We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice accommodation, no view from our room, however” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ippoliti Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ippoliti Hotel to your Saves list
Ippoliti Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Aristidou & Ilia Miniati 9, Nafplio 21100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 41 Hotels in Nafplio
Boston
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Very nice accommodation, no view from our room, however”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

Perhaps the most memorable thing about our stay at this hotel was the jacuzzi contraption in the bathroom. We had a lot of laughs figuring out how to make it work, and my sweetie is a very intelligent engineer who had a fancy jacuzzi in a home he built! We were all giggles as we discovered the huge water sluice that I was grateful fell on my back, not on my face or head when we were both in the jacuzzi. The thing is a 'self contained unit' designed to keep the water from getting all over the bathroom floor and to keep the steam in and keep the occupants warm and well hydrated, I guess. It reminded me a bit of a space capsule designed for bathing. It was a bit of a tight fit for two, but perhaps a more slender couple would find it more comfortable.

Other than the jacuzzi, the bathroom had plenty of shelf space for toiletries, which I appreciated, and a space neither bathroom nor bedroom for stowing ones suitcase and hanging clothes. Sadly, they had removed the safe without informing us that there was none, which contributes to only four stars instead of five. The receptionist did not give us a code for free wireless, but I found it in the bedside table, so wifi was free and reliable.

Our particular 2nd floor unit had a large balcony which would have been nice if we smoked as the rooms are all non-smoking. The view was only of the balconies of the property across the very small alley on which this hotel is located. The breakfast was fine - the usual tourist fare. What I enjoyed was the receptionist noticing that I had gotten kiwi juice all over me from peeling fruits for me and my spouse so she brought me another napkin and knife and offered for me to come behind the breakfast bar to wash my hands at their sink rather than go downstairs to use the public washroom. The cappuccino that was served upon request was excellent.

We found plenty of extra pillows in the dresser, which we appreciated, and the combination of blanket and comforter was particularly comfortable for sleeping. We found the room to be a little cramped - the sleigh bed is not our preference and the corners between the desk and bed, etc. are a little crowded for two ample adults to pass one another. That said, it was a sweet property with warm service from the front desk and an excellent central location to the town of Nafplion. There is a bit of hauling your luggage from the street to the entrance and no-one offers to help you get your bags to the room. I would describe this as more of an inn than a hotel. We had been attracted by the lure of the small pool, but, alas, time and the weather prevented us from taking advantage of this little hidden gem. If (and we hope we do) we return to Nafplion, I think I would stay here again (our private driver said this is where he suggests his clients stay if they ask him for a recommendation) and ask if they have a more spacious room available for us as return visitors.

Room Tip: We didn't know to ask for a room with a view - please do and post/send me a message if you find...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    30
    17
    2
    1
See reviews for
20
48
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

Ippoliti Hotel resides in a restored manse, hidden in a quiet alleyway graced with purple bougainvillea and swallows darting in and out. Everything's en miniature, nicely done and subdued. Not luxurious but very comfortable -- visiting here is like staying at a rich old aunt's house: eccentric and forgetful but chic and gracious. Small, private pool. Nice hot and cold breakfast with properly brewed tea brought to your table; fresh fruit 24/7, relaxed dining poolside or in dining area. Sincere, hardworking staff who approach their jobs, no matter how humble, as a profession. Peaceful suite with old furniture and high-quality linens. Walking distance to everything. Nafplion is charming though suffering the same economic woes felt all over Greece. But life goes on and the town overall is in decent shape with shops and great service at the smaller tavernas. The history-minded can explore local sites, i.e., fortresses et al, or take day trips to other areas. The photography-minded have endless possibilities. You cannot park at Ippoliti; park in public lots; but with due care you can drive through the adjacent alleyway, unload luggage, and slither out. There's a tiny parking area at the end of that alleyway that may have space is you're lucky. Moral: less is more. Check out humbler, eager-to-please tavernas a few blocks inland, NOT the waterfront establishments (we found these to be callous, expensive, and choked with cigarette smoke). Drive a smaller car and tote smaller suitcases--Ippoliti had laundry service when we were there. The only negatives about our stay were sonorous church bells ritually ringing out every few hours, day and night, which woke us up. There may have been a religious festival going on; priests kept arriving by the busload, which may account for the chiming. But that wouldn't stop us from returning.

Room Tip: Ask if an upgrade is available and take a suite if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

After a long days travel from UK we arrived to the warm welcome of the receptionist at Ippoliti. I had booked a superior room and it did not disappoint. Loads of space, tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean with a huge bed. We had a quick dip in the pool - small, but fine in the confined space of the courtyard, then went into town for a bite to eat. That night we both had the best night’s sleep ever. A good ten hours! I would love to stay longer next time. Great hotel and, though quite expensive, worth every Euro.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011 via mobile

One of the nicest hotels we have stayed in. Room and bed very comfortable, small secluded pool, excellent service.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

It was raining and cold and we arrived here after a drive through the mountains in fog. How wonderful to find warmth and comfort! Our room was clean and modern with very modern bathroom and lovely comfortable bed - just what we needed. We arrived 'on spec' and were offered a double room and breakfast for 80 euros, which we thought good value. Breakfast was very good and for dinner we were within very easy reach of the town centre and a wide choice of restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

We were delighted with the beauty and elegance of both Nafplion and this hotel. The interior design is very impressive, to a very high quality standard with hardwood floors, expensive rugs and good reproduction antique furniture. Goodness knows how a reviewer found cockroaches because that does not typify this immaculate, clean, well run hotel at all.
The hotel is in probably the best location in the town, at the quiet, almost car-less end, away from the trucks and coaches. It is one building back from the front and just a few steps away from the gorgeous marble clad streets and squares of the town.
We got the best room in the place (204) with a balcony and views over the sea to the offshore fortress and we really enjoyed the included breakfast (with bacon!) that could be taken inside or out by the small plunge pool in the courtyard.
Room was quiet, bed was huge, we had a big leather sofa, table, desk. Bathroom was nice with a Jacuzzi tub but bath was in front of a shuttered window with a big cill so they had decided not to fit a hook for the shower handset which I found very inconvenient.
They had WiFi with signal everywhere but just could not connect to the second floor system.
Overall, for us, the location, look and feel of this hotel more than made up for any shortcomings, we were delighted with it but perhaps this depends upon the room you get and your expectations. Nafplion is perhaps the most delightful town on the Med but don't go if you want to lie on sunbeds around a pool or bask on a beach!

Room Tip: Room 204 is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

My 8 month pregnant wife and I spent 2 nights at the Ippoliti hotel at Nafplion for Xmas. Although the hotel was good enough, and seemed quite clean, we found 3 coakroaches in the room.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ippoliti Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ippoliti Hotel

Address: Aristidou & Ilia Miniati 9, Nafplio 21100, Greece
Location: Greece > Peloponnese > Argolis Region > Nafplio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Nafplio
#10 Family Hotel in Nafplio
#13 Romantic Hotel in Nafplio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ippoliti Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ippoliti Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ippoliti Hotel Nauplion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ippoliti Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.