We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wild and beautiful gorge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kourtaliotiko Gorge

Kourtaliotiko Gorge
Koxare to Asamotas Road, Plakias, Crete, Greece
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 15 attractions in Plakias
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: A long and pleasant walk along the gorge through breathtaking scenery, past waterfalls, fountains, deserted chapels and monasteries, to an authentic palm beach at Preveli. You can even catch a glimpse of a lammergeier if you are lucky. Watch out though for slips and trips - stout shoes essential.
chania
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wild and beautiful gorge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

An amazing gorge that you can cross with your car. It worth visiting Agion Nikolaos church at the exit of the gorge: stop your car in the parking space and walk down the stairs to the church next to the waters coming out of the mountain side.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    14
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Joensuu, Finland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Preveli Beach near Preveli Monastery, Plakias”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

This beach was very nice, because it is not windy (between two cliffs) and calm sweet water river flows to the see. You can swim or wade up the river. We visited there August 2012. Nearest taverna is about ½ km from the beach.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Stunning!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

If you are in Rethymnon prefecture, or close to it, this has to be a must see. Roughly 2 km of simply stunning rock formations, with plenty of viewing points along the way.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zurich71
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
78 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Most impressive strait”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

On your way to Plakias (back and forth from Rethymnon, in our case) we were awed by the narrow strait and the tall mountains surrounding it. In September there was no water stream but the overall way even without walking through the gorge is most impressive. We were surprised by the landscape especially since on all three Crete maps that we used the gorge wasn't mentioned (?). So we just stopped the car twice and watched the view from the look-outs. It adds a special dimension to the western road linking the northern and soutern coasts.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpellier, France
1 review
“Wonderful gorge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

A wonderful gorge. I really want to visit Samaria gorge next year, but I don't know how much better it can be from Kourtaliotiko Gorge.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kourtaliotiko Gorge also viewed

Plakias, Rethymnon Prefecture
Kissamos, Chania Prefecture
 
Elafonissi, Chania Prefecture
Sfakia, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Kourtaliotiko Gorge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kourtaliotiko Gorge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Kourtaliotiko Gorge to your Saves list