinks then was as bad. We asked for food menu and he grunted no in effect to us. He obviously had a problem but we couldnt figure out what it was. We felt so uncomfortable and i have never had such rudeness from a Spainish waiter as they are amongst the best you could hope for especially when families are involved.
We asked for another drink and were left sitting without hope of getting it. We got that fed up we decided the only way to get their attention was to leave and just leave on the table what we thought the bill would be. And suddenly when we were walking away he decided to come over to us and challenge us for leaving. His rudeness knew no bounds. One of our friends got that frustrated with him he threw the five euro we owed at him and it fell to the floor.
A waiter like this has no place in what is otherwise a great place to eat and have a drink. I wouldnt say any other place you would find this type of service but we avoided it the rest of the holiday.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Gerente at GR221, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
my name is Joan, I'm the manager of GR221 restaurant. As I said to another client who has done one review in the same direction, I will take all measures so that it doesn't happen again, until the last consequences. It is intolerable that the Head waiter has been treated you in this way and I can assure you that it will not recur. All staff have the order to serve any customer alike, both those who come to dinner as those who come only for a drink.
We are a family company established in Pollença since 1907, and I assure you that the care to detail and friendliness with customers has always been the basis of our daily work. Even taking into account your bad experience with us, if you visit again Pollença I would be very grateful if you can visit me to be able to apologise personally.
With best regards,
Joan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed GR221 also viewed

Pollenca, Majorca
Pollenca, Majorca
 
Pollenca, Majorca
Pollenca, Majorca
 

Been to GR221? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GR221, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.