We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay At Cottage” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flemingstown House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kilmallock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Flemingstown House
Save
You added Flemingstown House to your Saves list
Kilmallock, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Kilmallock B&B and Inns
Boca Raton, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Stay At Cottage”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

If you're looking for the best place to stay in the southwest of Ireland, it's Flemingstown House in Killmallock. We stayed at the cottage next to the main house and it was great. The cottage was beautiful and we had a wonderful view of the cows in the field and the mountains behind them. Imelda Sheedy, the proprietor, is a gem of a woman who definitely rates a "10" on the hostess scale. She is kind, caring and generous with her time. The amenities in the cottage were superb. I can't say enough about how this enhanced our vacation. She definitely represents all the wonderful people we met when we were there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
27
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We weren't exactly sure where Kilmallock was other than it was close to Limerick. On our drive there we thought that perhaps it was a bit remote, but in the end we all agreed it was worth the drive and one of our favorite places to stay. The house and its setting are absolutely beautiful and Imelda is a fantastic host. We didn't want to leave. This is one of those bed and breakfasts you read about in the countryside and it more than meets expectations. The place is surrounded by beautiful landscapes and you are greeted by cows when you arrive. We loved the rooms and had one of our best nights sleep ever. The breakfast was fantastic. A bit out of the way but worth the extra couple of miles.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

If you want a caring host, great food, peaceful location, and a part of Ireland that is authentic...then try Flemingstown House. My wife and I along with our two kids and daughter-in-law stayed there for 5 nights in May 2013. We will never forget Imelda and Betty and what they did for us to make our Ireland experience a wonderful memory. We wish Imelda, Betty ,and Betty's babies all the best.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, New Jersey
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Imelda is awesome... Four of us went from NYC to Ireland in 2010 and I can honestly say I have never felt more welcomed than I did by Imelda - with warm scones and tea! The place is gorgeous surrounded by greenery everywhere . The bfast is amazing and I honestly doubt you can beat this price at this level of service. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letterkenny, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We had a wonderful experience on our recent stay in Flemingstown House. Greeted with freshly baked scones on arrival and warmly welcomed by Imelda, we felt at home immediately. The house was a truly lovely place to stay and I would happily return for a longer visit some day. Everything about the stay there was positive, the breakfast was great, the price very reasonable and the welcoming atmosphere made it just perfect.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROCK ISLAND
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Our group of 8 all stayed at Imelda's beautiful B & B for a week in August, 2012. We were greeted in the gorgous home by one of the most friendly, professional, and helpful people you would want to meet. Her home cooking is to die for, and she went over and beyond to make our stay so comfortable.
The home is so pretty and quiet. Each of our rooms were beautiful. I wish I could have taken our mattress home!! Best nights sleep anywhere on our month's trip through Ireland. The land is picture worthy. I would recommend Flemingstown Guesthouse to anyone traveling to Limerick County. I will certainly stay there again in the future.

Room Tip: Any room is perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I stayed there with my Father and 2 sons. Emelda greeted us with her fantastic scones, muffins and a great pot of tea. The rooms were great and the breakfasts were out of this world. She makes the stay great as her hospitality is a class of it's own. I will return with my husband but my boys just loved it and want to move to Ireland my youngest with emelada. If you are thinking about it do as the price is worth every cent. You will love it as it is in one of the most beautiful parts of Ireland.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Flemingstown House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flemingstown House

Address: Kilmallock, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Kilmallock
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Kilmallock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flemingstown House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.