We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pension Marianna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Pension Marianna to your Saves list
Pension Marianna
9 Potamianou St., Nafplio, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 41 Hotels in Nafplio
Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Visiting Greece for vacation, we chose Nafplio as a basis for tour to Mycenae and Epidauros. One guide book recommended Marianna as a place to stay.
We walked to the hotel without bags, which was a good choice. The signage is ok, but the narrow streets up would be difficult with bags. Travelling by car I recommend to drive up to Akronafplio fortress (this is the lower or smaller of fortresses overlooking the city), leave car next to a deserted hotel building in front of the fortress and walk a few metres through an old gate to the city. Marianna is on your right.
We got a nice room with magnificient view of the old city and the bay. A pleasant surprise was an electric heater they moved in while we were away for the luggage. February nights are cooler here, so it helped.
Room was clean and quiet, bathroom had enough hot water and there was a Wifi.
Breakfast room has a nice terrace for the summer, food was good and enough. Our breakfast was served, as there were only a few guests.

Room Tip: It looks like some rooms may not have the view. You should check on this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    78
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
122
229
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Words to describe Pension Marianna - delightful, charming, inviting, hospitable, romantic, peaceful, unique, affordable, incredible views, centrally located, delicious breakfast. When you visit Nafplio, this is the place to stay! It is a great choice for both winter and summer getaways.

Room Tip: Rooms with the stone interior do not have views but they are cosy, so perfect for winter getaways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights, and enjoyed ourselves very much once we actually found the pension, as it is not actually accessible by road and our GPS took us onto the narrowest little road you could ever imagine (more like a sidewalk, really!). Luckily, we were only a couple of feet away from the storefronts (!) so I could ask for directions by simply rolling down my window! We did have to park a fair ways away and carry all our luggage along a cobblestone walkway and then down very steep stone steps to the B&B. Being female and given the heat and mugginess, this was exhausting, but we survived. The man at the desk said he usually would help but had a sore back. We were glad we just had small suitcases! Anyone with mobility issues would not be able to stay here, as there are very steep stairs down to the town itself, as well.

That being said, we had a wonderful stay here for 2 nights. We loved the location, as we could easily hike along the town wall, hike up to the Palamidi fortress, walk down to a beautiful beach or walk down to the shops, museum and harbourfront. There was no need to drive once we arrived.

Our room was beautiful and cozy, with an incredible view over the city to the harbourfront. Our bathroom was large, by European standards and had a great shower. We slept well, never heard a peep from anyone else in the building.

One of the best features here is the outdoor rooftop dining area, where we had breakfast (delicious, lots of selection) while taking in the view, and we were able to sit up here in the evening as well, drinking tea while watching the sunset and Skyping with family back home.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the town and harbourfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

For those who have still not visited Nafplio, "Marianna" is actually one of the reasons to do so.. Even we, after several visits, always find this pension as the ideal place to enjoy a weekend rest, after a long week in Athens. The owners will never address you without a smile, our room was spacious and overlooked Nafplio, everything was, looked and smelled extra clean, the access to the pension is very easy and does not require tiring walking through the roads of the town,as most of the other hotels do. You will definitely enjoy the breakfast on the large balcony, overlooking the historic town of Nafplio. Nafplion succesfully mixes its historic backgroung and modern trends - you can visit the museums in the morning and enjoy your coctail at night, in one of the town's fashionable bars. Marianna and its owners just add to this lovely mix.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

It was everything Rick Steves says. Not only do they have a view to remember, it is an amazing set of old buildings fixed up beautifully. The brothers who own and work their pension were wonderful and congenial. The breakfast was great and came from their organic farms. I hope everyone who goes to Greece has a chance to stay at Marianna and enjoy the closeness of Mycenae and Epidavros.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This lovely Pension is just a few minutes walk from the historic town centre and is ideally positioned under the old castle ramparts but overlooking the town and the sea. I had to pinch myself to remember that that i was sitting on the terrace having breakfast just a few days before the New Year. The owners are three brothers who are very helpful and charming. They all look identitical which resulted in some fun when one goes out of sight, only for 'him' to reappear seconds later through another door.

All the rooms are of a good size and very clean. I recommend booking one of the older rustic rooms with high ceilings, beams and exposed brick work. Some have their own balconies with seating. On the lower level the rooms are set out around a small courtyard with orange trees. The Pension attracts an international crowd. I noted Americans, French, Dutch, Greek, English during our stay. All of whom seemed as charmed by this little gem as we did.

Room Tip: Dont use Booking.com as the website has not corrected a fault in the pictures of the rooms and the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This property is just lovely! An old estate with personality over-pouring, and friendly hosts that you'll want to send holiday cards to!

The property is very central, which means that it can be very difficult to find, but once you get there the whole town is at your fingertips! If you bring a car, park by the abandoned hotel at the very top of the town and walk down into town while asking others along the way, you may just find it with a little luck and help and then get specifics on where to bring your car. I believe there were about 4 spots right by the hotel.

The rooms are all so different. We were lucky enough to get a quick tour of the ones that were open and it seemed like you either get a room with awesome stone walls OR you get a room with awesome views. Either is a total score! We picked views. Our room was located on the lower road and was a mini town-house with entry, closet and bath below and large bedroom with Queen, a twin and a crib. The upper floor also had the most adorable patio overlooking the town where we drank wine, played cards, and watched cats, birds, locals and tourists walk by.

The gentleman working the front desk also managed the breakfast rush (with help from family) and they provided a lovely and mostly home-made selection of foods. We were told that the fresh lemonade was provided from their trees, as was the jam, the olives and eggs were also from their property. And, the baked goods came from mom's kitchen. Maybe I ate this up too easily, along with the jam, but I don't care the guy seemed genuine and proud and the wonderful hotel grounds and rooms showed pride overflowing.

Please make sure you walk up the 999 steps as well as walking around the point below while staying here - both were fun adventures with gorgeous views. Near the base of the 999 steps on the back side of the point is a great swimming spot.

We also had one of our best meals while in Greece near this hotel. I wish I could remember the name of it. The outdoor seating area faced south (toward the hill) and it was on an interior street. We had an amazing roasted eggplant with marinara, giant white beans and more - a fresh vegetable wonderland that put the overpriced and greasy waterfront restaurants to shame. Visit the side street restaurants and sit in the square or waterfront for just coffee, wine or dessert - otherwise you'll be throwing money away on bad american-style food.

Room Tip: Each room has a big personality. Ask to see some first, or choose what is most important - lack of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pension Marianna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Marianna

Address: 9 Potamianou St., Nafplio, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Peloponnese > Argolis Region > Nafplio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nafplio
#1 Family Hotel in Nafplio
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nafplio
#2 Best Value Hotel in Nafplio
#3 Business Hotel in Nafplio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Pension Marianna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Marianna Hotel Nafplio
Marianna Hotel Nauplion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pension Marianna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.