We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great wine bar” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Es Aei

Es Aei
8 Staikopoulou Street, Nafplio 21100, Greece
+(30)2752022884
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 88 Restaurants in Nafplio
Cuisines: Tapas
Restaurant details
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
“Great wine bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Ok I'm a wine snob and Greek wine is not my thing. I've been drinking the house wine on this trip because it's so much cheaper than the bottles and not much different. The wine here was great! The tapas, while limited were wonderful. I suggest the cheese and sausage platter.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    7
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great little wine bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Excellent little wine bar that has a good selections of wine. They also have a small daily tapas menu with some tasty food. Owners were very friendly and happy to chat about Greek wine and Greece in general. Also check out the furniture inside as the owners have put together some excellent furniture out of recycled materials.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Warszawa, Poland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“For ever wines!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Es Aei means "for ever" in ancien greek... This place and it's owner will stay for ever in my memories and my heart. Great choice of greek wines, small tapas, great place in a small, pitoresque street. If you are an alone tourist, if you are a couple, if you are a group of wine geeks - it's for everyone with good taste.
Enjoy and drink great greek wines!!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best place to go in Nafplio!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

The best wine bar/tapas in Nafplio, in the lanes of the old town (8 Staikopoulou Street) behind the Archeological Museum of the Square of Constitution! This is not the only surprise, since it is located next to the first parliament of the independent Greek State. The décor is contemporary, matching the alternative with the traditional style. And of course it keeps the same style on the tables and chairs in the lane of Staikopoulou street. Except from the list of good greek wine brands and several beers, it has different cocktails which may be accompanied by few delicious tapas and cheese/ham plates. As far as the music is concerned, it is ideal to relax and enjoy, while you may also talk….Jass, Lounge and sometimes during the week if you are lucky you may come across with live music (including Flamenco!!!). Last, but not least, the service is excellent, thanks to the owner Christos and the staff and I always like to go back there, either alone or with friends. I should not forget to mantion that it is value for money place. Have fun and see you around!!! Every time I visit Naflio, I pass by. More info in the following address: el-gr.facebook.com/EsAeiEnoteca

Katerina

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penn Yan, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“great wine bar, in a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

my wife and I stopped by when staying in Nafplio for a couple days. We were in Greece to visit wineries for my job, and read that this was the best place in town for good Greek wines and we were very happy! the owner was welcoming, very knowledgeable, spoke great english, he helped recommend some great wines and had great snacks as well... I would recommend to anyone staying in Naflpio who likes to try good Greek wines!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Es Aei also viewed

Nafplio, Argolis Region
Nafplio, Argolis Region
 
Nafplio, Argolis Region
Nafplio, Argolis Region
 

Been to Es Aei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Es Aei, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.