We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, a beautiful hotel, great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anner Hotel

Save Saved
You added Anner Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Anner Hotel
Dublin Road, Thurles, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Thurles
Donegal
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great staff, a beautiful hotel, great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed in the Anner Hotel on Saturday November 9. I cannot speak highly enough about this beautiful hotel in the leafy outskirts of Thurles. The staff were wonderful, we had the pleasure of meeting the two efficient and very pleasant receptionists Kathryn and Melissa, and also the delightful and very welcoming manager Mary. It is outstanding value for money, delicious food and we certainly did not experience any evidence of reheated food that other travellers have written about. We enjoyed a great breakfast in the lovely spacious and spotlessly clean dining room. Our bedroom was large and very comfortable. There is a large and tastefully decorated foyer when you enter the hotel, and they also have a leisure centre. The other staff we met were extremely friendly and efficient, we could not fault this hotel, its certainly worth checking out and terrific value for money. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    73
    49
    48
    52
See reviews for
47
113
4
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Limerick
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Enjoyed my stay...room was warm and clean... breakfast was nice. there isn't much of a view from the rooms at the back but that wasn't the purpose of the stay.
has a good swimming pool, one minor point are showers in pool changing area need new heads. it was difficult to even get wet in them.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Recently visited here on a "special offer voucher". We were made feel welcome from the start.
The staff here are excellent. Throughout our stay we say friendly faces everywhere and SO helpful.
A great atmosphere in the bar & we had excellenf food despite being a few minutes after service had finished.
Breakfast was lovely, local fresh produce served perfectly with the offer of more if wanted.
Room was really nice too, all in all a great short break.
Take a bow !!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I just came back from a very dissapointing 2 night weekend stay at the anner hotel. My partner booked this hotel after seeing a voucher online and getting two recommendations about this hotel, it clearly mustsnt have been the same hotel they we taking about.

