We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Van Buren-Ft Smith Area to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Van Buren-Ft Smith Area
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1637 N. 12th Court, GPS: 2001 East Pointer Trail, Van Buren, AR 72956   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Van Buren
Rotonda West
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Great facilities, service, and breakfast. Would definitely stay there again. Desk staff really accomodated our family staying in rooms close to one another. The facility is clean, neat, and well maintained. We truly enjoyed our stay. Desk clerk Alberta was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBNES, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Van Buren-Ft Smith Area, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
We really appreciate the comments about our hotel and staff that you made on your review of our hotel. Our priority is our guests and we try to do our best to make sure that everyone's stay is the best it can be. Again, thank you very much for your review. Have a great Day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    28
    13
    1
    2
See reviews for
37
29
4
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bude, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

we picked the Van Beuren hotel quite by accident being from overseas and were very pleased we did. Straight run into Fort Smith and the historical sites only around 10 minutes and Van Beuren itself is lovely with antiques coffee shops and restaurants and many historic buildings.
The hotal is situated walking distance from a multiplex movie theatre and restaurants only a short drive away. Quiet off the main road and welcoming I recommend it.

Room Tip: any room would be OK here although we do always ask to be situated away from the elevator and ice ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Spent the weekend here in early June 2013. Like most Holiday Inn Expresses, this one is great. Fairly new property. The location is a little off the beaten path, but that adds to the niceness. The location is very quiet. It is next door to a theater and another hotel, but other than that, it is just across the street from a residential area. The theater is on the east, and a Catholic Church on the west. The residential is a couple of hundred yards to the south. It is close to the interstate, but no so much that you hear traffic. It is just very quiet. The rooms are standard Holiday Inn Express type rooms, but they are very very clean. A must for me. The staff was quite nice and helpful. The location is just a few blocks from restaurants and stores. Just a great place. The bed was just great. I have back problems and it was great for my back. Not too hard, not too soft. It was just right. Breakfast was usual for HIE, but again, I like their breakfasts. You cannot go wrong with this property.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conyers, Georgia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

This holiday inn express is 5 min. From interstate and right beside large movie theater. This was our second visit to this hotel. But this time we brought our golden doodle duke. The hotel offers plenty of run around space and the room was plenty big for a crate. There is a great ice cream place called braums around the corner, as well as a sonic and wendys. The offer a great breakfast, nice pool and clean modern rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryant, AR
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

By no means is this a bad hotel. I travel all over the state of Arkansas, and I have stayed in much, much worse. There was (or I should say, is...I'm still here as I'm typing this) a mix of good and bad. For me, though, the bad outweighs the good.

The good: All of the staff I've encountered have been very friendly and helpful. The front desk staff checked me in a little early, which I appreciated, and every time I've walked past the desk the attendant has greeted me and asked how I was doing. The hotel is clean and in a nice spot - convenient to the freeway (but not bothered by freeway noise), retail and restaurants. There's even a movie theater adjacent to the property. Beds are comfortable with lots of pillows. The flat screen tv with some digital channels is nice, too. AC works great. The room is very spacious and open (I am in a two-queen non-smoking room).

The bad: Most of these are probably just pet peeves of mine when I travel, so you may not place much weight on these inconveniences. I do. (1) There is no refigerator or microwave in the room (although a microwave is available for use in the lobby). In this day and age, nearly every property has this feature; not here. My wife is diabetic and has to keep her inuslin cooled, so this is always an important feature for us; luckily, she comes prepared, so we have a backup plan, but this is still an annoying inconvenience. It also prevents us from buying food and keeping it in the room, forcing us to spend more money on eating out. (2) There is no seating in the room (with the exception of the desk chair). As I mentioned previously, the room is very big. There is plenty of room for a chair and ottoman or a small loveseat. I hate sitting in bed, and desk chairs are not the most comfortable. The lack of a place to sit and relax is a major sore spot for me. (3) There is no ice machine on my floor (the fourth). This drives me crazy. I have to keep ice in the room because there is no refrigerator (see #1 above), and now I have to keep running downstairs to the third floor to get ice. Very frustrating. (4) The room is poorly lit. While there is a nice, big window to allow sun in, there is only a single light by the beds that just does not put out a lot of light - not sure if it's due to a low wattage bulb or a darker than average lampshade. Regardless, it's a little difficult to read in bed - one of my wife's favorite activities. (5) Breakfast this morning was simply not good. There was a fine variety of items, and perhaps the other items I did not sample were better, but the biscuits were hard and dry, the sausage was flavorless and for the first time ever at a Holiday Inn Express, the cinnamon rolls were hard as a brick. I ate at 8:30, so it wasn't like I came down at the end of the breakfast. Very disappointing.

Like I said, there was a mix of good and bad. But the bad was just too much for me to recommend this property with any real conviction. You won't have a bad stay here at all, but you could certainly have a better stay at other properties nearby (like the Hampton Inn).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Van Buren-Ft Smith Area, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear RoosterHogburn,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. It is pleasing to know that you found our staff to be friendly. However, please accept my apologies though that you found this visit to be less than your expectations most especially with the condition of the room you were given and breakfast not being up to par. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Despite your disappointment, I do hope you will return to stay with us again at some future date when you can be assured of our very best attention.

Regards,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs Village, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We had called for three rooms and had a discount offer. Jessica helped us at the front desk and had our rooms at the advertised price. Great rooms, very clean and bathroom stocked. Tyler helped us check out and we plan to return again. Only downside were the breakfast omelets. Dry and tough, but everything else on breakfast menu was very good.

Room Tip: Get a discount coupon from the Arkansas Welcome Center 6 miles to the Oklahoma border. Well worth th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aztec, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I came into Van Buren on a business trip, and was greeted by Kyndie at your hotel. She was friendly and very professional, knew the area well, and got me a nice room with a great deal with no complications. I would definitely influence more people to stay at this hotel if presented with the opportunity.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Van Buren-Ft Smith Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Van Buren-Ft Smith Area

Address: 1637 N. 12th Court, GPS: 2001 East Pointer Trail, Van Buren, AR 72956
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arkansas > Van Buren
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Van Buren
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Van Buren-Ft Smith Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the New Holiday Inn Express & Suites-Van Buren-Ft. Smith Area, AR. We are excited to be your premier hotel while staying in Van Buren and the Fort Smith Area. You will find all the comforts of home and the Stay Smart programs you are use to having. That means Staying Smart and enjoying the free hot breakfast as well as free high-speed wired and wireless Internet. Our hotel was built with you in mind, that means convenience items such as guest laundry, free local phone calls, and not to mention spacious rooms with extra outlets to hold all those special items such as phone chargers and those MP3 players! We are also convenient to local shopping and downtown. We are just a few miles from the Crawford County Speedway and Lake Lou Emma. Just a few more miles down the road and you will be at White Rock Mountain. Who says you can t mix business with pleasure or just stay for the wonderful service! Our Business guests will be happy with the extra space and traveler conveniences as well as being convenient to local business such as Summit Medical Hospital, Innovation Utility Products, Magna Form Corp, and Garner Abattoir & Meat Processing. All are located within 3 miles of the hotel. Might as well walk and get your exercise and save on gas! So Stay Smart and enjoy all the conveniences you trust and know from the Holiday Inn Express & Suites-Van Buren-Ft. Smith Area. We look forward to your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Van Buren-Ft Smith Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Van Buren-Ft Smith Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.