We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic hotel in a good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lamon Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Lamon Hotel to your Saves list
Lamon Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   | Rethymno, Plakias, Crete 74060, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Plakias
Tel aviv
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Basic hotel in a good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

The room rate does not include "extras" - We thought that the intention for breakfast but we found that to get the remote air conditioner is required to pay a 5 day per day!.
However, it is important to note that the room rate was relatively low 30 euros a night (although we got the most basic room without a kitchenette and our balcony was facing the wall of another building).
The hotel Located right opposite the beach and in the center of which is a plus for those who has no car.
Rooms are renovated
Beds a bit old and not so comfortable
And in the morning there was no hot water in the shower
All in all it's a budget hotel in an excellent location
Those who have vehicles may be more options in town

Room Tip: There are about two rooms facing the beach but it is likely that they are more expensive There are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    15
    14
    3
    3
See reviews for
10
20
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Stayed here yesterday for one night. Excellent price - quality. The cafe is always busy and have some lovely ice creams. The swimming pool was a big plus for it was very windy on the beach. The breakfast was good as well. Will stay here again next year for sure!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Destiny brought us to Lamon hotel after a horrible experience at a neighbouring hotel. Since the first moment I knew that we were going to like it. Rooms are basic but clean and recently redecorated. A big plus is that Lamon hotel is located 10 meters away from the seafront and near supermarkets and other stores. Breakfast is good for the price you pay. I give this hotel a 10 when it comes to their staff. From the man at the reception to the cleaning lady. They are amazing. All of them where very kind to our 14 month old son and to my pregnant wife. I will always be thankful to them for their kindness and attention. Thank you one more time and we hope to see you again one day!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We have just returned from our second visit to Plakias and the Lamon Hotel. Since our last visit they have been busy with re-decoration and generally tidying up. This hotel is very basic but clean and reasonably priced. The staff are very friendly. If you are on a budget you can't go far wrong with the Lamon. Breakfast is buffet style with plenty of choice. Unfortunately for our first week the pool was still being renovated. The only down side is the very hard beds.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malia, Greece
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Good facilities, right on seafront and in centre of town. Beds fine, nice touch was the Hibiscus flower and sweet on the towel arrangement on the bed.
Breakfast very good and the cafe on site was useful for us as after a long day working, without food, we could just check in, wash up and grab a snack before we headed off again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comber, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

It was a last minute booking for 25 people and we wanted to keep it simple for payment purposes. Within a few minutes of my request a very efficient lady in banqueting had confirmed availability for our reservation on a very busy saturday evening and had devised a fabulous meal plan. On arrival our party was greeted by a very professional and helpful restaurant manager and a very pleasant lady who was looking after us. Throughout the evening we received great service and we were regularly asked if all was ok and if we required anything. Food was excellent quality, warm and there was lots of it on the plate. After our meal was cleared there was no rush to move us on. All in all a great meal and service which added to our special occasion! Compliments to the chef and restaurant staff !!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Clean, no frills but functional and friendly. A nice rack to dry the towels and although no shower curtain in the bathroom, the shower is manageable. The fridge in the room was very good. I didn't try the breakfast but it had healthy options such as fruit, local honey and thick Greek yogurt.
English spoken clearly and if you request a kettle in the room they will supply it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lamon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamon Hotel

Address: | Rethymno, Plakias, Crete 74060, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Plakias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Plakias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lamon Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lamon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamon Hotel Plakias, Crete, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lamon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.