We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Nafplion” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amphitryon Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Amphitryon Hotel to your Saves list
Amphitryon Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Spiliadou Street, Nafplio 21100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 41 Hotels in Nafplio
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Nafplion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2010

Easy to find yet located in a calm spot of Nafplion, this is a superb hotel! Perhaps the best we stayed at in Greece. To our pleasant surprise, we were upgraded to a luxury room with sea view and deck terrace. We had a beautiful view of the port, the fort on the bay island and of the mountains further away. The room was very comfortable and the service was impeccable. The Jacuzzi was a real treat after walking to the private hotel owned beach and later on climbing to the fortress 1000 steps above sea level! The next morning, we had a continental breakfast which was included in our package. The breakfast was average. The only negative point is that they should either renovate the abandoned pool or destroy it because it's ugly and ruins the otherwise perfect view. Other than that, we enjoyed our stay very much and if ever in Nafplion again, we will definitely stay in this hotel again!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    55
    21
    11
    4
See reviews for
21
82
3
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010

This is a beautiful boutique hotel in a most beautiful setting. It faces the bay with the Venetian Fort in the bay --we were right in front in a delux room upstairs after getting upgraded from a standard room. However the standard rooms all had views as well. The staff were great and the breakfast was good too. The only comment is that the shower was at waist height so you were kneeling down or sitting in the bath showering yourself, however this was not something that would keep me away. It was quiet ( not fully booked at the time) and just a gorgeous room in a beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argentina
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

As part of a wedding anniversary trip we rented a car in Athens and headed, without knowing the place and without hotel to Nafplion. The town is incredibly beautiful and the hotel was extremely good. The rooms, full of amenities (except free internet), the view to the bay was astonishing and the reception staff was also very good.
A city to visit and a very good hotel to stay, not cheap but in accordance with the quality.
Only failure, the staff in the breakfast room talk between them and annoyed us.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece & London UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2009

I was really looking forward to visiting Naflplio and also our stay at the Amphitryon Hotel having read some of the reviews. This hotel did not disappoint, if you're looking a for a little bit of luxe in a great location. All restaurants, bars, are within very close walking distance and it does feel like you're on holiday.
From the moment we booked this hotel, the reservation staff were friendly and very accommodating extending our check out time til 6pm the next day as we arrived late on Sat eve. Our room was also upgraded from Deluxe sea view to one with an aero spa (jacuzzi style bath tub) and we had a great balcony with sea view. Yes the TV is tiny compared to your usual 30 something inch screens - this one was around the size of a mac monitor - so 17" perhaps but not a big deal. Loved the electronically controlled blinds for the bathroom - so much fun!
The bed was 2 single mattresses put together, but again not an issue as we slept fine, but if you love a dark room in the morning this isn't for you, as light poured in from 7/8am. Also, early in the morning the cleaners were at in the room next door, which is not great to wake up to. Room size: it's not massive but a relatively good size on the Greek scale of things.
We ordered room service for our delicious breakfast (coffee/tea fresh OJ,assortment of baked breads-croissants and jam), which they added an 12 euros extra on our bill, which does seem a lots esp. after we tipped them too. We also found out that the mini bar was crippling (more so than the average boutique hotel)! A small bottle of water was something like 2.50 maybe 3 euros...not cheap when you're in the midst of getting a hangover!
All in all a lovely hotel, fab location, views of the sea, clean, hospitable but not great value - we paid 290euros for 1 night. There are much better deals available for 2 nights though-just inquire through reservations.
We also ate out in a nearby town called Tolo (12km away) where the food was supreme, lots of fresh seafood and not expensive too! If you have car/GPS, head to Tolo to Farotaverna, L. Sekeri 49, Tolo, Nafplio t: [--]

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

This is the 4th time we have stayed at the Amphitryon. We love staying here! The rooms are very well appointed - small but very nicely done (no chintz). The breakfast is excellent (honestly) as is the service. The one down side is that there is still no pool, but you do get free use of a cabin, towel and sunlounger at the town beach (which is excellent for swimming). Ideally located for going out to dinner and exploring the old town. One of the best points is the view, all rooms look across the bay.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crete
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2009

Overall our stay at Amphytrion was an enjoyable experience. We only stayed for one night in Nafplion ( we watched a play in Epidaurus) and although it was peak season we managed to get a better rate over the phone than the ones we found on the internet. Still, 240 euro for this hotel is by no means reasonable. The room was quite small and the bathroom even smaller. The view of the Bourtzi fortress however was rewarding enough and the sunset over the Bay of Nafplion breathtaking!
The hotel staff had adjusted the opening times of the restaurant to meet those of the Epidaurus schedule, so that there was ample time for those attending the performance to have supper and a few drinks after the play. This we found a nice touch. The staff was friendly and helpful with anything we requested. The shower could use a bit of bleach on the mildew, but other than that the room was spotless.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2009

I am from Greece and because of my work I travel a lot and that is why I have stayed to many luxurius hotels, in all over the world.
The previous weekend we decided with my husband to go to Nafplio that is near Athens and take our little baby with us. I had heard that nafplia palace was a good hotel so I called to book a room. They told me from the phone that i could stay with the same money, 260euro per night, to the new hotel amfitrion that it was more modern and I said ok. When a hotel costs 260 per night you expect an excellent service and a very good room. None of these happened.
When I went to the room I was so disapointed. It was so tiny that we couldnt move, the tv was so small like my laptop and the balcony was small with only two chairs and without a table. In all luxury hotels in the evening they should do your bed again, but in this hotel nothing of those things excisted. It would be a good hotel if it costed 120 euro not 260 the double room.
The breakfast was also poor .The only good thing was tyhe view and the polite people in the hotel. Except one lady in the reception that asked us to pay the whole ammount from the first day.
I recomend to travellers to choose hotels outside nauplion, that are more cheaper and with better facilities.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amphitryon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amphitryon Hotel

Address: Spiliadou Street, Nafplio 21100, Greece
Location: Greece > Peloponnese > Argolis Region > Nafplio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Nafplio
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nafplio
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nafplio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Amphitryon Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Amphitryon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amphitryon Hotel Nauplion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amphitryon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.