We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dias Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Dias Hotel to your Saves list
Dias Hotel
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Papanikolaoy & Moyntzoyridoy, Nafplio 21100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 41 Nafplio B&B and Inns
Lindesnes Municipality, Norway
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“Nice little hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011

We stayed here for 3 night. Came across it "by accident" walking streetwise. Very good location in the middle of everything. Calm side-street. But be aware that the church-bell will wake yu up at 7PM. The room was spacious, and so wlere the bathroom. Even with a jacuzzi. I rate cleanliness a litte a little low becauce of the carpets. Carpets are never clean, and should be banned in hotels. But keep your shoes on, and its no problem. Bathroom was large, and with the best towels I've had for long: heavy and soft. Breakfast was outstanding with youghurt made by the landladys mother. Homemade jam and cakes. On the day of our departure we were served apple pie from the owen when we should check out. All served by the most polite staff you could wish. Nafplion is a great base for visiting several of the major sights, not to forget the towns own fortresses. Free parking in streets all around the town.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    14
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
26
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

This is a wonderful small hotel in a perfect location. Most of the places to stay in 'Old Town" are smaller hotels and this has got to be one of the best. Location could not be better, staff could not be more accomodating and welcoming. Our room, Poseidon, was large, clean and fully equipped. The bathroom was redone and spotless. Rooms are a little heavy but that is in keeping with the Old Town atmosphere. Breakfasts ranged from good to unbelievable with all sorts of homemade delights. Not enough can be said about the helpfulness of the staff, their pleasant manner and desire to make sure their guests were enjoying themselves. There is no need to stay in a larger or fancier hotel-this one is the right place to stay in Nafplion-a very charming, interesting and historic town.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

I spent 2 nights at the Hotel Nafplion, and when the time came to to leave, I hated to go. The hotel is small and charming, in a great location looking up at the fort. The owner, Maria, is warm and friendly, and the manager speaks excellent English. When I came down to breakfast the first day, another American family there was raving about Maria, and I could soon see why. She had picked up breakfast breads and pastries still warm from the bakery around the corner, and brought in a beautiful homemade apple cake. The jams were homemade, too, which we don't see often in the USA. I travel a lot for pleasure and think the experience is so enhanced when you feel that you've become part of the local life.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

The Hotel Dias in Greece is in Nafplion. The location is perfect, and easy to find as it is not too far from the main road. We parked, and found it in minutes. It's right at the base of the fort and if you want to hike up, the steps are just a block from the hotel. If you want to walk around the old city, that's the opposite direction. I saw many people hauling luggage up and down sidewalk stairs to other hotels from where they had to park, you don't have to do that for the Hotel Dias, parking is close. The beds at Hotel Dias were the most comfortable we found in Greece and we stayed at several different places. The breakfast is very tasty and the service personal. Fresh squeeze orange juice, fresh cooked eggs and bacon, warm bread all yummy. All the rooms are named after the gods. The bathrooms are very spacious compared to some of the other places we stayed too. Another reviewer mentioned this place as being gloomy. Maybe they did not open the drapes and shutters. We found the hotel to be very clean as well.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, Ca
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2010

I stayed here with my 2 friends for 2 nights. We had a great time! The staff are wonderful. They cooked our breakfast to order every morning. They helped us find what we wanted to do each day, and had great suggestions. Our room was lovely. We stayed in Athena, and it was great. This hotel is 1 block from the castle, and the beach. For the beauty of the room, and the breakfast every morning, the price was fantastic. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2009

We stayed in this hotel with my husband for two nights. Our room was called Aphrodite but unfortunately it was far from perfect. When we arrived i noticed at once that the floor was not clean, in fact there were crumbs and other things on the carpet.
There was a chair that was broken and the handle of the wardrobe was missing. All in all it had a shabby look. The bathroom was ok and well equiped. This hotel has no high standards ans is not even cosy. The staff is nice but that is not sufficient to erase all the imperfections. The breakfast buffet was poor and in my opinion the home made cakes were not that tasty. All the hotel had a gloomy atmosphere.
I do not recommend this hotel if you want to have a nice romantic stay in Nafplio.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dias Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dias Hotel

Address: Papanikolaoy & Moyntzoyridoy, Nafplio 21100, Greece
Location: Greece > Peloponnese > Argolis Region > Nafplio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Nafplio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dias Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DIAS HOTEL makes sure that all your comfort needs are met and takes pride in providing its customers with a unique travel experience. Come witness for yourself what makes us the leading hotel in Nafplio and an experience you will not want to forget. Also you can visit: ARGOS 12 km ancient theatre, museum, EPIDAURUS 23km ancient theatre, museum, MYCENAES, TIRINS and one day cruise to the islands HYDRA, SPETSES. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Dias Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dias Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.