We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Treacy's Hotel

Save Saved
You added Treacy's Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Treacy's Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Templeshannon | Enniscorthy, Enniscorthy Co Wexford, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Enniscorthy
None of anyones business
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Only OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night as part of a group. The rooms are basic and clean with a nice bathroom. The phone in the room was broken as was the bathroom side light and beside lamp. The food was good. The staff are in general very friendly and helpful, however, I did see a barman spit his chewing gum into his hand, then put it in the bin and then he served drinks without washing his hands! The noise from the street and people on our floor meant sleep was almost non-existent.
I wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: If you want to sleep ask for a room at the back of the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreacysHotel, Manager at Treacy's Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Eimear,

Thank you for taking the time to put your review of Treacys Hotel Enniscorthy on trip advisor. I was very dissapointment that you would not stay with us again. The Hotel has 3 Entertainment Venues with Live Bands 7 Nights a week and 3 venues with entertainment at the weekend, unforunately the hotel can be slightly noisy due to all the Entertainment provided to guests.

Thank you for your comment about our staff memeber and we have taken appropriate action with training to all staff to ensure this does not happen again.

Thank you again for all comments.

Angela Devitt
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    150
    87
    26
    20
    44
See reviews for
55
74
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed here for four nights. The staff were warm, friendly and helpful. The room was clean and cosy.The food was delicious,plentiful and well presented.There were a wide range of facilities within the hotel.The only downside was the fire alarm going off during the night and the surrounding area was a little scruffy. However, taking everything into consideration I would recommend the hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We have just come home from a 5 day, 4 night stay at Tracy's, On arival, our bags were taken to our rooms, the room was wonderfull, big, roomy, clean, and warm.The staff were friendly, helpfull and fun.
The food was good, plenty of, well served, and nicley prosented.
In all, I would have no troble recomending this hotel to friends.
Just one downside Im sure they will sort , 2am calls on the Fire Alarm, this was a big problem.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreacysHotel, Manager at Treacy's Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Quietl,

Thank you for your lovely comments about our Hotel and Staff members we pride ourselves on our staff and the facilities the hotel offer.

I would like to apologise for the alarm going off at 2am, it was an ESB Electric fault in the local area and it was our safety backup kicking in to over-ride the problem.

I hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Angela Devitt
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I would like to thanks all the staff, reception bar and restaurant, for making my birthday weekend so good. They can not do enough for you in this hotel. Everyone in our group had a brilliant time and have all said they will be back again. Food was lovely and entertainment was brilliant. If you are looking for great place to go for the weekend then Treacy's is it. Cant wait for our return trip, thanks again xxx

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreacysHotel, Public Relations Manager at Treacy's Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Tara,

I was so delighted to get your review to hear you enjoyed your 40th Birthday. Treacys Hotel Enniscorthy is the perfect venue for Birthdays with 3 Entertainment Venues under the one roof with entertainment from live bands, Dj's and nightclub to choose from we have something to suit everyone.

I look forward to seeing you in the near future, see our great specials on our website at the moment.

Kind regards

Angela Devitt
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We had a great time in Treacys hotel for our hens weekend, rooms were clean and the staff could not do enough for us, they look after us very well. food and enterainment was fantastic and our HEN had the time of her life. Thanks to all the staff, Bar, both restaurants and hotel for your good work, i would denfinately reccommend this hotel for hens and Stags.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreacysHotel, Manager at Treacy's Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on tripadvisor about Treacys Hotel. We aim to please and especially the hen herself, with great music, entertainment in a choice of Venues and lots of activities to choose from it is a great venue. Thanks again for taking the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We have just returned from an organised coach tour and stayed at Treacy's hotel for four nights, we found the staff in both the restaurant and bar excellent very friendly and accommodating. Room was large and clean with both bath and shower in the large bathroom housekeeping cleaned and changed towels every day, food was well cooked and plenty of choice. Entertainment in the bar was excellent with local trio's duo's singing Irish folk songs which certainly kept everyone's feet tapping and the occasional irish dance from the locals the atmosphere was great...........
Only negative was the price of the wine we ordered with dinner at €28 for a bottle of rose we thought was a little steep -- euro vs pound rates are not very good but we did not have to pay that amount whilst holidaying in Spain at a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreacysHotel, Manager at Treacy's Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on Treacys Hotel Wextord about your stay. I am delighted to hear you had a great time and the Entertainment was good, Just with regards to the wine €28 is one of the wines at our higher prices and our house wines are a lot cheaper, we try and keep the quality of our wine to a similar quality of the food served in the hotel. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

My experience staying at Treacy’s Hotel was very negative the only upside was the leisure centre that was across the road. On arriving to the Hotel we went to the bar to get drinks whilst they were tidying the room as check in was at 3. As my tummy was upset, I got a brandy from the bar, this was served in a dirty glass. When I showed the glass to the lady serving ,she looked shocked that I complained but did go and get a clean glass for me. She then poured the contents from the dirty glass to the clean glass – this I felt was unacceptable but set the standard for our stay, which was 3 nights.
Once housekeeping passed the inspection of our room we went to same. The smell of urine in the bathroom was intense and pubic hair in the bath was unacceptable. Our room was not hovered in the 3 days.
We ventured down one night to the Thai restaurant and whilst there were 2 other couples dining we were landed beside one couple. I asked if we could have a little more privacy but was only offered one of two tables. We opted for the table away from the main entrance door and the table we got was right at the exit door which was blocked. My chair sat on the mat you wipe your feet, when asked to move we were told no. The restaurant was practically empty so I don’t know why they would not shift us, normally we would leave but we had bought a special deal wherby we got a voucher if we spent so many nights in the hotel towards a meal. I actually thought it was illegal to put a table by the exit doors.
When leaving the hotel after our 3 days stay I spoke to the manager and told her about our stay and what we encourtered! She was very nice and told me that she would speak to the manager and that same would be addressed within 24hours. It took a month for the manager to phone me back and this was after I sent him a reminder email. The managers response was that he was sorry but all he could do was offer us a room the next time we stay at a reduced rate which I think was €60. To be honest I don’t know how it got a 3 star rating, It only deserves one star. If it obvious that the owner really does not care about his guests and his standards are low and reflected throughout the hotel. I would not stay in this hotel again nor could I recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreacysHotel, Owner at Treacy's Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
In Response to your review on Trip Advisor, I was aware of your conversation with our General Manager who informed me that he had spoken to you and unless we gave a complimentary weekend, which you were going to give to one of your clients, you would put a very negative review on trip advisor. As a result of this I am not responding to your comments, and after this, one wonders when you wrote about the Penbrooke Town House (very dissappointed can't believe its 4 star) and the Abbey Beach Resort (not for honeymooners badly manager run hotel) and Maudlens House Hotel (was not impressed by this so called luxury house) were the same threats made in those cases also. Maybe you feels Treacys Hotel is good enough for your clients but good enough for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Treacy's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treacy's Hotel

Address: Templeshannon | Enniscorthy, Enniscorthy Co Wexford, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Enniscorthy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Enniscorthy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Treacy's Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
D Bar a New Cocktail bar now open in Treacys Hotel,Enniscorthy, Co. Wexford Great party music every Friday & Saturday Night, just adding to the new array of Entertainment that can be found throughout the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Treacy's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Treacys Hotel Enniscorthy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Treacy's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.