We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nafsimedon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Nafsimedon to your Saves list
Hotel Nafsimedon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Sid Merarhias, Nafplio 21100, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 41 Hotels in Nafplio
Vancouver, BC
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2007

I stayed here with 3 friends while traveling Greece. The location is excellent and the room was fantastic! We had a loft with 2 twins and unfortunately/fortunately while we were there it was about 35C we had our air conditioning cranked and it was still sweltering in the loft but the bed on the main floor was nice and cool! Don't let this deter you from staying here! Our bathroom was recently renovated and so everything was brand new! The beds were very comfortable and the breakfast amazing! I would stay here again in a heart beat!!

  • Liked — The patio, bedroom and the breakfast!
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    15
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
15
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, AZ
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2007

My husband and I stayed in a deluxe double on the upstairs floor for two nights in late April (there is a landing inside the front door, then you go either up one flight or down one flight) and the room was at the back of the hotel. The furniture was lovely, bed was comfortable, and the room was large, but dark. The hotel has higher buildings on either side, rather close, so we didn't get any direct light through the side window which one must keep covered for privacy. The bed was placed in front of the back wall window which was shuttered closed, permitting even less light to come through. We used our wall air-conditioning unit (very quite) even though it was cool outside just to get some ventilation. I wish I had requested one of the rooms facing the front for more light and the view of the Palamidi, although the street is fairly busy and may not quite down until quite late on weekends.

The bathroom was very small, and judging from the hotel floor plan on the back of our door, all rooms had bathrooms about the same size. Some grout was missing and there were areas of mold on some of the grout (othewise it was very clean). A small wood-faced window was at the end of the shower/bath area and the wood was rotten and black (a totally impossible situation for any window except one with a vinyl frame). Gray water from the sink flowed under the floor into the main drain in the bathroom floor so every time you used the sink it was gurgle, gurgle, gurgle coming from the drain. I was very surprised to see this, and it told me the renovation of the house was done on a budget. There was an "angry toilet" sticker on the wall telling you not to flush toilet paper.

The buffet breakfast was excellent with cold meats, sliced cheese, bread, rolls, pastries, yogurt, and that wonderful bottomless cup of coffee.

I hope the owners of this hotel deal with the maintenance issues now before they become worse (the paint was even peeling on the front door). The location is good because you can park your car close by and it's a short walk to the old town, which is just wonderful.

  • Liked — location, breakfast
  • Disliked — bathroom
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peotone, Illinois
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2007

Great location in charming town. This was definitely the best value of our 2 week trip through Greece. Reasonable prices and very nice accomodations. We stayed here with family of eight. We had 4 rooms, pretty much the whole second floor of mansion. This is a beautifully restored old mansion. Rooms are all uniquely decorated with modern bathroom fixtures. One of our rooms had a loft with 2 twin beds in addition to double bed in main room. Breakfast was ample with a cold buffet of meats, cheese, fruit, yogurt, etc. Staff was very pleasant and helpful. Only a few short blocks from many restaurants, harbor, main square and castle. Park across the street is nice for having drinks after long day of sightseeing. There are some rooms in annex behind mansion but I did not see the inside of those.

  • Liked — Value
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2007

During a three week trip between Greece and Egypt (winter 2006-7) which included three so-called 5-star hotels (7 hotels in total), this was was by far everyone's (8 people in group) favorite hotel! Between the 8 of us we had four rooms and we spent the first half hour of arrival oooing and ahhing each others nicely, but individually decorated rooms in this restored mansion. It is a small hotel of around 10 rooms and in Greece it was the only hotel that appeared nearly full in December 2006. The breakfast was perfect, rooms very clean and the atmosphere about as romantic as it gets without being overly "foo-fooie" and feminine. The furnishings were very tasteful, the service and personnel was accomadating and spoke english very well and were extemely friendly. Nafplio (Nauplion, there are three different spellings) was the most charming town that we had visited in Greece. It is a weekend haven for Athenians, so you know it is not your usual foreign tourist trap like Olympia or Delphi turned out to be. This is a great base to visit Mycenae, Corinth, Epidauros, and most of the southern Pelopenese from. We has only stayed here one night, but had wished we could have stayed longer. If we get the chance, we will stay here again at this often overlooked destination. Greece is often overlooked as a winter destination because it is to cold to go to the beaches. However, if you want to visit the sites it is incredible and the weather will still be pleasant (Not 95F with 100% humidity like summer). We had the sites of Corinth, Delphi, Olympia and Mycenae to ourselves and the rates are lower and business proprietors much more friendly and willing to give you a good deal!

  • Liked — Very Romantic, and its location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay a few nights and use as a base for touring the Peloponese
  • Stayed January 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, PA
Top Contributor
833 reviews 833 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
3,651 helpful votes 3,651 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2005

My husband and I stayed at the Nafsimedon Hotel for three nights in May 2005. It is located just outside the historic area (where cars are not permitted) across from a park. We had a rental car and were always able to find free parking right in front of the hotel.

This small hotel, which used to be a mansion, has been restored beautifully. Our room, #206 - a "superior" for 106 euros - was in the front of the hotel. The ceiling was at least 16 feet high and the room was furnished in an appropriate, comfortable antique style. The room was good sized with a nice bathroom and was very clean. We also had a room safe, which was convenient.

Breakfast, which was included, was very good "standard Greek fare" - coffee, tea, fresh orange juice, yogurt and honey, cold cuts and cheese, rolls and delicious bread.

The staff we met were young and very nice. We would definitely stay here again. In addition to being one of the most beautiful cities in Greece, Nafplio is a very good "base" for exploring other cities in the Pelopponese.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Nafsimedon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nafsimedon

Address: 9 Sid Merarhias, Nafplio 21100, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Peloponnese > Argolis Region > Nafplio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Nafplio
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nafplio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nafsimedon 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Nafsimedon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Navsimedon Hotel Nauplion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Nafsimedon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.