We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel and perfect location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Byron Hotel

Save Saved
You added Byron Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Byron Hotel
Platonos 2, Nafplio 21100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 40 hotels in Nafplio
Veroia, Greece
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“great hotel and perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

we've just returned from Nauplio and stayed at Byron hotel.
Nauplio is very beautiful and romantic city. trees and flowers are everywhere.
the sea is amazing and very close to the city.
Byron hotel is in the center of the old town. all the restaurants and shops are near.
the price is good and it's clean. our room was not very big but it was cozy and we loved it.
i suggest it to anyone who's going to visit Nauplio.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    38
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
49
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Hotel Byron can be recommended for all those travelers interested in friendly, uncomplicated service and willing to experience life in an old house in the city center, with all its advantages and (few) disadvantages. The hotel is small, very quiet yet centrally located and our rooms were clean and functional, with unobtrusive decoration. The beds were comfortable, hot water readily available and room service was excellent. The views from the top floor are great but the balconies are a bit small. Wireless internet is available in the breakfast area but not in all floors. The breakfast buffet offered sufficient choice and the taste of the foods was excellent. The hotel is not directly accessible by car and offers no parking space. And: you have to climb a number of stairs to arrive at your room in the top floor... We (elderly parents, couple in the 30s) thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the knowledgeable hosts/owners of the hotel were always ready to help with directions and information.

Room Tip: 32 and 33 have the best views but you have to climb the most stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

We stayed at the Byron Hotel for 3 nights in late April/ early May 2012, using it as a base for touring the town of Nafplio and the surrounding ancient sites. The standard rate of 60 euro's per room (we booked rooms 22 and 24) included a good breakfast on their outdoor patio on top of an old muslim hammam. The rooms were clean with outstanding views. Room 24 is a corner room with cross ventilation. For those who have a hard time climbing stairs, you have to walk down about 40 steps outside to get from the Byron to the non-automobile section of the historical part of Greece's former capital center. We would definitely stay at the Bryon again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

We stayed at the lovely Byron Hotel late April 2012.

The hotel, the rooms, the staff and the atmosphere were perfect. I would strongly recommend Byron to anyone visiting Nafplion for a relaxing break away.
- There was a high standard of cleanliness (housekeeping daily) and they had everything we needed to enjoy our stay. Good showers, air con and TV
- Breakfast was included, and consisted of freshly squeezed OJ / Coffee / Greek yoghurt / Muesli / Breads / Pastries etc etc. We were able to eat it in the hotel's courtyard as well (see picture). It was a beautiful way to start our mornings off.
- The staff were very accommodating, friendly and helpful (we had some car troubles so needed to use the phone etc). Everyone was smiley and welcoming too.
- The location is off the main streets, (very quiet and private) but easy to get to. We could walk to the main streets in 2mins, to the city square in 5mins, and the beach in under 10mins - what else could you want?

We spent a lot of time in Nafplion (over a week) and so were able to speak with many other travellers over dinners etc. Many were cursing bad luck with their accommodation choice, and all were jealous when we explained how affordable and friendly the Byron Hotel was. It's definitely one of the best in the city. Hopefully we'll be back one day!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortrose, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

Old hotels of this type in Nafplio rarely seem to have rooms that don't feel small, however we were fortunate to be able to book their premium studio room as our 'honeymoon suite'. It's almost like an apartment but no kitchen. For four nights in late September, we received a 20% discount on the standard rate. The hotel's on the high part of the town and was very quiet at this time of year. Breakfast was slightly on the spare side but worth the 5euro charge for the balcony location and pleasant service. The TV should really be upgraded from a portable CRT set though, to match the quality of the other room furnishings. Maybe there are planning restrictions on satellite dishes? Not sure there can be any planning restrictions in Nafplio, judging by the derelict abomination of a 1960s 'hotel' (out of sight of the Byron) built over a 15th century Venetian hill fort - knock it down soon, please!

Room Tip: The studio room is private and much more spacious than the other rooms we were shown, it has a small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
338 helpful votes 338 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

I have to admit that I have spend some amazing days in the Byron Hotel. The hotel, the location and the general atmosphere creating the ideal scenario of the perferct holidays.
Rooms are very clean and cosy. Well done to their detail even though they are a big small.
Breakfast in the hotel's yard it's a as location is great, even though that it is minimal also as quantity as aslo as a variety.

It is a great hotel taking in consideration the price they're asking for it -I haven't find it elsewhere so far.
Overall I have a great impression over the hotel in which I would visit it again and again for sure!

Room Tip: Ask the receptionist to offer you the "single room" who's to the opposite of the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

Byron hotel was excellent! We stayed there for two nights, but wished we had stayed longer. The rooms are very nice, though a small. The view from our room window was gorgeous. The staff is very friendly. We used their balcony for breakfast and late drinks. Prices are very fair.
Extremely good location. Everything was accesible by foot.
I do hope we can go back!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Byron Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byron Hotel

Address: Platonos 2, Nafplio 21100, Greece
Location: Greece > Peloponnese > Argolis Region > Nafplio
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Nafplio
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nafplio
#9 Family Hotel in Nafplio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the middle of the hiistorical centre, at the foot of Citadel Hill with excellent view on Nafplia and the sea,you will find our Hotel Byron in a carefully restored ancient building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld and Otel so you can book your Byron Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Byron Hotel Nauplion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Byron Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.