We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great night” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Horse & Jockey Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Horse & Jockey Hotel to your Saves list
Horse & Jockey Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Exit 6 M8 | Horse and Jockey, Thurles 0, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Thurles
Tipperary, Ireland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“great night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Have been here many times before to the spa but stayed here for a girls night away at the start of April. It was fantastic value. For 99euro pp we got 1 night b and b, dinner, spa treatment and use of spa relaxation room and leisure facilities. The staff were friendly. Dinner was excellent and top class spa. Our room was huge with comfy beds. Breakfast was buffet style which sometimes can be a bit dodgy when its left sitting for a while but not at this estabishment. The bar area was cosy with a rustic feel. Overall a really great night and day away.

Room Tip: 301 is huge
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom054, Owner at Horse & Jockey Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank You for your kind review,
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and thought it was good value.
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    86
    35
    23
    19
See reviews for
66
105
15
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cavan, Ireland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stopped off here on journey from Cork to Cavan and were pleasantly surprised by the Quality and service .This Restaurant which is part of the hotel complex serves excellent food at a reasonable price with pleasant staff and i would be happy to recommend as a stop over to all M8 users ..

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom054, Owner at Horse & Jockey Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank You for your kind review and I am delighted you enjoyed our little oasis off the Motorway.
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Sorry if this is misleading, we didnt actually stay here but had a lovely lunch and the atmosphere in the lobby and bar was really inviting
I had the chicken wrap and my better half had ham cheese and relish Pannini delicious
And as we where on a weekend away I had very creamy pint of Guinness
Will be looking out for this hotel on the deal pages as the spa and surrounding area looked great

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom054, Owner at Horse & Jockey Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank You for your kind review and I am delighted you enjoyed your lunch and the creamy pint.
We have many offers from time to time which are all up on our web site.
Thanks Again.
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

I love this hotel, and I stop there many times during the year, on my way from cork to Dublin.

Thy are always making improvements and I find it to be very comfortable place to stop to eat and take time. They have a choice of a great coffee shop, of the cosy bar.

Yesterday I went with my mother who is ceoliac, and they do cater on the menu steaks etc. however, amazingly pan fried chicken with creamy mushroom sauce is not gluten free. I'm not sure how you even make a cream sauce using flour, it's totally unnecessary , and is a sign of a chef that produces thick gloopy sauces. We then tried to order roast chicken with ham ad sage &onion stuffing, without the stuffing , that could not be done because they were all pre prepared/ bought in already with the stuffing hiding under the breast of chicken. 17 euro

But the real mystery is how they produced the gravy, thick nearly black gravy that tasted and looked like it used marmite to prepareit , it certainly wasn't real meat juices.they must be using some commercial gravy powder, I can't see how they could produce it otherwise.

Great little hotel, food usually good if not pricey, but the standards have to improve to warrant the prices. Or maybe I hit it on a bad day:)

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom054, Owner at Horse & Jockey Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for your review and I am pleased you like our hotel even though you were unhappy with your recent visit. Our creamy mushroom sauce is made from a bechemal sauce which is common in all white sauces and is flour based.Our Irish cappoquin chickens are cooked fresh every morning and then preprepared with stuffing and ham.The chef could have removed the stuffing but was afraid that traces of bread might remain thus agrivating your mother's ailment. The gravy is a traditional receipt made from our own stock. I hope this clears up the misunderstanding and in future we will mark the menu with the (c) symbol for dishes suitable to ceoliacs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Arrived at the Hotel after making late booking due to leaving another hotel which was terrible. The young lady at reception was very friendly and helpful and offered us a superior room a fro same rate as standard room..very pleased indeed. The room is very large,really comfortable beds and relaxing bathroom..lovely bath to soak for a while. The heating is very good on a very cold march night. The leisure centre offers steam room/sauna and a 20 meter pool, real good swim each morning and evening, not to many kids !! Overall this is a great hotel , one that i hope to return to in the near future, The food in the bar is of a high standard, really enjoyed the chicken dinner..real home made food nothing fancy just good wholesome meal.
Staff from front of hotel to bar and breakfast staff very helpful and friendly.

Sad to leave after 2 days...will make a longer booking next time

Room Tip: Room 312 is one i would choose again. ( view not good, but sure your only sleeping in here) Always...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom054, Owner at Horse & Jockey Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank You for your kind review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and all the facilities and staff were up to standard. Hope you will visit us again soon.
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Travelling last week between Ireland's two capitals - Dublin and Cork - broke the journey at the Horse & Jockey in Co. Tipp - Glad I did. Comfortable... Friendly... Had some drinks (I wasn't the driver!!!) and a little food - great homely atmosphere. God variety, something for everyone, tasty and good value. This is not so much a criticism but a suggestion - this stop-over point would be 100% if there was WiFi in the bar area... in our tablet, iPad and smart phone culture this would be the "icing on the cake" - allowing guests to work, occupy children, communicated... I was pleasantly surprised to be served by a Kilkenny man (in the heart of Tipp) - "Joe" by name, told me he was new to the hotel - if everyone in Ireland did their job with the same competence and professionalism we would be, as a nation, in a much better state and condition! Great to encounter a capable, friendly and proficient individuals in the hospitality world. In short is was a stop-off I'll be making again (and again) - "job well done" to the Horse & Jockey.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom054, Owner at Horse & Jockey Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank You for your kind review and for saying all the things that I dream of been said about the hotel.I have passed on your comments to the staff who are indeed chuffed and rightly so.
Regarding the WiFi we are in the process getting in a Hi-Speed broadband system which should be installed the next time your passing.
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed here for one night last weekend. Rooms are spotless and comfortable, receptionist was very helpful, ample parking.
Gym has lots of machines and is kept in good condition. I didn't use the spa facilities on this occasion but have used the spa several times in the past, it is excellent!
Breakfast selection is good and the staff had no issue when I asked for a boiled egg off menu!

Coffee dock has lots of room for improvement. I appreciate it was Easter Sunday but a smile and a thank you wouldn't go astray. For what you get it is way too overpriced. 18 euro for 4 coffees (3 were skinny lattes but they ran out of skimmed milk..) and 3 scones.. 20+ euro for 4 ham and cheese sandwiches. Nothing special about the food here, drop the prices or increase the quality. The quality is not on par or even close to other 4 stars I have stayed in.
I would stay in the hotel again but I wouldn't eat at the coffee dock there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom054, Owner at Horse & Jockey Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for your review and for giving such a high rating on reception, bedrooms, gym, spa, and restaurant.
I was disappointed that the staff were unfriendly in the coffee dock and for this I apologize. Regarding the prices the breakdown is as follows: 3 x latte @ 2.80 = 8.40 + americano @ 2.40 + 3 x scones @ 2.40 + 7.20 Total = 18.00 euro which for 4 people seems reasonable however we will review them.
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Horse & Jockey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horse & Jockey Hotel

Address: Exit 6 M8 | Horse and Jockey, Thurles 0, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Thurles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Thurles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Horse & Jockey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suitably located beside the M8 Motorway at Junction 6 approximately 1 1/4 hours from all main cities. Our facilities include an award winning restaurant, traditional Irish Bar, 67 luxurious bedrooms featuring plasma TV & Wi-Fi, superior conference centre comprising of 10 meeting rooms and a tiered auditorium for up to 200 delegates. Leisure complex includes a 21m pool, steam room, sauna, Jacuzzi, hydro-therapy area and gymnasium. The Spa is a haven of relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Horse & Jockey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horse And Jockey Hotel
Horse Jockey Thurles
Horse Jockey Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Horse & Jockey Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.