Upon arrival 1st impressions were good, was we walked past the restaurant it looked busy (it was around 8 when we arrived) and the lobby was bright and welcoming looking. Upon reflection, the lobby along with the main toilets for the bar and restaurant and the small hallway outside the lift and enterance to the bar, I would think had been recently refurbished as they didn't reflect the rest of the hotel at all. The reception staff were very friendly and welcomming, as were the majority of the staff that we encountered over our stay.
The lift up to the rooms was very old and rickety and the carpet on the floor looked as though it was a random scrap of carpet thrown in and was dirty and fraying all along the edges.
The corridors were very shabby with por lighting, old wallpaper that was peeling all along th ways and i think i counted 4 different bits of mismatched carpet along the lenght of the corridor all with varying stains and all fraying at the edges.
The room itself, while generaly quite clean and tidy was very dated. there was two chairs and a coffe table in the room but these were stained and one of the seats had a cigarette burn in it and the table had a large watermark on it. TV in the room was a large old tube tv with a random and poor selection of channels. The curtains barely fitted with window and needless to say were like most others things in the hotel old and shabby. The bed was the worst bed I have ever slept in and I woke on sunday morning witht eh mose incredible back neck and headace from teh terrible nights sleep i had. It was only a small double bed with the springs poking out almost, the duvet was too small fo rthe bed and the covers had no fastners so kept slipping up throughout the night. There were only 3 pillows on the bed and no spare in the wardrobe and as we both like 2 pillows to sleep on each spent half the night with the extra pillow. The ventillation in the room was very bad, the window was only able to open a fraction and the radiatior had no control other than leave it at the temp it was or turn it up some more.
The bathroom while again being clean had no toilet roll holder, or I should say there was one there however there was no bar to hold the toilet roll so was obsolete. The showere while being a modern power shower was so strong that it was painfull to be under and i felt as though I was going to come out with holes in me from it!!!!
The bar in the hotel was lovely, it had a nice atmosphere and the staff were plesent. the hotel was fairly busy on the weekend we were there as well as there being a wedding on so there was a nice atmosphere around the hotel in general.
The restauraunt was nice and bright with a conservtory area to it, however once again t was very dated. The breakfast was in my opinion was the only thing that saved this hotel. It wasnt anything special, but it was a good decent cooked to order fry, there was toast and tea/coffee served with it and a small buffet table with juices and cereal ect laid out on it.
Our voucher included one dinner so we decided to hav this on the saturday evening. We made a reservation for 8pm. we had a drink in the bar 1st that evening and then proceed to the restaurant at 8pm only to be very abruptly told when we opened the door to wait in the lobby. the waitress quickly turned her back and walked off leaving us standing there quite taken aback. now while the restuarant did look busy i could clearly see some tables empty but uncleared. we decied to head back to the bar to wait. Over the next hour we witnessed a few coulpes leaving the bar and then returning again just as we had, clearly turned away from the restaurant. eventually we headed back to the restaurant at around 9 aware that the restaurant was only open til 9.15. There were 2 couples ahead of us at the restaurant and after standing there for a few minutes we were again told to wait in the lobby, albeit a little less abruptly this time. we waited in the lobby and there was a quite chatter amoung the other 2 couples of how anoying and unprofessional this was as clearly the fact of having a reservation was pointless.
when were eventually eated and presented with the menu my heart dropped, the menu was awful. Now im in no way against having a small menu, itf its a small good menu, this wasnt. it was a flash back to the 80's with very poor choices that didnt appeal to me at all. out incluvise dinner was a choice of either starter and main or main and dessert, in general i love desserts but there was only 3 very poor choices of things i would never go for such as pavalova and a fruit sorbet, not even bacis apple pie or icecream, so we went with the starter and main option. I settled for a smoked chicken and bacon salad, the chicken itself was lovely infairness, but the bacon was precooked strips of bacon, that having worked i the catering industry before, know are generally used by deli counters as a quick easy option. the salad was a token guesture of iceberg lettuce (my pet aversion) and a few chunks of raw peppers. my partner ordered egg mayonaise, what came out was a hard boiled egg cut in half and turned down with a blob of mayo on each half this was served with a blob of potato salad, coleslaw and a bit of salad stuff. the choices for main course were equally unappealing, I had a chicken kiev as they were out of the supreme of chicken with mushroom and my partner had turkey and ham. they were both only alright, nothing notable at all about them and were served with veg and mashed potato. It is the first time i have come away from a meal in a restaurant feeling totally unsatisified and to be honest stil a bit hungry.
Overall we were very dissapointed by our stay here. and would neither stay here again or recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Just home from a two night stay in the Anner Hotel, had read some reviews here on Tripadvisor and was starting to worry, no need , the Hotel is lovely, the staff were so friendly and chatty , we had a voucher for a two night stay with breakfast on both mornings, and dinner on one evening the food was lovely, the hotel bar was great craic, the leisure centre was an added bonus.
Would reccomend the hotel to anyone, really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We booked two rooms for two couples off a site called bite a bargain, 99 euro each couple for two nights, b & b, one evening meal! After paying and booking I searched tripadvisor and the reviews were not great, I really worried about this weekend away, I read that it was very dirty and the food was awful, surprisingly these were not the main issues I was faced with, yes the hotel is run down and in serious need of painting and maintance work but as a clean freak I was not appalled at the cleanliness! The food was actually okay, big portions and we left stuffed, however the staff at dinner were rude and sloppy, when we asked a simple question the waitress made a face at me, the was a big issue with us adding a extra course to the price. The bar staff looked like they were being tortured, not a smile to be seen! The second night at about 1.30 am we were told to leave the bar and sit in lobby with our drinks, there would be 2 night porters to take drink orders, we ordered a pot of tea and a pint, 20 mins later when it still had not arrived we decided to go to bed, when I went to cancel the drinks the man come to the desk and barked "WHAT??" at me!! I was in shock at how staff can be so ignorant! We didnt get a smile of one staff member all weekend, it was very depressing!!! Will never be going back!

Room Tip: Book somewhere else to stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

two night stay for 2adults & 2kids, on our first night we had dinner in the bistro, it was a 2course included in our rate of stay. which was a great deal but i have to be honest if we were to pay for it i wudnt of bein happy. it was reheated crap not fit for a dog. it also only had about 5mains to choose from. the next day i asked at the desk for a bar menu which had a lots more choices for that evening, then when i was ordering later that evening with the same menu i got on the bar, i was told that menu was off and thrown a different menu with less choices and higher prices, we already had the kids settled so it was easier to stay.. but the fish we got was totally burnt on one end which i cudnt eat, i called the waiter and gave it back, no apologie & not offered anything else.. then we were still charged full price!! i also had to pay 5euro for two sausages for my son at breakfast. apparently they just get chargered for a breakfast even if he didnt get all that..hes only 3!!! the bar manager was totally rude and unhelpful.. on the good side the kids had a ball in the pool it makes the hotel worth while & all the bistro staff were lovely & friendly. the rooms are standard n clean.. carpets could do with being replaced (allover)... i would consider returning if the menu got updated and there was actual effort put into it, to make it worth the price ur paying.. went home feelin a bit let down after so looking forward to it.....

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Been to Anner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anner Hotel

Address: Dublin Road, Thurles, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Thurles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Thurles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Anner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anner Hotel Thurles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anner Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.