We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic option” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Economou

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nafplio
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Economou
Save
You added Hotel Economou to your Saves list
22 Argonafton | Neo Vyzantio, Nafplio 21100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 41 Hotels in Nafplio
Alton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Basic option”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Basic option for backpackers and those on a tight budget. Beds clean but rooms and private wet-rooms need a scrub. Built in 1978 and hasn't changed since (the refurbished referred to in Rough Guide to Greece (12th Ed) hasn't happened! The 80 year-old owner (who built it) is a delightful chap who would like nothing better than a chat and reminisce over a Nescafe. Like all the rooms/hotels we stayed during March-April 2012 this offers off-season deals.

Room Tip: There are other hotels in area but they won't beat the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    0
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
2
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011 via mobile

Stayed here in early Dec. Very cheap but be aware that you will not have any heating in the rooms and that the bathrooms are across the corridor. Probably best avoided in Winter but it is a cheap stay if you are travelling on a budget.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2009

sheets with hairs (amongst other things) on them, showers that smell of urine, staff that cant wait to see the back of you and, in fact, would have rather you never showed up at all, and bugs in the bedrooms.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2009

All the other B&Bs were more than double the price of this hotel so it is by far the cheapest place in town. Our room was very clean & the owners were lovely, however there are some things to watch out for...

A.C. is controlled by the owner and it is switched off at 5.30am every night so the room gets very hot in the morning and it disrupted our sleep.

Security may be an issue so don't leave your valuables in the room. We came home to find our room unlocked & also the outside verandah doors unlocked.

Private bathrooms are located outside the room & other guests may try and use yours so keep it locked.

Location is ok. The area has a very different atmosphere to the main town. The street between the hotel and train station is a bit dodgy but the 15min walk into town was fine.

We managed to stay 3 nights so it can't have been that bad... if we weren't saving 40 euros a night i would stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2008

Hotel Economou is run by the lovely george and his wife. He's been in the tourism game most of his life and has a lot of experience with running a hostel. You just can't beat this place for value for money. It's very basic and a walk from the centre, but you get what you paid for. I came back with my wife after being thrown off the beach after planning to have a fire to cook a steak and the owners wife cooked our food for us. We stayed up and had a good chat and a bottle of wine with him. He told us that he was having problems with Hotel Athina falsely guiding potential Economou customers to it by telling them Economou had shut down. Obviously it isn't true. Great value for money and a lovely owner.

  • Liked — George
  • Stayed August 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
107 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
275 helpful votes 275 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2008

I paid 30 EUR for a double room- less half of what i was quoted at any of the other places in Nafplion. It is a 15min (pleasant) walk to the center. The owners are VERY friendly.

The room is bare and basic but at this price you can't expect much more. we had a small balcony. one idiosyncrasy is that we had a private bathroom, but it was outside the room. You have a private key to it but it is mildly inconvenient as you can't go to the loo naked if you fancy doing so ;-)

  • Liked — There is a great restaurant close by- ask the owners. Non touristy excellent greek food.
  • Stayed March 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Economou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Economou

Address: 22 Argonafton | Neo Vyzantio, Nafplio 21100, Greece
Location: Greece > Peloponnese > Argolis Region > Nafplio
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 41 Hotels in Nafplio
Number of rooms: 10

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Economou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.