We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent big family celebration” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Topli val

Topli val
Trg Svobode 1 | Hotel Hvala, Kobarid, Slovenia
05/ 389 93 00
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 15 Restaurants in Kobarid
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Devon
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Excellent big family celebration”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

We were celebrating a 60th birthday with four around that age and eight 20 - 30year olds. We were made very welcome. The drinks and wines were good, and we were able to go "off menu" on our choices of food - and that was very good too. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    17
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Old style fish place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

As for many years the Hvala Family keeps the tradition of very good fish restauran.
Starters were excellent, wine collectoin good.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Royal platter at the mountains”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Excellent seafood menu with "plat royale", which can compete in taste with the ones from southern France. Good selection of local wines. Friendly service. It's almost hard to believe that this restaurant is located in a small town in the Soca Valley. IMHO one of the best restaurants in Slovenia.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Personalized service and excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I'll admit, it was a quiet night at the restaurant, but nothing but pride of ownership could explain the excellent service, food, and experience to which the proprietor treated us. If you go to Kobarid, this would be a must and plan on a full, special evening.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“One of the best meals I had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I had a venison dish that was off-the-hook. The meal was not terribly inexpensive but the food was worth it. The service was really good, the wine local, and the food perfect.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Topli val also viewed

Kobarid, Slovenian Littoral Region
Kobarid, Slovenian Littoral Region
 
Kobarid, Slovenian Littoral Region
Kobarid, Slovenian Littoral Region
 

Been to Topli val? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Topli val, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.