We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1ST PLAKIAS HOLIDAY” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lamon Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Lamon Hotel to your Saves list
Lamon Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   | Rethymno, Plakias, Crete 74060, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Plakias
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“1ST PLAKIAS HOLIDAY”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Stayed 1 week, July 2014. Excellent base to explore from, via car hire.Experienced both a refurbished apartment suite & sea view, older style room. Spotless throughout entire hotel & complex.Ideal pool size & access.Half board, food plentiful,varied & delicious. Beach is shingle, very clean, loungers/umbrellas with the hotel. Staff were very friendly & helpful. Would recommend to a friend & stay here again. Many thanks for a lovely, recharging holiday. Definitely try the Kalypso Diving School for Snorkeling lessons, we trained under Jerome and thoroughly enjoyed our time with the whole team there. Hire a car and explore the island; totally agree about discovering Chania and the local historical sites and places of interest.

Room Tip: Sea room view rooms recommended. First apartment had beautiful decor but faced children's play a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    15
    14
    3
    3
See reviews for
10
20
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stayed here about 7 years ago. and we loved it. The owner was lovely. sadly she's past away...The family room was very big 2 bathrooms. and sparate room from use... The pool a very good size. The food is lovely . Over the road from the sea. very close to all the shop... can't wait to visit plakias again soon

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Located in plakis just opposite the beach. We had a standard room (after having a look at the budget room). Plakis is a small place halfway between authentic crete and tourist crete. You can find a range of English speaking restaurants and bars in addition to the excellent hotel bar. It has a small pool is very clean good buffet breakfast. Please leave room 4 and its wonderful views of the mountains empty for my next visit

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We stayed only one night in this hotel on a 5 day trip around Crete (which by the way is not long enough in beautiful Crete). We paid only 34 euro & couldn't believe the quality for the price. The hotel is right across from the beach with a restaurant overlooking the beach. The rooms were excellent quality, comfortable bed, excellent shower (we found this unusual around the Greek Islands). There were many lovely tavernas along the road overlooking the quiet beach selling lovely fresh seafood. The pool area was small but lovely & clean ( we were not blessed with weather - highly unusual for this time of year so didn't get to take a dip). The areas around Plakias are very beautiful and is a good base for driving around and exploring. The little villages are very traditional and much less touristy than the other islands. Crete is on our list for a return visit (so much to see) and will definitely stay at Plakias & Lamon again. It was a lovely surprise!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

The Lamon Hotel is being updated and was probably the best hotel in Plakias a while back, so this year we gave it a go and found it spacious, clean and with very helpful staff and the room rate was very good value. The room overlooked the sea and was very comfortable..

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chania, Greece
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Stayed with some friends were made very welcome and would return. Staff superb, nice small pool and right opposite the beach. Great base to explore Prevali Monastery and surrounding villages. Very popular resort for serious walkers.

Room Tip: Room 103 has fantastic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed here for 14 days and we absolutely loved it! It's a quite less touristy area but with all the amenities of a big tourist area. Plenty of shops, restaurants, activities, and the beach it literally right out the front door. Sunsets are spectacular and the pool is a nice size as is the restaurant. The food at the restaurant is pretty mediocre, but they have quite a few spectacular restaurants near by that we frequented. The doner gyro restaurant right next door names "Xo" was phenomenal! The only down side of this beach is the wind, it isn't very relaxing being sandblasted every 10 minutes. The hotel staff was also vet helpful in recommending other beaches and activities to do. And the housekeeper tether is an absolute sweetheart! Love this place! It is my new happy place in my mind when I get stressed :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lamon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamon Hotel

Address: | Rethymno, Plakias, Crete 74060, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Plakias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Plakias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lamon Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Lamon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamon Hotel Plakias, Crete, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lamon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.