We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recreation in a lovely atmosphere with good laughs” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Son Borguny

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Son Borguny to your Saves list
Son Borguny
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   CL Son Borguny, 1, 07191 Banyalbufar, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Banyalbufar B&B and Inns
Berlin, Germany
1 review
“Recreation in a lovely atmosphere with good laughs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed at this Hotel for eight days and every single day we were happy to be Penny's (owner) guests. Penny and her Team/ Family are very lovely and from the first second you feel like home. It's Penny and the friendly atmosphere which makes this Hotel unique!
Our room and bathroom was huge and we had enough space for everything. The Hotel and the rooms are clean, which is very important for me. The breakfast was a perfect start in the day: fresh fruits, tomatoes, jam, ham, cheese, joghurt, white/ dark bread, cake, delicious eggs in different variations, coffee, juice, .... There was no buffet and so every guests got her/ his individual breakfast - I loved it! The Restaurant was very good, too. They have some delicious local wines there.
Banyalbufar is a great place for vacation. The nature is stunning and you can start hicking at the Hotel, go for a swim, plan daytrips or you stay in the village. Do not come without a car. You can park for free at the Hotel.
I highly recommend this Hotel and I am sure that I will be back some day :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
58
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Olney, Maryland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We arrived to the town of Banyalbufar (west side of Mallorca). The ride up the coastal area was beautiful.

Entering the town, where the streets are very narrow, we discovered our hotel was located on the top of the hill. Penny the owner of the hotel greeted us and showed us the off-street parking. The hotel number is registered as Borguny 1, but the hotel maintains the original house number of 16.

Internet was available and worked during our 3-day stay. Our room faced the water and every morning the beautiful sunlight streamed into our room.

Breakfast was included in the price of the hotel. Eggs to order, bread, fruit, cold-cuts and cheese were offered each morning. The fresh coffee was great. We enjoyed sitting outside on the terrace, people watching - locals are very friendly.

Evening meals were offered for an extra 20-25EUROs, which included a 4-course meal. On Wednesday night they offer entertainment (local singer).

Hiking trails and local beach areas are clearly marked. This is truly a beautiful place to include in your Mallorca travel.

Room Tip: Owner's accommodate dietary restrictions. We do not eat meat, so they offered us more vegetable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Hi everybody,
We just came back from a very little village called Banyalbufar on the west coast of Mallorca.
If you are having doubts about if you should go or not to Banyalbufar, that´s a no-brainer... GO! What a beautiful little place on the mountains, right along the sea! So now that you know you are going to Banyalbufar, here´s another no-branier -- stay at Son Borguny!

It's a beautiful rustic-style hotel attended by its very owner -- the very helpful and always eager to make you feel like home, Penny.
The room we stayed at, after a free upgrade because it was our honey moon (thanks again Penny!), was absolutely beautiful. Very tastefully ornamented and decorated and super clean, big comfy bed, couch, desk, TV,... more than you need, really.
Breakfast was excellent and abundant; really good coffee, different kinds of bread, croissants, ham, cheese, different jams, muesli, fruits, eggs, tomatoes... you name it... and Penny would offer you to have more and more... -- I don't know about you guys, but I really enjoy when I can have a biiiig (already paid for) breakfast and the go hiking for the rest of the day without having to stop for lunch. :)
They also have a restaurant, which is very reasonably priced and serve great food! I had the Mallorquin Special, a four terrific dishes meal for 20 Euros.

What else can I tel you guys? When it comes to the question of "Do I stay in a concrete/glass monster hotel owned by some group of investors, or to a little "really homey" hotel attended by its owner?" the answer is quite simple to me.

Hope you find this helpful.
Cheers

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de mallorca
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent a great weekend at the Hotel Son Borguny which is placed in Banyalbufar, one of the tiniest but beautiful villages in Mallorca. The hotel is very cosy. It is a restored building whose rooms are decorated with different themes. We stayed at the room called "sol" ubicated in the top floor with an amazing sea view. When I was laying on the bed i could see the sea as I was in a cruise! Furthermore, the hotel has a restaurant where we tasted kobe beef burger, it was delicious. We had a glass of red mallorcan wine called Pere Seda, also very recommended. The staff was very kind and helpful as well. The breakfast was so good, with typical products of mallorca. the owner of the hotel recommended us to do some excursions so we did one which goes from Banyalbufar to Port des canonge. It takes less than three to do the whole excursion. We definitely will come back to Son Borguny Hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed in Son Burguny in Easter 2011 - I meant to write a review earlier but just never had the time (sorry Penny). We came to hike the many trails that are in the area. We did not want to stay in a glass and concrete tower like the type of standard hotels you may find in Majorca.

We chose Son Burguny because of its beautiful quaint setting and structure (some of it is 300 years old) and because of the excellent reviews it received. We were not disappointed - Penny the owner is really friendly and welcoming and each room is very individual. Our stay was really relaxing and we enjoyed wonderful breakfasts and a spectacular paella that Penny cooked one night.

If you want a quiet place that is different and really relaxing we highly recommend Son Burguny. Paul & Eva

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, UK
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Son Borguny is a very attractive and individual hotel in the coastal village of Banyalbufar. I stayed in a top floor room (Malvasia) facing the front, which was very comfortable and characterful - rather rustic in style but in a good way, with large bathroom and a little dressing room in between. From what I could see all rooms are individual and differently furnished. The owner (Penny) is very welcoming and speaks good English.

The food was also very good with quite a few options on the evening menu. This was fortunate as I don't think there was anywhere else open in Banyalbufar - there are several restaurants but they seemed to close for January.

I didn't use the car park as access is very tight, but there was plenty of parking in the village (with an uphill walk to the hotel).

I noticed that noise carried from downstairs and from other rooms - the hotel was quiet when I was there, but I suspect this could be a problem if it's busy.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gosport
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Would stay here again any time.Food great,views and surroundings beautiful,hosts and staff,friendly and funny.We stayed in la Luna on the top floor with the bathroom down a flight of stairs which meant lights on to visit at night but the views of the sunsets from up there are worth it.Penny parked our car for us on the first night after which we parked in the village which is actually no hard ship as it is only about 300 yards away,

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Son Borguny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Son Borguny

Address: CL Son Borguny, 1, 07191 Banyalbufar, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Banyalbufar
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Banyalbufar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Son Borguny 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Escapio, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Son Borguny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Son Borguny Banyalbufar, Majorca, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Son Borguny, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.