We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Deebert House Hotel

Save Saved
You added Deebert House Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Deebert House Hotel
Deebert, Kilmallock 000, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Kilmallock
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Weekend away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Just spent the weekend here with my wife and a group of friends.
The hotel is very nice, rooms are spacious and clean with a nice bathroom and the staff are lovely.
The location is OK depending on where you want to go, Kilmallock itself did not seem to have that much to do but that didn't bother us as we only used it as a base anyway.
Breakfast was OK but could have been better - just seemed a little basic with limited choice - but again, for the price we paid it's absolutely fine and you will still enjoy it.
Overall a good experience here and I'd recommend it as a place to stay if visiting the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    20
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
26
7
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

From start to finish our experience at Deebert House was first rate. The hotel interior is like any Irish hotel over the past 10-15 years, but the big difference is the friendly professional staff and that the premises is well-maintained. Prompt check-in, room in good order and with a nice view out over the nearby ruined abbey. Hot water pressure a bit low and it was impossible to get at the shower controls from outside the bath as the glass panel shower door on the bath would not open outwards. These small quibbles aside the place was great. Only stayed one night and got a great sleep. The walls are quite thin and we could hear conversations in the adjoining room quite clearly. That wasn't a problem for us, but might be for others. Got a great fresh cooked breakfast - properly cooked and hot, not from under heat lamps. The staff on duty at breakfast were so friendly and efficient. All in all a very pleasant stay in a very nice establishment. Wouldn't mind a return trip.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretDeebert, Manager at Deebert House Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Deebert House Hotel. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our hotel is family run, our staff are professional and friendly and we enjoy spending time with our guests. Our breakfasts are cooked to order to ensure freshness and quality and the rooms are comfortable to ensure a good nights sleep. I would be grateful if you would sent me an e-mail info@deeberthousehotel.com or give me a call on 063 31200 and let me know the room number you stayed in so I can rectify the water pressure and fix the shower door.
Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed over in this hotel for a family funeral and held a light lunch here afterwards. Food was very good and the customer service excellent. Free wifi in the rooms. Good sized rooms and bathroom which were nice and warm. Nice bar and restaurant downstairs. Very helpful with local contacts and map directions - we'd have been totally lost going through Cork City without them. Getting to the airport in Cork was a nightmare with the town traffic and casual attitudes to traffic regulations! Apparently Shannon is just as easy in terms of miles as Cork.

The Hotel itself is very well signed in terms of directions once you come in to Kilmallock and is located right on the edge of town so very easy to walk in. Car park is good and there is an overflow car park over the road if needed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Ben & Margaret O'Sullivan with their daughter Ann were waiting to greet and welcome us. Tea and Coffee with the most delicious freshly baked, still warm scones with home made Jam and cream on the table awaited us. We were on a Complimentary Ballyhoura Failte Day which I will tell you about later under places to visit. In the evening we returned to the hotel for pre dinner drinks delicious mulled wine and Red Hot Apple Juice. Our choice of menu for dinner was excellent truly delicious and it was evident that everyone thought so by the cleaned plates. This hotel is well worth a visit . Please give Margaret a ring on 063-31200

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thurles, Ireland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Attended event here this November 2012, Hotel was a excellent, unassuming family run place. Prices reasonable especially the lunch menu, pints also good value. Food was hearty and very tasty. Staff were very friendly and professional if slightly harried at times with the event but service did not falter or their smiles.

Place was spotless and well maintained all in all a great place to stay if wishing to explore this area or for business. It is great to see a professionally run small hotel and I wish it continued success.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just back from a mountain bike weekend with a group of 16. We based ourselves in the Deebert and cant speak highly enough of the hotel. The welcome, the rooms, the food, bike lockup, and drying room. all at a very low cost. Great place with great hospitality. Would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed here for a weekend going mountain biking in the Ballyhouras. It was just perfect. The staff were really friendly, the food in the hotel bar / restaurant was fantastic especially the steak , as were the drinks. The rooms were absolutely spotless & had 2 beds, the breakfast the next morning was first class. Best of all there was a dedicated lock up room for bikes downstairs.
This is a very well run small hotel, staff & owner were very welcoming & it was good value. The hotel is really close to the centre of Kilmallock, which is a small country town

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Deebert House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deebert House Hotel

Address: Deebert, Kilmallock 000, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Kilmallock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Kilmallock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deebert House Hotel is a family run hotel combining traditional Irish hospitality with all of the twenty first century modern conveniences expected by the discerning hotel guest. Situated in the medieval town of Kilmallock, Deebert House Hotel is the ideal base from which to explore the unspoilt landscape of Ballyhoura Country. A must see destination for the heritage & walking enthusiast! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Deebert House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deebert Hotel Kilmallock

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deebert House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.